We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old english hotel - Light and shade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Back to The Swan after some years with our new dog (Border Collie), we were disappointed.
Our room (49): Old, shabby, unrenovated, smelly drains, windows could only be opened by a small gap, no air and stuffy. Badly in need of refurbishment. During our stay the door lock broke and we could not leave the room.
Lovely gardens, good bar, acceptable breakfast buffet.
Restaurant: Dark and depressing.
Location is good: Short stroll into Grasmere and up the hills right from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reinhard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Good Afternoon Rheinhard T,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us this time, we have recently had a refurbishment program to half the hotel but unfortunately these rooms we no longer allow dogs in, so only allow them in the Classic rooms at the rear of the hotel, as you were in room 49 which is on the upper floor these rooms as dictated by health & safety can only open partially for your safety we could have supplied you with a fan if requested, i can only apologise for the lock failing and causing you inconvenience but we must have fixed it as you checked out on time.
I feel I will have to disagree with you regarding the breakfast buffet being acceptable has our breakfast has been awarded a national award by MIDAS (The Menu Innovation and Development Awards) so I believe it to be more than acceptable.

Thank you for your kind words regarding location, gardens & good bar.
We do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Located on the main road a short walk out of Grasmere. Old coaching in linked to modernish bedroom blocks. Linked together by a very long rambling corridor with lots of steps. You need to check the shortest route from the car parking. Small gardens pleasant for afternoon teas- panorama all round.

We had a dog friendly room-excellent -no doggy wiffs at all!

Room had a wonderful view of Helm Crag

Staff friendly and helpful.

Rooms pleasant if a just little dated-beds very comfy.

Head waiter wore an oversized jacket and reappeared from time to time reeking of cigarette smoke-he must have been for a puff between serving. Not very nice when he was serving food.

Room Tip: Go on North side -well away from road-views of Helm Crag wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Good Afternoon Stephen S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive and positive and we share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your room and you found the staff friendly and helpful. i will be having a chat with the supervisor and we have ordered him a new jacket but we were thinking of putting him on a intense mussel or weight gain program do not know what would be cheaper.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just back from a two night break at the Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, our second stay in this hotel in four years.
Our party stayed in two Feature Rooms which were pleasant, roomy, well equipped and spotless. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms fresh and clean. It is worthwhile paying the extra for a Feature Room. The Classic Rooms appear to be OK but be not quite up to this standard, for example if you want to take your dog with you you'll get a Classic Room. This is understandable and if we had a dog with us the Classic Room would be fine. The hotel is well situated for exploring the Lake District by car or walking.
The refurbished rooms are very nice.
The staff are pleasant and hard working, although the hotel could do with more staff, at times they appeared to be a bit stretched.
The bar is OK but perhaps a bit pricey.
The restaurant and the bar could do with a refurbishment, although the idea may be to give the place a feeling of tradition.
The meals in the restaurant are edible but left you with the feeling that they should have been better for the price. For example the French fries served to us were limp not crispy, the hand cut chips were moist, the accompanying vegetables were not drained properly and sat on about 3mm of hot water. The Whisky Cream sauce in the Haggis Neeps and Tatties tasted too strongly of mustard and not of Whisky. Not really big complaints but enough to leave you feeling slightly disappointed.
We would go back to the Swan Hotel but only if we can get a really good deal.

Room Tip: Go for a Feature Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danceginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Good Evening Danceginger,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and we share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We were pleased to welcome back and happy that you enjoyed the Feature rooms we agree they are spacious and very comfortable. Thank you for your feedback regarding the food in the restaurant this has been passed over to the Head Chef and Restaurant Manager to look at for the new menu and ensure that there is no repetition in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our second visit to the Swan and this time we stayed for four nights over the May half term week. The Swan is in a very good location, surrounded by fells and a short stroll into Grasmere. Our room was located at the rear of the hotel and had clearly not been refurbished but it was clean. You could unfortunately hear noise from the rooms above and around. It looked very tired and dated however it did have an excellent view from the window. Made use of the Drying Room for boots etc that was very useful. We ate in the bar on most evenings and there was a very good choice, something for everyone and a separate children's menu. It was also very tasty. and served quickly by friendly staff. There are so many walks to do from just outside the front door so no need to get in the car. We would stay again but in a different type of room.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a refurbished room towards the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeddytravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Good Evening Zeddytravels2,

Thank you for taking the time post you review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive and we share them with the whole of the team.

We were so pleased to welcome you back to the hotel and pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and enjoyed the new bar menu and service, we are continuing to update as we go along but if you contact me the next time you are staying w can look at an upgrade for you.

Look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We arrived for just the one night on Saturday, friendly welcome however it wasn't explained clearly enough why the receptionist wanted my credit card to 'hold' money until we left- even though I had paid for the stay and we weren't planning to use room service, so gave the card I used to pay for the hotel with(which I thought I had to AND also didn't have any funds on it) so was declined! This was actually very embarrassing as we had no clue what was asked and why this was asked- awkward! Didn't make the 'welcome' the best...

Room ok- we were at the back so a little dated and, but it is a very old hotel so we expected that. However- my boyfriend was left a box of chocolates and a birthday card- which was a nice touch :)

The gardens/view and service explain the price- however the facilities/hotel itself wasn't worth it (for me personally)

Breakfast was amazing! Enjoyed the buffet and really don't see what the previous reviewers are fussing about...

Staff were great- had an overall nice stay and would return but request to stay in another room

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucylovescocktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Good Morning Lucylovescocktails,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews, whether they are positive or constructive and we share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

I am disappointed the reason for the credit card details being taken, the reason for this is if you wanted to charge anything to your room then you could, I will discuss this with the reception team. The classic rooms at the rear hotel are in the process of being update; we do have Executive and Feature rooms at the front of the hotel which have been recently refurbished.
I do agree with you the views and staff are amazing as is the breakfast.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the future to the Swan and have the use of one of our Executive or Feature rooms.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely dog friendly Hotel in the Lake District. Staff so nice and helpful - set us up a table in one if the bars for breakfast and dinner so that our greyhound could stretch out while we ate. Room slightly tatty but understandable as dogs allowed in it. Food and service excellent.

Room Tip: We had a dog friendly room which was a bit tired and slightly tatty but understandable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vivien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Good Morning Vivien C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews, whether they are constructive or positive and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the food and the service, we do have a continuous improvement plan in place and we strive to decorate and update all our classic rooms in which dogs are allowed.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Spent a long week-end at the swan to do some hillwalking. First impressions is this is too 'posh' for a walker's hotel but it really is geared up for adventure holidays and we felt quite at home. The hotel is in a great location surrounded by mountains and the view from the outside bar area, breath taking.

Everything was of a high standard, food, accommodation, service. Particularly liked the drying room which guests could use to dry boots & jackets (which luckily we only needed to use once!). We ate in the bar and the food was good but a bit pricey for bar food.

We would definitely stay there again. It's a comfortable hotel to return to after a day in the hills.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becksterbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Good Evening Berksterbean,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere. We here at the hotel appreciate all our reviews whether they are constructive or positive and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis.

We agree with you that the views are stunning and so is the hotel, staff and food and also agree in the perfect location for all walkers seasoned or novices and able to get out and about from the bus stop opposite and leave your car and cares behind.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jason Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,672 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
740 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lancrigg
The Lancrigg
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £67 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing