We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super two days in the Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super two days in the Lakes”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Always enjoy a break in the lakes, this time decided on a two night end of the week break at The Swan in Grasmere! Hotel ideally positioned on the outskirts of Grasmere only a 10 minute stroll into the village centre. Booked a family room for 3 people 2 adults and a child of 6 years of age! The room (27) was fantastic with our sons bed in his own private area with own tv. We booked dinner bed and breakfast and on the whole the food was very good!
What the website fails to show or explain is how this works? Children get breakfast included but dinner has to be paid for! Adults get £25 each to spend at dinner but cannot get a child's meal as part of this?? You cannot get wine or drinks as part of the £25 either!! Drinks prices are embarrassingly expensive for a 3 star hotel with a simple bottle of Merlot costing £23!!! Looking on the web it costs £6.85?? McDonald hotels really need to address this area ! Overall enjoyed the stay Clean, comfy and good food!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazelgrovejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are glad you and your family had a great time out and about in Grasmere and enjoyed your evening meal. We are in the process of addressing this on the confirmation letters, it does state it in the terms and conditions regarding children’s meals.
I have also sent up your comments to our central team regarding liquor pricing as this is where they are managed.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    430
    201
    66
    36
See reviews for
157
824
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
richmond north yorks
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just returned from a four day break with little dog in tow!!!Been coming here off and on for 26 years and thought after a 2 year break we would return to the lovely Swan!!But what a difference we encountered!!Wonderfull welcome on reception and infact everyone we met was courteous and polite!!But oh dear what about the food!!Nothing like we have had before ,just basic food and in some cases quite tasteless!!!What on earth has happened!!!??!!Always had amazing food here in the past!!!And beware when on bed breakfast and evening meal deal and when asked due to having a very small dog (another matter!!) wether we could eat in bar off either menu and were told YES!!!Only to be charged full price for a rump steak despite not having a starter!!!Surely there should have been some reduction!!!??And the bar prices are rediculous!!!No wonder not many people were seen to drink after dinner!!!Seven pounds there abouts for a Cointreau!!!!!And on to the subject of dogs, well what can I say!!15 pounds a night!!!It started at 5 then 10!!! Our little dog caused no bother at all and only required a Hoover after his visit!!All in all we feel The Swan is loosing its charm!A shame as we LOVE the place.And would love to continue visiting!!!Bring back the Swans glory days of table d'ote and a la carte!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Good Afternoon Susiema,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and we share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

I was disappointed to read your review and also disappointed if you felt that strongly that you did not bring to our attention during your stay.
I wish to go through your review and answer it in detail, I agree the food is not like what it used to be we have changed the concept in the bar but kept the a la carte menu in the restaurant which every years keeps it AA Rosette award so I have to disagree with your statement 'just basic food'
With regards being charged full price for Rump Steak when eating in the bar this is true, the main reason for this is that when eating in the bar full price show on the bill but once charged off to you account it is automatically taken off your account. I would like you to contact me at the hotel as it seems whilst I was checking your account that there does seem to be an error made on a different day and I would like to refund this money to your account.
Please contact me via email on gm.swangrasmere@macdonald-hotel.co.uk
With regards to your comment 'Severn pounds there abouts for a Cointreau!!!!!' the price for a Cointreau is £3.80, I think you were mistaken when reading your account that you had also had a Grand Manier or Courvoisier.
The charge for the dog has increased since your last visit in November 2008 mainly due to cleaning of the room properly not just a hoover.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Jason Moore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We usually stay at Macdonalds Leeming House Hotel on Lake Ullswater, but were unable to get in for the dates we wanted so decided to try the Swan Hotel at Grasmere. It was a very average experience, particularly in the restaurant where most of the staff were not on top of the game and had little or no leadership or example from management. It felt as if we were staying in a pub, rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Good Afternoon Michael H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and we share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

I can understand your disappointment if your usual hotel is the Macdonald Leeming House Hotel which is an Edwardian Country House Hotel and the Macdonald Swan Hotel is a 16th Century Coaching Inn, there will be many differences especially in the food offering our style of food is a hearty British style of cooking still achieving AA Rosette standard year on year and Leeming House is more refined dining. This is why all Macdonald Hotels have there own style and unique character but the same high standards.

So I will agree with your statement ' a Pub with Rooms' but I believe a very good pub with very good rooms.

I do hope this visit does not put you offer returning to Leeming House Hotel or even the Swan and we would warmly welcome you back.

Kindest Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The swan is the perfect place to stay. The rooms are excellent with all the usual amenities. The hotel staff are friendly, knowledgeable and always at your service. The dining room menu is superb with local food perfectly prepared.
A place we keep coming back to.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Good Afternoon David V,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive and share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and you found the staff to be friendly, we do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madikeri. India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here in Sept 2013 for 3 nights. It is a lovely hotel located on the main thoroughfare with a breathtaking view. The room was very clean, spacious, comfortable and neatly decorated.So also the bathroom. The hotel has an old world charm about it. The staff were courteous and helpful.Parking was in abundance alongside the hotel. Short distances to Dove Cottage, Ambleside and Windermere we were able to comfortably visit around and return to the hotel to rest. We did not have a meal in the hotel so I cannot comment on that. Well recommended to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaveri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Good Afternoon Kaveri M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and share them with the whole team.

We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed your comfortable recently refurbished bedroom and you appreciated the hospitality of the staff and were able to enjoy the wonderful views of Grasmere and the surrounding areas.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I'd read that the rooms had been refurbished but the one we had suffered from peeling wallpaper, a cracked tile in the bathroom and a torn duvet cover. While my main course was good at dinner my wife's salmon had been under the lamps for too long and was starting to dry out. There is a constant feeling that they are trying to squeeze more money out of you. How can they advertise their breakfast at £17.50 and then ask for an extra £2.50 for Haddock or kippers? The staff, however were friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for one that's been recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohanFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Good Afternoon RohanFan,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere.
We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are postitive or constructive and share them with the whole of the team.

I am dissappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay enough and you did not recieve a recently refurbished room.
Thank you for your knid words regarding the staff which I have passed on to them.
With regards to the supplement charge for the kippers unfortunately this is a directive from our central team but i will raise the point with them regarding this.

We do look forwad to welcoming you back in the future and please contact me prior to your arrival so that I can ensure a warm welcome back and your complete satisfaction.

Kindest Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Had great few days at this hotel in very nice room spotless and good sized bathroom. Ate some meals in hotel which were value for money and of high quality and value. Reception staff and restaurant staff were all lovely and friendly and made it a good stay. Will go again I hope and alos enjoyed great waking from back of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redleader57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Good Afternoon Redleader57,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere.
We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether constructive or positive and share them with the team on a regular basis.

I have passed on your kind words to the team and happy that you enjoyed one of the newlt refurbished rooms and you are looking forward to returning for the spectaular views and fantatstic walks.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,205 reviews
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,880 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
16.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing