We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Great Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location and Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel has a great "inn" atmosphere to it with paricular character in the restaurant and bars, and has many small cosy lounges. Being part of a chain this brings all the benefits which come from this also. The location is great with just a ten minute walk to the village, and the hotel is surrounded by gardens.The only downside is that for a chain hotel the breakfast choice was limited.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLSBordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and we share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the "inn" feel and all the cosy lounges and areas but we must disagree regarding the breakfast, we believe that we have probably the best breakfast around so much so that as a company we have been awarded with the following for the past four years Best Breakfast at The Menu Innovation and Development Awards (MIDAS).

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future so we may change your mind about the breakfast.

Kind Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    414
    194
    66
    35
See reviews for
147
793
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for a private function and we thoroughly enjoyed everything.
Good selection of real ales in the bar and step outside for a fantastic view from not only outside the bar but also the lovely beer garden. I must add the weather also helped as it was sunny and warm weekend.
Would highly recommend not just for the ambiance but for good hill walking on their door step.

Room Tip: Check for availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Good Afternoon Kevin F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and we share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are pleased that you and your company enjoyed your weekend away and you enjoyed all the facilities, food and staff and we were happy that we ordered the right weather for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Decided to book last minute break for myself and boyfriend. Checked out hotel on various sites and it looked ideal.......HOWEVER.......got shown to room 40.....and it was NOTHING like the pictures we had seen. The decor was probably best suited to a museum and had not been dusted or cleaned since goodness knows when. The remains of what looked liked a very large and very dead moth were still on the wall and he looked non to impressed either. We were offered an upgrade to the exec suite and this was just as it was advertised....spotlessly clean, airy and just the rumbling of the aircon was the only downside to this. After a walk into the village, we decided to eat in the bar as it offered an extensive choice and an offer of 15% off if you ate between 6-7pm. After finding a seat in the somewhat very dark bar, my boyfriend ordered drinks and placed our food order only to be told that was off the menu as they had ran out. We chose again and were told, nope, that's off too. Eventually after asking what they did have left, we ended up with burgers (as did most other guests that tried to order off the bar menu). After settling up the bill......and not getting much change from £30 for 2 burgers and a slice of garlic bread.....we noticed the 15% hadn't been deducted. Having decided not to question this at the time, we left the bar. We were greeted for breakfast and shown to a lovely table and told to help ourselves from the buffet, this was well stocked and we were pleasantly surprised as we had expected to find guests fighting over the last remanents from the menu. The waiter came and took our order, one vegetarian breakfast and one English breakfast......only for for the waiter to return looking very sheepish proclaiming they had no vegetarian sausages left!!!!!!! He returned with a large white plate with one mushroom, half a tomato, a poached egg and a small dish of beans.....much to the amusement of my boyfriend who tucked into what he said was the best black pudding he'd had in ages....at least one of us got what was on the menu that day! After checking out we mentioned the food fiasco to the receptionist who said, yes she had heard about it and would look into refunding our 15% discount. Would we stay there again......never again, unless we we wanted a re-run of what felt like Fawlty towers. Good for a laugh but not much else!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Good Afternoon DebbieC69,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere, we here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and we share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.
We were a little disappointed to hear that your first experience was not what you expected in one of our classic rooms but we were able to upgrade you to one of our refurbished rooms.
I am pleased that you found this room more acceptable.
I have to apologise for not having some of the items on the bar menu, unfortunately we were expecting our new version to arrive but it was delayed in its production so we had already decided to run down the stocks off the old menu but never the less these items should have been brought to your attention before you ordered your evening meal.
Also my apologies for the shortfall in the stocking of our vegetarian product for breakfast the next morning.
I do hope that we may welcome you back one day and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me on gm.swangrasmere@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review as it is comments such as yours that help strive towards our goals in quality and customer care.
Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have stayed at The Daffodil, and The Wordsworth Hotel in Grasmere and thought we would try the Swan. First impression, staff were friendly, the room, number 49 was very disappointing, not refurbished and very much on the chintzy tired side. The bathroom was fine, with good shower. Room 49 has numerous steps/corridors for carrying luggage, need to be of ability to get to this room. I did ask at reception if any other rooms available but all were full. First morning, a slim young man welcomed us to breakfast and offered a selection of tables to enjoy our breakfast. I chose by the window, and the breakfast was delicious. 2nd morning, a much larger man, very surly, no smile or greeting, got shown one table by the wall and hot radiator! I asked if I could move as I am slightly claustrophobic, but was told no, as the tables were being set for the Evening meals, this was at 9.30am. The table we had the previous day, had 2 place mats and 2 knives and forks, I bet that took a long time to set up!! On the last night, of our stay, we had 2 glasses of red wine in the bar at a cost of £18.35. Would I visit here again, no definitely not, would certainly return to The Daffodil which is fabulous and The Wordsworth.

Room Tip: Do not request number 49
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Good Afternoon Val46_13,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding the recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere, We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and we share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

I am disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hotel, particularly the Classic Room that you had booked, these rooms are ear marked for refurbishment in the future but I am sure assistance should have been offered with your luggage.
Thank you for your kind words regarding members of the team, am a little surprised the found one member of the team to be surely and unhelpful as all the team go above and beyond to make everyone's stay memorable, I will have a chat and see why he was having an off day.
It seems that you have a good taste in red wine and chose the most expensive wine and a couple of large glasses that are on the menu there are other less expensive choice on the menu starting from £4.95.
If you would like to discuss with me further i would be more than happy please contact me via email on gm.swangrasmere@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Many thanks once again for your review and comments

Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Can' t really go wrong with setting, about as pretty as it gets. Staff friendly and efficient, food & drink of high quality. Only criticism, the restaurant/breakfast room is always very dark, a stark contrast to the glorious views from within. Word of warning: the beds are so dangerously comfortable that getting up is a major effort.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobjay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive; we also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are so pleased that firstly chose to stay at the wonderful Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere and you enjoyed its perfect location and the team were friendly and efficient and food & beverage were also of high quality, we also have to agree with you the beds are definitely dangerously comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is the 8th time that my wife and I have stayed at The Swan, initially with our kids, but just the two of us the past 3 years. We have been lucky enough to grab a deal for the past few years to allow us to book the 4 poster room which is a top room in every way! The views to the nearby hills are a bonus,the room is very spacious with a large bathroom with separate bath and large shower.For our stay last week we noted a few upgrades to our package from previous years with the introduction of wine and canapes on arrival, a daily newspaper and morning silver service tea and coffee in the room prior to breakfast. Nice touch. The breakfast is standard fare but the evening meals are worth looking forward to after a day out on the hills. Whilst not the most extensive selection if you are staying for 4/5 days, there should be enough to satisfy most tastes.All of the meals we chose were of a high quality and have been each of the years we have stayed. I noted a reduction in staffing on this occasion with most having to cover other jobs in addition to their own but that being said we both thought the staff were the best we have had.The young girl on reception,I believe Martha, is a real asset to the hotel and nothing was too much trouble. We have stayed at several other hotels in the Lakes area over the years but keep coming back to this one for its cozy feel, great location in the middle of everything, but peaceful atmosphere. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive; we also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are really pleased that you keep returning to see us and pass on the thanks of the staff for your kind words. We are also pleased that you noticed the little additions to the room 9's experience, especially the Prosecco and canapés, the morning tea tray and the locally sourced gift.
When you return if there is anything that we can offer in the restaurant that is not on the menu, just let us know and we will be more than happy to help.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great location with wonderful views of the surrounding mountains.Located on the A591 with
plenty of car parking space and just a short walk away from the village centre.
Hotel is full of character & old world charm. Rooms are well fitted out and the giant double bed
was very comfortable.
The staff were very friendly and the service was good.
The pub / bar has plenty of character and we were able to sit out front and watch the sun setting
over the mountains ( look out for low flying jet planes - they are fast ! )
Excellent breakfast and I look forward to returning to this hotel later this year.

Room Tip: we were in room # 35 located on 1st. floor - rear. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Good afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review for your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere.
We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive; we also share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the stay and we do agree with you that hotel is ideally located for visiting and taking great walks in the local area and of course that the hotel is wonderful and full of charm with great comfy beds.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kind Regards
Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing