We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service was 2nd to none, given the dreadful flooding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Service was 2nd to none, given the dreadful flooding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

We stayed here for two nights and immediately loved the Inn atmosphere, with a warm welcome on reception by the Manager who explained about the facilities and room etc without the falseness that you sometimes get from hotel reception staff, and made you feel that they genuinely cared about their customers. The room was lovely and clean with a massive bed, the bathroom was on the smaller side but perfectly functional. There was three areas of lounge, one with a fire as well as a bar and restaurant which were really nice to sit in.
However the special mention goes to Paul, John and Nicky who the next day had to deal with the terrible weather which flooded the entire area and meant that the hotel was cut off from the floods as the A road was shut in both directions, and admirably handled the stranded drivers that came in, ensuring that they were made comfortable and endeavoured to find them rooms. They looked after all the guests that were already in the hotel ensuring their safety, handing out coffee, settling guests and ensuring that we were all fed and watered while maintaing the highest and chirpest level of service I have ever experienced in a hotel. Although the break was spoiled by the horrendous weather this Inn is a gem, we got a really good deal and we will certainly be back to re-visit this area and this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fancycakefanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    414
    194
    66
    35
See reviews for
147
793
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

This is a very comfy and relaxing hotel, with three lounges and open fires. The bed is the best I have slept in and the staff were very attentive . My only complaint is the drinks are very pricey(£4.70 for a gin and tonic ) other that that I would recommend it as a relaxing break.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Babs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

loved everything about it and the food was out of this world and believe you me i have stayed in alot of places.the view and atmosphere was fantastic,everyone made are stay special and really knew the best places to visit was.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

From recent reviews by people who think the negative reviews are untrue, the hotel has apparently cleaned up its act after seeing those entries. Glad they improved, and that others had a lovely experience. It is a beautiful B&B with historic meaning; it welcomes pets--in fact village walkers & their dogs stop by the bar for a drink. Charming. Our room was beautiful and clean. The view of the fells is breathtaking. But you will walk into town--the hotel is on a noisy highway, not in Grasmere; Dove Cottage is even farther from this hotel. You must realize that, especially if you have a physicial disability. The food is only average and the service slow. Some of the staff were rude when we were there. Perhaps they have been re-trained or let go. But we won't return: we saw other hotels and B&B within Grasmere that we will look into. NOTE: Be sure you have plenty of British currency: Grasmere does not have ATMs.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwmsOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

I think I am going to give up reading TripAdvisor reviews, I had stayed at Macdonald Hotels before so didnt think twice about booking the Swan, then I read the reviews and wonder what I had let myself in for.

The reality is it is a lovely hotel, food was excellent, staff excellent, great position. It was nice to go to an "old fashioned" hotel with keys for doors and a meandering route to the room instead of the usual long corridors.

I understand some rooms still need redecorating but ours was fine, room 23

Lovely bar and reading room, short walk into Grasmere if you fancy a different restaurant but the food was excellent, it was packed every night we were there so locals are using it as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boomer-360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

An ideal base for exploring the South Lakes where you can relax,abandon the car if you wish and enjoy local walks.This was our second stay and the services experienced were consistently to a high standard,with very attentive reception and restaurant staff.There is an ongoing programme of room refurbishment,but all the common areas are now attractively furnished ,managing to combine the traditional coaching house history with modern finishes.If you are unlucky enough to have wet weather-there is a great drying room .Just a cautionary note- avoid the single bedrooms ,as these are very out dated;also some guests may wish to request the most accessible rooms to avoid lots of stairs and lengthy corridors.Guests have the bonus of free access to the leisure & spa facilities at their sister hotel The Old England in Bowness.


:

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbeyDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

The food in the restaurant is quite pricey. Unfortunately the £20 rib eye I ordered as medium was not just well done but also very charred. I could taste burnt meat with every Jarring bite, but it wasn't until I turned it over that I found the chef had attempted to hide has mistake by delivering it 'sunny side up'.

An establishment that sets such high pecuniary expectations of itself should not have let that piece of meat leave the kitchen. The chef should be thoroughly ashamed of such a school-boy error and to attempt such a neglectful cover up is nothing short of day-light robbery.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing