We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights in August 2013 - a couple with a dog. We knew about the £15 per dog per night additional charge for our dog but still feel that it is a lot of money for what is in our case, giving the room a good hoover. We stayed in a room that had not been refurbished but understand that many rooms have and given the ongoing refurbishments I hope that dogs will still be allowed to stay when all of the rooms have been refurbished. We didn't eat in the hotel for dinner, just had drinks in the bar and an afternoon tea which was lovely. All the staff are very friendly, polite and welcoming. Breakfast was great, good choice and freshly cooked. The room was very clean, we had complementary water, tea, coffee and biscuits in the room which were appreciated after a long walk. The bathroom is far too small though which is a shame, but fine for how long we stayed for. The only things to complain about are doors - they are too loud when they close, which must be annoying for those who are in rooms close to the stairways/ends of corridors. Also, the chap who came to shut down the bar area was very keen on closing the bar at 11:00. We understood that the bar closed at 11 which is fine with us, however it just seemed to us that he wanted us and other to finish our drinks immediately and proceeded to lock barriers, switch lights off at 11 on the dot! Anyway, check out was quick and the gingerbread was a nice touch. We can't wait to go back for another couple of days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunny2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

894 - 900 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Martha Wood on reception has to mentioned words to describe her would be excellent . Checking in on Monday by such a welcoming Smile and happy face is such a warming welcome .
Thank you from The Johnson's
Not forgetting great breakfast and spotless room.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned from a 3 night B&B stay which we would probably not have booked if we had taken much notice of other reviewers. From the moment we checked in (all reception staff very friendly and a credit to the hotel) to check out we could not have wished for a better experience. Having booked an executive room we were upgraded to feature with view over side garden and obviously recently refurbished. Breakfast was first rate with good selection from cold buffet and cooked english cooked to order as all items were fresh and hot. Staff in dining room all helpful and friendly ensuring an enjoyable experience. Ate on 2 of the nights in the bar again a good selection to choose from with the added bonus of 15% discount between 6 and 7. Only downside experienced was the fact we had to leave after the 3rd night - could have stayed at least another 3. A big thank you to all staff. We shall return next time we visit Grasmere.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room when check in. If there is room may be upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcatdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent located hotel for exploring fantastic Lake district. Rooms are quite well although building is old. We felt very comfortable during 5 days in that hotel and must give a compliment to the friendly lady at the reception and all the staff in bar, restaurant and housekeeping. We can recommend the Swan and are looking forward to come back one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We returned to the Swan Hotel after many years. Our Check in was friendly but the high light was our beautiful spacious, recently decorated room. We had opted for one of the feature rooms and it did not disappoint. The little extras really do make a difference! The bathroom was chic and modern. We had a lovely view to the side of the extensive garden which I wonder if a recent addition as we don't remember the garden at all. Breakfast was good especially the "Black Pudding" . We ate in the bar where the dark coloured walls and low lighting made it difficult to read the menu which was a wee bit limited. All the staff were a credit to MACDONALDHOTELS, the lady who was hoovering the corridor when we arrived especially stands out in my memory for wishing us an enjoyable stay. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isobelm113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We booked the hotel at the last minute for a weekend break to celebrate our engagement, which we mentioned at the time of booking. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a feature room overlooking the gardens and we also received a bottle of champagne in our room. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms and the Hotel in general was very clean. We only ate there at breakfast, but the selection and quality of the food was excellent. We would have no problems staying here again.

Room Tip: Room 18 very nice and overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were staying in a small hotel just up the road, but wandered down to the Swan for our evening meal. The food was very very nice, and service excellent. This was in the middle of summer though and we were suprised it wasn't busier. The bar, where we had our nightcaps, was nearly empty! Would definitely eat there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,946 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £91 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing