We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rustic charm with completely relaxed atmosphere and service beyond the norm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Recently stayed at the MacDonald Swan Hotel Grasmere having booked a best available double room some month's earlier. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to probably to the best room in the hotel "Silver How". This gave views over the village onto Silver How panning around to Easdale, Helm Crag and Steel Fell. The room itself was very well appointed with all essentials down to basics like kettle, iron, ironing board, trouser press etc. The room had lovely period fireplace, four poster bed, comfortable arm chairs with annex to wardrobes and large bathroom to good standard. Best bit was the bed, incredibly comfortable with luxurious drapes and curtains of high quality. Also to note and most importantly in these modern times where some hotel chains have a room service down to seven minutes. The room was actually cleaned and serviced to a very high standard daily with absolutely no need to ask for anything.
Getting back to the rustic charm old world beams and real ales in the bar with spacious lounges period style lots of comfortable seating and character to the place.
Now to the serious bit the food, obviously optimised a well constructed menu to cater for most tastes, definitely mine. The 21 day cured Scottish beef swung it for me. Seriously fine dining at affordable prices when considering DBBB option. The food was too high quality, very well presented and to top resturant standards.
Most notably the sincerity and quality of the staff was the pinnacle, particularly the manager who's influence politeness and attention to detail filtered down to the rest of the staff.
Very enjoyable stay,

Mr B.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2010

We stayed at the Swan for two nights last weekend. We were a little unsure as to what we would find as we had read the reviews on TripAdvisor and were a little put off; however, how wrong we were. We had standard rooms, which were very comfortable with a good sized bathroom. The rooms are in need of general updating but everything was clean and in good working order. The public areas on the ground floor are very comfortable and welcoming, in fact it was very hard to leave the log fire to brave the inclement weather outside! The food was very good with a goof choice. The staff, especially Paul, the manager, the young man from Wigan and the cheery young receptionist were great. We had very funny chats with the Wiganer and Paul as we are from around the same area in the North. What a great sense of humour they both have. I can only speak about the rooms we stayed in but I would heartily recommend the hotel for its old world charm. its convenience to the Lakes' attractions and its very welcomming staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamboBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Having used Macdonalds Hotels and resorts over the past decade the the wife and I were both bemused at how the standard of accomadation is allowed to exist at The Swan Hotel Grasmere,all evidence suggests that the infrastructure is struggling to cope.
On more the one occasion we witnessed a member of staff being berated by his superior and soon after patronised,this practice is best achieved in private and not in view of paying guests,I believe patience was tested when too often menial requests and orders via the chain of command were misunderstood or ignored.The room standard was quite frankly horrible cracked bathroom tiles on walls ,loose and insecure floor tiles
Come on Macdonalds send your P R advisor to do a site survey/assesment.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank KLINGKLANG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We returned to the Swan after quite a few years to celebrate our anniversary. We had booked a feature room but were a little bit disappointed not to find the complimentary sherry waiting, as promised on the website. Whenever we had stayed in the hotel previously there had always been a decanter of sherry and some local gingerbread in the room, which was a nice touch. We do not usually drink sherry but had been looking forward to this anyway! We raised the issue with reception and we were told that the practice had stopped years ago and they were unaware of the information on the website.
Our room was very clean, a good size, nicely decorated and with a really comfortable four poster bed. It was a bit on the chilly side with inferior secondary double glazing and windows that really needed some attention. The windows could also have benefitted from net curtains as on more than one occasion we found ourselves looking into the eyes of passengers on double decker busses waiting at the road junction outside the hotel!
There were a few problems with the dining. The meals were very nice but unlike my husband, I did find the menu limiting in that it did not alter during our three night stay, no daily specials and even the soup of the day was repeated. On the first night I had asked for a really, really well done steak which was noted and highlighted by the waiter on the order. Unfortunately when it arrived it was the opposite with blood oozing from it. It was taken away and a new steak prepared, but my husband’s meal was not, hence we ended up eating our meals individually. I am not a particularly picky eater but on our last night, with nothing to choose from the menu, I asked for the chef to prepare me an alternative. This he did, and it was delicious.
On our anniversary we had breakfast in the room which was excellent although we had to ask for cutlery and condiments to be brought in.
Breakfast in the dining room was also excellent, with a good choice of fresh fruits, pastries and cereals and the cooked breakfast was delicious. However, on our last day, we requested a second pot of coffee but we knew it would never arrive.
We had the impression that there was no co-ordination of the waiting staff who were all very pleasant and working very hard, although they appeared to be stressed at times. There were long delays with the wine each night. We had to repeatedly enquire about it, and invariably it arrived as we were finishing our main course. It was mildly amusing to discover that on one night the couple on the table behind us had been repeatedly given a finger bowl which had been intended for my husband, resulting in a minor altercation between the waiting staff.
Apart from these minor problems we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Swan and do plan to return again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tedmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Stayed 2 nights and was really impressed by the location friendleness of the staff and the quality of the food.Great place to unwind and dog friendly to, bedroom a good size and large comfortable bed.
All in all a really pleasent and enjoyable break, well done and thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidpike56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Enjoyed a lovely weekend at the Swan hotel. Was initialy disapointed with the rooms. The pictures on web site are very seductive which really dont live up to the actual rooms. The downstairs of hotel very nice and cosy with fires and comfortable chairs, but bedrooms do need to be refurbished.
All staff extreemly helpfull. The food is good quality "pub food" rather than fine dining. Breakfast was excellent.
Hotel in an ideal position. Would reconmend this hotel but it is more of a coutry inn rather than plush hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidilr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We had not stayed at this lovely orginal "country inn" for some years:not since it had been taken over by Macdonald. We chose the Swan for our 4-day Xmas break because we knew the scenery is wonderful even from the hotel windows, and because it offered excellent value, being about £150 p.p. cheaper than the Borrowdale Hotel, which was our alternative choice. It helped that there was some 4 inches of snow, and the scenery was exceptionally beautiful, but the welcome given by the staff was also exceptional. The hotel was full for Christmas, but at no time did the the staff appear rushed, even though they must have been. The log fire roared in the big fireplace, and, since our last stay, the lounge and bar area had much improved with really comfotable seating. The boxing day outing (a small steamer on Coniston) was also managed well, inspite of extreme temperatures. Food for the stay was very good, with personal service, even at breakfast, so no over-cooked sausages or leathery bacon. Oh, and they still have the chair Worsdworth was supposed to sit in when he was a guest at this hostelry.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,499 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,221 reviews
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan Hotel

Address: The Swan Hotel Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £112 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Waggoner", Macdonald Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, our cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in our restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swan
Macdonald Swan Grasmere
Macdonald Swan Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing