We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awaiting redecoration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awaiting redecoration”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Rooms with numbers in the 30s and 40s desperately need redecorating and do not meet the statement on the Macdonald poster "Committed to Excellence". The food was excellent, especially the breakfasts but the restaurant tables are too close together and force you to overhear your neighbours' conversation.
On the whole the staff are very helpful but some of the foreign staff speak English in a strange way that makes you feel that they are interrogating you: especially in Reception.
Otherwise an excellent hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guywarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

I do not disagree with you that some of the rooms are in need of re-decoration but i will have to disagree that they are in desperate need.
We thank you for your kind comments regarding the food and apologies if you feel the tables are to close together.
With regards to some our foreign team members sounding like they are interrogating you, I do believe that all of my foreign team members speak very good English but sometimes it is misinterpreted in the way it is put across to guests.

I do hope that this will not put you off returning and we can welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    425
    196
    66
    35
See reviews for
152
814
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff who despite being busy were happy to help. They really made us feel welcome. No what you always get from a corporate chain.Our room was a great size with a massive bed, suitably warm and peaceful at night.

We didn't eat at the hotel but had a drink in the bar , which wasn't as overpriced as other reviews may allude to.

It is a 10 minute walk to the centre of Grasmere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stickyweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay, we here at the hotel appreciate all out reviews whether they are constructive or positive and also we share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We are all in agreement with you that it is s Lovely Place, with Lovely Rooms; we do hope next time that you stay with us that you have the opportunity to taste our menus.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Having just spent 2 nights here, with my wife, I have to say we were truly delighted!
As mentioned in the title...this place oozes character, warmth and friendliness.
For us, this felt like a really nice treat. I love going to the Lake District and the location of the Swan is great. It's a short drive to Ambleside (approx. 4 miles) and a 12 mile drive to Keswick. Or, take to foot, and you've got Grasmere on your doorstep. You've also got some great walks (or access to) on your doorstep. Or.............simply enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and ambience of the hotel itself. What's particularly nice about this place in winter, is the cosy sitting area with its large open fire, which greets you as you enter the hotel.
I'm a real-ale man and was not disappointed by what was available on this occasion, at the hotel's bar. However, one of my favourite ales (Jennings Snecklifter) is available just up the road at the Traveller's Rest - about a 10 minute walk away.
The staff at the swan were incredibly friendly and the food/drink, hotel's character, ambience, setting and room were all brilliant.
We opted for the 'classic' room (the less expensive option) but it was lovely. It was spacious, very clean, cosy and in-keeping with the character of the hotel.
I have stayed in this hotel before, about 8 yrs ago, but must have had a room close to the front of the hotel, as I didn't realise how deep this hotel was! We too have now experienced all the corridors that you wouldn't expect to exist here - it is, like other reviews have pointed out, like a rabbit warren!
The food here was fantastic. We had one night in the 'fancy' restaurant and the second just in the bar, with the bar menu - we opted for the burger....it was massive. I would happily eat again in either of these places, though the 'posher' restaurant does make your evening feel very special. If it's a special occasion - I'd opt for the restaurant.
I have stayed in the Mac Donald's other 2 Lake District hotels (Leeming House and The Old England) several times, but for me - it's the Swan that suits us the best. Mainly for location and character.
I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audi_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay, w here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We are over the moon with your detailed review of your stay and we do have to agree with you it does ooze character and charm, we think this is the best time of year to come visit the Swan, where you can kick off you shoes and relax in front of the fires.
I have passed on your comments to the kitchen team regarding your enjoyment at the food, which they very much appreciate.

Thank you once again and we can't wait for you to return.

Kindest regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. They have large, clean, modern rooms. It's a 10 minute walk to Grasmere. It has a restaurant and pub. We had one of our best meals of our trip in their restaurant. My seafood of the day was wonderful. My husband started with mussels and had pork loin; he loved both. We also had delicious desserts and a great champagne!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendySanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we here appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive, we also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

Your kind comments have been passed on to everyone especially the kitchen regarding your meals and we are glad that you liked Grasmere village.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on 30th October. We arrived in pouring rain and were met with a friendly welcome and a cosy, roaring fire. On being shown our room (which was lovely, room 4) I was slightly disappointed as it faced onto the road at the front of the hotel. I mentioned this to the receptionist (Claire?) who showed me another room overlooking the garden at the side of the hotel (room 14). We decided to take this one and when it was ready our luggage was moved from the original room for us and our canapé s were served to us in front of the fire downstairs - nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the bar in the evening and, although we waited some time for the food, it was delicious and freshly cooked when it arrived. The hotel is ideally situated, facing fells at the front and back. Grasmere village is an easy 10 minutes walk away and there is a bus stop directly opposite, with regular services to nearby towns - definitely something we would consider using in the future because, yes, we will return! This stay was a gift for our 25th wedding anniversary and it really couldn't have been better - thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether constructive or positive and share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

Thank you for such a detailed and lovely review and we are glad that you loved the hotel and Grasmere.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Lovely hotel, this is an old hotel which we loved the layout of, it was like a little rabbit warren but no dinginess as you might expect, we first discovered the bar, where we ordered a couple of drinks the gentleman behind the bar was chatty and friendly, we then ordered some food, my husband had a burger (which was lovely) and I ordered the sausage and mash (lovely also). There are numerous rooms you can eat your food in a couple with log fires, all quite cosy.

We then checked in, the lady at reception was lovely (sorry didn't catch the name but had blonde hair). We had room 9 which had a four poster bed, the room was really nice and the bathroom was great, separate bath and shower, after 10 minutes some canapés and prosecco were delivered. There were some chocolates already in the room which was a nice touch and some Kendal mint cake on the pillow. The bed was very comfortable also.

Had a meal at the Waggoners Restaurant which was nice as well.

The hotel is on the outskirts of Grasmere itself only a couple of minutes drive to the main town. Love Grasmere and would definitely stay here again very pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Only thing I would say slightly negative would be: the web site states you can check in from 2pm but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and also share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We are very please that you had a wonderful stay, especially in the recently refurbished room 9, what a fantastic room, and thank you for your kind words regarding your whole experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Always enjoy a break in the lakes, this time decided on a two night end of the week break at The Swan in Grasmere! Hotel ideally positioned on the outskirts of Grasmere only a 10 minute stroll into the village centre. Booked a family room for 3 people 2 adults and a child of 6 years of age! The room (27) was fantastic with our sons bed in his own private area with own tv. We booked dinner bed and breakfast and on the whole the food was very good!
What the website fails to show or explain is how this works? Children get breakfast included but dinner has to be paid for! Adults get £25 each to spend at dinner but cannot get a child's meal as part of this?? You cannot get wine or drinks as part of the £25 either!! Drinks prices are embarrassingly expensive for a 3 star hotel with a simple bottle of Merlot costing £23!!! Looking on the web it costs £6.85?? McDonald hotels really need to address this area ! Overall enjoyed the stay Clean, comfy and good food!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazelgrovejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are glad you and your family had a great time out and about in Grasmere and enjoyed your evening meal. We are in the process of addressing this on the confirmation letters, it does state it in the terms and conditions regarding children’s meals.
I have also sent up your comments to our central team regarding liquor pricing as this is where they are managed.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
8.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing