We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, staff and food. Highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, staff and food. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Executive rooms all refurbished nice now. Ask for these. classic rooms cheaper but yet to be done. hotel has had a major renovation inside.Staff were lovely ESP Michelle. Breakfast always nice. Good ingredients .cant complain and I use hotels a lot.

Hotel is Just outside the village but better than some right in the centre. Village is a short walk. There are some great walks around here , cards with them in at reception. Around the lakes, easedale tarn v nice. There is a handy carpark near the rear exit which is good for unloading the car. Get a garden view. We stayed in r12 which was lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkthestayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    420
    196
    66
    35
See reviews for
149
803
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Spent my 10-night honeymoon here and everything was wonderful - the room, staff, cleanliness, comfort and food - all superb! We had memorable meals, lovely walks and comfortable nights. The staff are lovely, and really do look after you well. I asked for a cafetiere of coffee and they brought biscuits and sugared almonds! Don't know if that was because we were newly-weds.. Food each evening and breakfasts was superb. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducklet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

What a find !.We had stayed at the Old England in Bowness and we were impressed so thought we would try a sister hotel and we found a gem. The hotel sits on the main Ambleside to Keswick road on the edge of Grasmere so is very easy to find. When we arrived we were greated with a friendly receptionist who was genuinely interested in us. We had booked a feature room and when we entered its was a mixture of old world with all the modern aspects you would want. The room, as was the whole hotel, was spotless and very well appointed. We had dinner in the hotel which again was excellent, portion size was a little large. We are now looking forward to our next break and have chosen our hotel from this chain

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed here for one night to celebrate my partner's birthday. We had an executive king which looked like it had been recently refurbished, it was clean and fresh and quite spacious with good facilities. We were however quite disappointed with the view from the room which looked out over the hotel's dustbins, when the advertising blurb for these upgraded rooms promises 'views of the fells or gardens'.
We had dinner in the hotel which was very good quality, although I felt that the menu could have been a bit more adventurous. The selection at breakfast was excellent. The service was great and all of the staff were very friendly and efficient.
I'd visit again, but in a different room!

Room Tip: Avoid room 15 if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truffraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed here the weekend of the big snow in January 2013. Perfect setting - just a short walk outside of Grasmere. Hotel looks like, and is, a real traditional coaching inn. Downstairs is old-world with log-fires and homely decor. We had a superior room which was really very good indeed. All newly fitted - the only criticisms I have are that the bathroom was "compact and bijou" to say the least - but it worked. The second issue was that the idea of BT openworld internet - whilst great in concept - would be even better if the routers worked and didn't keep dropping the connection.

The two things that stood out for me were the food - which was very good indeed (Macdonald's generally are in my experience - and I'm not referring the the golden arched sort!) and the staff. Everyone we met was friendly, efficient and really seemed to care. The bar waiter started calling me by name (No. My name - not "names") after signing one chit. That's impressive.

Will definitely return. Well done to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptnMainwaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potto, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the Swan, we thoroughly enjoyed our first visit 2 years ago so we decided to stay again but this time we took our 1 year old dog with us. We were greeted by the lovely receptionist who instantly remembered us which was a nice touch and the bar man came through to say hello again and to ask if it was my fiancés birthday again which I thought was nice. we were given our rooms which were classic doubles as these are the only rooms available with a dog, we were at the back of the hotel which was great for us as we were right near the fire exit to let the dog out for wee. The room was basic and a bit tired, the wall paper was coming off and rather dusty in places. We had adjuring doors with our friends next door which we didn’t mind. The bathroom is desperate for an update, clean though. We went to breakfast the next morning which we loved last time and did again this time, my only complaint was the who i think was the restaurant manager i found him a little rude and as if it was an effort to serve us, he gave me the impression we werent good enough for the hotel as we were younger than the other guest (we are all late 20's early 30's) he spoke to the other older guests much more politely and asked them if they were enjoying their stay, all we got was what did we want for breakfast! the other girls in there were lovely. The hotel is undergoing a major refurb and it looks lovely, i did ask if they would be updating the classic rooms (43 & 44) which she said no. Not sure if we would visit again which is a shame. It’s funny how one person being rude spoils it for the rest of the staff who are lovely!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
My Office
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed in the hotel last weekend and had to battle with the weather to make it. Winter tires and sheer pig headedness was the only reason we made it, leaving a stream of abandoned cars in our wake.

We were phoned by Michelle on route to make sure we were ok. A very nice touch we thought. We were a team of 2 adults, 2 kids & 2 dogs? On arrival the consideration continued. Lovely newly refurbished room which was very comfortable for all of us.

Basically everything was a joy! From booking in, drink @ the bar, dinner, drinks by the fire, comfy bed. All good!!!!

I must give specific recognition to Michelle on reception, Colin behind the bar & Alex who seemed to be the jack of all trades. They made a lovely stay into a memorable stay. They looked after us incredibly with particular attention to the kids and nothing was too much effort.

As far as Grasmere is concerned, it is a Jewel in the Lake District and is to be enjoyed for its sheer beauty and the fact that it seems to still be "unaffected".

Room Tip: Room 8. Large and newly refurbished. Great bathroom also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Codfather007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,426 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,179 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
826 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing