We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“amazing!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

how can i summarise the amazing time my partner and i had there?! it was absolutely fantastic! the staff are very friendly and helpful. i am registered disabled and when we got there we had been put in a lovely room that was perfect for us and on a level that was very easy for me to get to. this had only been mentioned in passing when i'd booked and i'd not asked for any special treatment, however they had taken note of what i'd said and dealt with it accordingly. the room we stayed in was beautiful and we felt like royalty. the food was delicious. we got chatting to the GM and he recommended a bottle of wine that was pure nectar! i can't recommend the hotel and staff highly enough

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepeachyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    417
    196
    66
    35
See reviews for
147
798
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a lovely night here.

Just a short walk into Grasmere .

Lovely Breakfast.

We drove to one of their other hotels The Old England and used the lovely pool and Spa.

We went on a lovely walk. beautiful scenery.
And a nice pub meal in the village.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlemissn99
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night and on first impressions I was a little dubious. However, we found all the staff were very helpful, attentive and friendly. The downstairs lounges and restaurant areas were really nicely decorated, clean and welcoming. Food at evening meal and breakfast was delicious and well presented. Would definitely recommend a meal there.

However, we were in room 41, right at the back, and this was not so good! There were cobwebs round the windows and the carpet was in need of a clean. Although the sheets and bathroom were adequately clean, I thought the room was a bit tired and in need of a little attention.

A mixed bag but better than I thought from first impression!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemissn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed using Tesco vouchers. The room was clean, bed was very comfortable and we were provided with everything we required. However, the room was slightly shabby due to the scuffed and worn paintwork. An hour with a paintbrush would have made a big difference to the overall impression. Our room at the back of the hotel suffered from noise from an extractor fan. When we mentioned this we were immediately given the option of changing to another room, but on being assured it would be switched off at 10.30 p.m. and given that we were only staying for one more night we felt we could live with it. However it may be worth checking this out when booking. The breakfasts were very good and the staff were excellent and these are the main reasons for the "very good review". We had evening meals in the restaurant on a special offer of 3 courses for £20 when we booked, this was very good value but beware of expensive add ons (e.g. extra veg, coffee) and very expensive glasses of wine.

Room Tip: Check out that you are not next to the air conditioning unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank val1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
554 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The hotel staff for the most part were very friendly and helpful, the room was old but clean and comfortable with great character. Bit disappointed that we waited over 30 minutes for breakfast for which we received neither explanation or apology. When checking out the bill was incorrect,however the staff rectified it immediately, the guy on reception when we arrived was very good despite being shocked by the arrival of a large coach party! also the guy in the bar who worked very hard serving about 15 meals single handed.

Room Tip: I guess any room as quality was so evident, but don't come if you don't like history or char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186400Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over the bank holiday weekend in May to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and took advantage of the deal MacDonald hotels have with Tesco Clubcard vouchers. The hotel was lovely and we had a nice room overlooking the gardens and helm crag. Though we had booked a double room, it was in fact two single beds pushed together which was not quite the same as having a double bed - especially as both were made up separately as single beds. But that is the only complaint really. The food was lovely and there was a great selection the choose from at breakfast. The staff were really friendly and really took an interest in all of their guests. Location - quiet and peaceful and about a 5 min walk into Grasmere. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I loved this this hotel. Yes, it is away from the city and town life, but if you are looking for a quaint hotel in a picturesque area with friendly staff, a very relaxing garden, great food, with an easy walk into the village, then this is a great choice. I was with a tour group and it seemed like all rooms were different. Our room was a beautiful spacious room with a canopy bed, fireplace, a great sized bathroom, with a generous closet and dresser space. Our two night stay was enjoyable with part of both evenings talking with Richard, the reception manager, who made sure every guest was happy. One thing to know for some people is that this is a two story hotel with no elevator. This was not a problem for us but wanted you to know that.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing