We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter luxury at bargain price - spectacular!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Winter luxury at bargain price - spectacular!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Managed to snag a bargain break from the McDonald website and had a most excellent time in a most excellent hotel. We had booked DB&B. Greeted by very courteous & professional staff. Shown to a room with impeccable furnishings and spotlessly clean. We were on the front of the hotel with superb views of the fells around Grasmere. Our package was very flexible with us eating in the walkers bar instead of the restaurant. Food and service were excellent with good choice of food and drinks. As this is an old coaching inn there were open fires everywhere and the atmosphere is less formal than many hotels of this calibre. Though the hotel was almost full, it didn't ever feel rushed or staff stretched. Very difficult to fault our first stay at this most famous of Grasmere's hotels. Will definitely be keeping an eye on the website for future last minute deals.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Good Evening

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive and constructive and share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

We are pleased that you managed to snap up one of our great offers and even more pleased that you chose the Swan. It is a great hotel at this time of year with all the fires roaring and I will have to agree that the staff and food are great but I am slightly biased.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    425
    196
    66
    35
See reviews for
153
814
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for two nights to celebrate our 27th wedding anniversary. We received a lovely warm welcome from the very pleasant young lady on reception who happily gave us our room despite checking in early. We had upgraded to a Feature Room and was not disappointed. It was lovely. We were also greeted with a card and chocolates from the staff congratulating us on our wedding anniversary. Just as we were settling into our room we were surprised to receive warm canapés and prosecco, very nice, warm mini Yorkshire puddings filled with sundried tomatoes and blue cheese and smoked salmon filled with lemon cheese on a crustini. Both tasted delicious. All the meals we had in the restaurant, both three course dinner each evening and breakfast each morning were all lovely. Plenty to choose from at each
sitting. One evening I had the steak and I requested a peppercorn sauce but asked for extra peppercorn in it. They obliged and it was the best peppercorn sauce ever (thanks to one of the very pleasant barman/waiter who had suggested to the chef to add some tabasco to it) - delicious as was everything else. My husband was not disappointed with his choices either. The hotel looks onto the fells which were covered in snow, beautiful area to stay in. Overall it was a lovely break, shame we had to come away. Couldn't fault our stay or the staff. Will look forward to going back again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive and we share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are so pleased that you chose the Macdonald Swan Hotel to celebrate your anniversary and also pleased that you were not disappointed with every aspect of your stay and all the little extra touches you received for your special stay.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just returned from a 2 night winter warmer break. What excellent value we upgraded to an executive room so paid £194.00 for 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast. Because we booked online we were also given a £10 credit to spend in the bar. The restaurant was lovely, busy with a good atmosphere. Dinner was lovely with a good choice and cooked to perfection! Breakfast was equally as good again with an excellent selection. The bar areas were really nice and cosy and served a very nice Cumbrian ale. The staff were excellent, extremely helpful and always has a smile for guests. We were in from 1 which was nicely decorated, lovely and warm with a modern bathroom. It was overlooking back courtyard with back entrance to kitchen and staff offices. It was next to a metal staircase which the staff seemed to use. Although the room did not have a view it was still nice and quiet considering it was overlooking the staff premises. 10 minute walk into Grasmere which is lovely, recommend Tweedies bar if you like live music on a night!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherburnLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Good Evening

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and we share them with the whole team on a regular basis.

I am pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of one of our great winter offers from our main website and enjoyed your stay and the lovely delights of the hotel including the lovely food and ale and the amazing village that is Grasmere.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed on a weekend break having booked online (couldn't find a better deal in Grasmere at the time). We had to postpone this for a couple of weeks and hotel staff were most helpful in enabling us to do this.
Had a lovely weekend (despite the weather!). Rooms warm and comfortable. Food in restaurant was lovely as were the breakfasts and service was excellent. Staff on reception were really friendly and helpful (particularly at a busy checkout time on Sunday). Couldn't fault them.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive and also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to be very comfortable and the food and service excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed for one night, booked direct with them online and got a very good deal.
Room large and spacious, good view towards helm crag, we didn't mind being towards the back of the hotel, bathroom dated and tired although clean and serviceable, I believe they are busy refurbing rooms at the hotel.
We are in the bar, food very nice a little expensive but good quality and about on par with others in area for price. Although we did feel the drinks were expensive.
Breakfast: very good and service friendly.
We would return at the right price

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorriAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive; we also share them on a regular basis with the whole team.

We are all very pleased that you had a nice break away and you chose the Swan for your night away, we are indeed continuously improving all our rooms and glad to hear that you enjoyed your food served in the Walker's Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I am a great fan of MacDonald Hotels having stayed at a number of them in the north of England and midlands.
The Swan at Grasmere is an old coaching inn on the road from Ambleside to Keswick, we had a room at the front looking up to the "Lion and the Lamb". I was a bit concerned it might be noisy with passing traffic but its double glazed so no problem. The bathroom looked brand new, fully tiled with a spacious shower and bath. Water was very hot. All usual facilities were in the room. The bed comfortable and sleep was fitful.
There are three sitting areas as you enter the hotel one having a real fire the others gas. The bar serves real ale which is always a good sign for me. You can have a meal in bar if you wish but we were booked in the restaurant for two nights.
First night was cauliflower soup for Mrs S, haggis neaps and tatties me, for openers. Followed by lamb shank and lamb's liver respectively. Such flavour and enjoyed so much by both of us. A decent Cab Sav helped things along. Local mixed ice cream finished things off.
The weather over the weekend was absolutely dreadful, the rain incessant, so the drying room was essential.
Second night I opened with deviled kidneys in a rich sauce and batted on with the chicken, my wife started with salmon then too the chicken. Mixed vegetables were there. An NZ Sauvignon Blanc ran alongside this time.
I've not said how good the breakfasts were. They were. I ordered the signature event and the smoked salmon over the two days.
Once again our stay was wonderful. In the room on arrival was a bottle wine, chocolates and a welcome back note.
Staff always helpful and attentive.
We will certainly be back again. One final thing, although the hotel has no pool my wife used the spa at the Old England in Bowness, another MacDonald Hotel, for a pamper session.

Room Tip: Room with a view of Helm Crag (the Lion and the Lamb)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverdale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive; we also share them on a regular basis with the whole team.

We are all very pleased that you had a wonderful break with us here, WOW what a kind review were are really appreciative of such a kind and detailed review the kitchen are over the moon that you enjoyed all your meals so much, the whole team strived to ensure that our menus are thought out and have a local connection, we are very pleased you love all aspects of the hotel and the newly refurbished executive and feature rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed over a very wet weekend on the dinner bed and breakfast deal.
Drinks and nibbles on arrival and £10 credit at the bar
Lovely room, very clean and well appointed the bathroom was particularly nice
View of Helm Crag and Steel Fell from the bedroom window!
The dinner menu was very good, you could exchange this for £25 towards a meal in the bar
Recommend the rump steak and chips and the pear and honey cheesecake
Breakfast was very good also
The drying room is excellent and a much appreciated facility this weekend
Thank you to the person who found my rucksack cover and hung it up from me to find.
Plenty of seating around the real fire in the lounge, just the place for a pint and a good book

Room Tip: Feature King room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeples12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive; we also share them on a regular basis with the whole team.

We are all very pleased that you had a wonderful break with us here, it was a brilliant time even if the whether was miserable and it was good having all the fires roaring away. We are also pleased that you enjoyed all the food, and the Dry Room is an advantage

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,449 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
8.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing