We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed on a weekend break having booked online (couldn't find a better deal in Grasmere at the time). We had to postpone this for a couple of weeks and hotel staff were most helpful in enabling us to do this.
Had a lovely weekend (despite the weather!). Rooms warm and comfortable. Food in restaurant was lovely as were the breakfasts and service was excellent. Staff on reception were really friendly and helpful (particularly at a busy checkout time on Sunday). Couldn't fault them.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive and also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to be very comfortable and the food and service excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    409
    193
    66
    35
See reviews for
144
784
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed for one night, booked direct with them online and got a very good deal.
Room large and spacious, good view towards helm crag, we didn't mind being towards the back of the hotel, bathroom dated and tired although clean and serviceable, I believe they are busy refurbing rooms at the hotel.
We are in the bar, food very nice a little expensive but good quality and about on par with others in area for price. Although we did feel the drinks were expensive.
Breakfast: very good and service friendly.
We would return at the right price

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MorriAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive; we also share them on a regular basis with the whole team.

We are all very pleased that you had a nice break away and you chose the Swan for your night away, we are indeed continuously improving all our rooms and glad to hear that you enjoyed your food served in the Walker's Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I am a great fan of MacDonald Hotels having stayed at a number of them in the north of England and midlands.
The Swan at Grasmere is an old coaching inn on the road from Ambleside to Keswick, we had a room at the front looking up to the "Lion and the Lamb". I was a bit concerned it might be noisy with passing traffic but its double glazed so no problem. The bathroom looked brand new, fully tiled with a spacious shower and bath. Water was very hot. All usual facilities were in the room. The bed comfortable and sleep was fitful.
There are three sitting areas as you enter the hotel one having a real fire the others gas. The bar serves real ale which is always a good sign for me. You can have a meal in bar if you wish but we were booked in the restaurant for two nights.
First night was cauliflower soup for Mrs S, haggis neaps and tatties me, for openers. Followed by lamb shank and lamb's liver respectively. Such flavour and enjoyed so much by both of us. A decent Cab Sav helped things along. Local mixed ice cream finished things off.
The weather over the weekend was absolutely dreadful, the rain incessant, so the drying room was essential.
Second night I opened with deviled kidneys in a rich sauce and batted on with the chicken, my wife started with salmon then too the chicken. Mixed vegetables were there. An NZ Sauvignon Blanc ran alongside this time.
I've not said how good the breakfasts were. They were. I ordered the signature event and the smoked salmon over the two days.
Once again our stay was wonderful. In the room on arrival was a bottle wine, chocolates and a welcome back note.
Staff always helpful and attentive.
We will certainly be back again. One final thing, although the hotel has no pool my wife used the spa at the Old England in Bowness, another MacDonald Hotel, for a pamper session.

Room Tip: Room with a view of Helm Crag (the Lion and the Lamb)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverdale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive; we also share them on a regular basis with the whole team.

We are all very pleased that you had a wonderful break with us here, WOW what a kind review were are really appreciative of such a kind and detailed review the kitchen are over the moon that you enjoyed all your meals so much, the whole team strived to ensure that our menus are thought out and have a local connection, we are very pleased you love all aspects of the hotel and the newly refurbished executive and feature rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed over a very wet weekend on the dinner bed and breakfast deal.
Drinks and nibbles on arrival and £10 credit at the bar
Lovely room, very clean and well appointed the bathroom was particularly nice
View of Helm Crag and Steel Fell from the bedroom window!
The dinner menu was very good, you could exchange this for £25 towards a meal in the bar
Recommend the rump steak and chips and the pear and honey cheesecake
Breakfast was very good also
The drying room is excellent and a much appreciated facility this weekend
Thank you to the person who found my rucksack cover and hung it up from me to find.
Plenty of seating around the real fire in the lounge, just the place for a pint and a good book

Room Tip: Feature King room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeples12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive; we also share them on a regular basis with the whole team.

We are all very pleased that you had a wonderful break with us here, it was a brilliant time even if the whether was miserable and it was good having all the fires roaring away. We are also pleased that you enjoyed all the food, and the Dry Room is an advantage

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We love Grasmere and wanted to have a break over Christmas and experience the festivities in the Lakes. We have stopped here in the past and remembered how cosy the bar and lounges were so booked a 5 night stay over Christmas, B&B. The room was lovely with beautiful views over the garden and Helm Crag, breakfast's were superb, a nice choice on the hot breakfast menu and lots to choose from on the buffet, such as fresh fruit, yogurts, pastries etc staff were friendly and very helpful, would definitely recommend and book in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the garden and helm crag have lovely views and are set further back from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CYJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive; we also share them on a regular basis with the whole team.

We are all very pleased that you had a wonderful Christmas break with us here, it was a brilliant time and the hotel looked wonderful with all the decorations up and the fires all roaring away. We are also pleased that you enjoyed all the food and the staff sends their appreciation for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had our honeymoon here 37 years ago and although we have returned many times since then, this stay was by far the best. The receptionist greeted us with a smile and told us we had been upgraded to an executive double. The room was beautiful with a recently refurbished bathroom. It was on the front of the hotel with lovely views of the surrounding hills. There were chocolates and a card wishing us a very happy anniversary which I thought was a nice touch. The receptionist rang to ask if everything was OK - such attention to detail is hard to find these days. The hotel was tastefully decorated for Christmas - the main lounge had a beautiful tree and a roaring open fire - just the right setting for a winter break. There was a relaxed, informal atmosphere and it felt like you were a much wanted house guest. The bar and restaurant staff were attentive and pleasant and the food was excellent (both dinner and breakfast). Keep doing whatever you are doing as you have got the balance just right!

Room Tip: R.4 on front of hotel is spacious, warm with a beautful bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedunkerleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your return visit considering us once again for your anniversary and you liked the little extra touches we have introduced and the Christmas decorations were to your liking it is a beautiful place to visit at Christmas time and indeed so is Grasmere.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Macdonal Swan Hotel – well what can I say…You were the perfect hosts! We arrived at the hotel and we were greeted with a smile! You gave us some great local information also. When we arrived in the room, you’d also left us a card and box of chocolates wishing us a great stay – now that is the service of someone who cares! I will most certainly be staying here again in the future and I will also recommend you to many, many others!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and we share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

Once again thank you for your kind words and the whole of the team are glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.6 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing