We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, relaxing, really enjoyable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
GreenLeadersBronze level
morecambe
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“comfortable, relaxing, really enjoyable.”
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Stayed 2 nights and was really impressed by the location friendleness of the staff and the quality of the food.Great place to unwind and dog friendly to, bedroom a good size and large comfortable bed.
All in all a really pleasent and enjoyable break, well done and thanks.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidpike56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    425
    196
    66
    35
See reviews for
152
813
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Enjoyed a lovely weekend at the Swan hotel. Was initialy disapointed with the rooms. The pictures on web site are very seductive which really dont live up to the actual rooms. The downstairs of hotel very nice and cosy with fires and comfortable chairs, but bedrooms do need to be refurbished.
All staff extreemly helpfull. The food is good quality "pub food" rather than fine dining. Breakfast was excellent.
Hotel in an ideal position. Would reconmend this hotel but it is more of a coutry inn rather than plush hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidilr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandrindod Wells, Wales
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We had not stayed at this lovely orginal "country inn" for some years:not since it had been taken over by Macdonald. We chose the Swan for our 4-day Xmas break because we knew the scenery is wonderful even from the hotel windows, and because it offered excellent value, being about £150 p.p. cheaper than the Borrowdale Hotel, which was our alternative choice. It helped that there was some 4 inches of snow, and the scenery was exceptionally beautiful, but the welcome given by the staff was also exceptional. The hotel was full for Christmas, but at no time did the the staff appear rushed, even though they must have been. The log fire roared in the big fireplace, and, since our last stay, the lounge and bar area had much improved with really comfotable seating. The boxing day outing (a small steamer on Coniston) was also managed well, inspite of extreme temperatures. Food for the stay was very good, with personal service, even at breakfast, so no over-cooked sausages or leathery bacon. Oh, and they still have the chair Worsdworth was supposed to sit in when he was a guest at this hostelry.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Right from check-in I was struck by the outstanding customer service at this hotel.
I had contacted the hotel to request a nice room as we were staying in the lakes to celebrate our engagement and I was not disappointed.
The room - 24 I think - was perfect. Clean and comfortable with the biggest bed ever and great pillows. We checked in late at night so the views were a lovely surprise in the morning. We had an unspoilt view the spectacluar peaks from our bed - what a treat!
The bar and lounge areas are lovely and cosy - the perfect spot to relax after a hard days walking. And the hotel itself is just 5 minutes from the village.
But the main thing that would draw me back to this hotel was the staff. The receptionist, Nikki, even gave us a lift to a restaurant we had booked on the night of check-in because it was cold!!
I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great base for a stay in a brilliant part of the country.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DN_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2009

We stayed at the Swan for our 10th Wedding anniversary weekend.. along with our dog.
The hotel is quite small but very friendly, nicely furnished and boasts open fires in most of the rooms downstairs. Staff are very friendly and we felt genuninely welcome with our dog. Dogs are allowed in the bar and lounge areas, but not in the restaurant, however dining in the bar next to the open fire was even better! For breakfast, staff laid a table for us in the bar so that the dog could settle with us and we didn't have to leave him in the room. Again... a nice open fire and the ability to enjoy views over the hills was lovely whilst eating our breakfast!
Meals at the hotel were very good and service was excellent. Our room was comfortable, nicely furnished and spotlessly clean.
Although the hotel is on the main road, it was very quiet at night.. so we slept very well. It's just a few minutes walk in to Grasmere itself.
We will definately be visiting again!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_chocoholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnchester
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Just finished a weekend break at the Swan in Grasmere, we have stayed quite happily at McDonald hotels before, but have to say that this was the nicest stay of them all. From the moment we checked in with Nicky at reception (what a welcome indeed!), most of the staff had the same attitude - smiling and very keen to help you.

Complement that with great room and good food and drink, what more do you need for a lovely weekend in the lakes.

Thanks again all, Eleanor

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ada1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

We stayed here for two nights and immediately loved the Inn atmosphere, with a warm welcome on reception by the Manager who explained about the facilities and room etc without the falseness that you sometimes get from hotel reception staff, and made you feel that they genuinely cared about their customers. The room was lovely and clean with a massive bed, the bathroom was on the smaller side but perfectly functional. There was three areas of lounge, one with a fire as well as a bar and restaurant which were really nice to sit in.
However the special mention goes to Paul, John and Nicky who the next day had to deal with the terrible weather which flooded the entire area and meant that the hotel was cut off from the floods as the A road was shut in both directions, and admirably handled the stranded drivers that came in, ensuring that they were made comfortable and endeavoured to find them rooms. They looked after all the guests that were already in the hotel ensuring their safety, handing out coffee, settling guests and ensuring that we were all fed and watered while maintaing the highest and chirpest level of service I have ever experienced in a hotel. Although the break was spoiled by the horrendous weather this Inn is a gem, we got a really good deal and we will certainly be back to re-visit this area and this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fancycakefanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
8.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan Hotel
Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing