We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only negative was that this Inn set the standard so high for the remainder of our trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
o.c. california
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The only negative was that this Inn set the standard so high for the remainder of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

I agree with other reviewers who rate this hotel with high marks. When my husband and I travel in the off-season we don't make reservations - so when we rolled into the lovely village of Grasmere we decided to spend the night there. It was our 20th anniversary and this was the perfect place to celebrate. We took a loop around town in our car and ended up on the road that goes right up to the Swan Hotel. It is a handsome historic building that faces rolling fenced pastures and of course the charming town of Grasmere. Our room was inviting - the bed was full of fluffy pillows and the small table with comfy chairs by the window was the perfect place to pop a cork and enjoy our special bottle of wine. (The staff graciously let us borrow wine glasses from the hotel lounge). The view we had overlooked the side of the property where - in warmer times of the year - there are obviously wedding receptions and other formal events. The hotel itself is set against a rolling hill. As a side note, I will add that although we had an amazing trip driving through Wales, England, and Scotland - we never found a Hotel or B&B that for the value compared to the Swan Hotel. Which, I guess is what made our 20th so special.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayceelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    414
    194
    66
    35
See reviews for
147
792
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
west yorks
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just had an excellent 3 night break here. Our room was one of the recently refurbished rooms, biggest bed we've ever had in a hotel and very comfy. The room was lovely and warm as well.
We stayed on dinner, bed and breakfast booking and the food was very good, breakfasts also very good. The lounges were lovely and cosy and a nice place to sit after your dinner with a coffee and complimentary chocolates. The staff were all very friendly , helpful and efficient.
It's an easy walk into the village from the hotel, Grasmere is a lovely village with a good choice of tearooms and a few shops.
We look forward to returning to the Swan next year, thanks to everyone there for an excellent break.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyholmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Executive rooms all refurbished nice now. Ask for these. classic rooms cheaper but yet to be done. hotel has had a major renovation inside.Staff were lovely ESP Michelle. Breakfast always nice. Good ingredients .cant complain and I use hotels a lot.

Hotel is Just outside the village but better than some right in the centre. Village is a short walk. There are some great walks around here , cards with them in at reception. Around the lakes, easedale tarn v nice. There is a handy carpark near the rear exit which is good for unloading the car. Get a garden view. We stayed in r12 which was lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkthestayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Spent my 10-night honeymoon here and everything was wonderful - the room, staff, cleanliness, comfort and food - all superb! We had memorable meals, lovely walks and comfortable nights. The staff are lovely, and really do look after you well. I asked for a cafetiere of coffee and they brought biscuits and sugared almonds! Don't know if that was because we were newly-weds.. Food each evening and breakfasts was superb. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducklet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

What a find !.We had stayed at the Old England in Bowness and we were impressed so thought we would try a sister hotel and we found a gem. The hotel sits on the main Ambleside to Keswick road on the edge of Grasmere so is very easy to find. When we arrived we were greated with a friendly receptionist who was genuinely interested in us. We had booked a feature room and when we entered its was a mixture of old world with all the modern aspects you would want. The room, as was the whole hotel, was spotless and very well appointed. We had dinner in the hotel which again was excellent, portion size was a little large. We are now looking forward to our next break and have chosen our hotel from this chain

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed here for one night to celebrate my partner's birthday. We had an executive king which looked like it had been recently refurbished, it was clean and fresh and quite spacious with good facilities. We were however quite disappointed with the view from the room which looked out over the hotel's dustbins, when the advertising blurb for these upgraded rooms promises 'views of the fells or gardens'.
We had dinner in the hotel which was very good quality, although I felt that the menu could have been a bit more adventurous. The selection at breakfast was excellent. The service was great and all of the staff were very friendly and efficient.
I'd visit again, but in a different room!

Room Tip: Avoid room 15 if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truffraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed here the weekend of the big snow in January 2013. Perfect setting - just a short walk outside of Grasmere. Hotel looks like, and is, a real traditional coaching inn. Downstairs is old-world with log-fires and homely decor. We had a superior room which was really very good indeed. All newly fitted - the only criticisms I have are that the bathroom was "compact and bijou" to say the least - but it worked. The second issue was that the idea of BT openworld internet - whilst great in concept - would be even better if the routers worked and didn't keep dropping the connection.

The two things that stood out for me were the food - which was very good indeed (Macdonald's generally are in my experience - and I'm not referring the the golden arched sort!) and the staff. Everyone we met was friendly, efficient and really seemed to care. The bar waiter started calling me by name (No. My name - not "names") after signing one chit. That's impressive.

Will definitely return. Well done to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptnMainwaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing