We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,301)
Filter reviews
1,301 results
Traveller rating
501
463
223
75
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
501
463
223
75
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews feature room executive room lake district black pudding walkers bar night porter lovely hotel evening meal the general manager four poster bed cooked breakfast one night stay breakfast was excellent helm crag great weekend enjoyable stay short break
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,301 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

A lovely old hotel with friendly management and staff. There are dog friendly rooms as well as pet free rooms. The breakfast was tasty. The hotel is a 10 min walk from Grasmere but, one time we caught the local bus and it's only one stop.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Hubby booked this for us on a visit to Grasmere, he had booked an executive room, it was a large spacious room with a wardrobe, dressing table, sitting area, a huge bed big enough for 4 lol with super pillows and duvet, tv, tea & coffee making facilities, we had an iron and hairdryer, bathroom with bath and overhead shower and complimentary toiletries and thick fluffy towels .... Lovely.
We booked a table for dinner and had a drink in the bar beforehand, you can either eat in the bar or in the restaurant, the menu is the same I believe but you have to book in advance for the restaurant.
We were seated for our meal by a lovely young waiter who gave us menus and asked if we,d like drinks when he came back we placed our orders I opted for the beer battered fish with handcut chips crushed peas & tartare sauce, hubby had the beef and ale pie with garlic mash & cabbage the meals were about £15 each quite reasonable for the portion all food is well cooked & presented after our mains we had puddings,hubby had sticky toffee pud and ice cream and i had the rhubarb crumble and custard both were divine and worth the £6 each i could not find fault with the service or food, there is a good choice of dishes and they have a specials offer,we paid our bill and had an after dinner drink in the bar lounge in front of a burning fire which was lovely on a chilly wet night.
We both slept well in the room which was quiet and cosy with the heating on.
Breakfast is 8 to 10.30 we went down about 9am we were seated by the same young waiter as the night before he explained how breakfast worked it was quite a lot busier than the night before but staff were efficient and checked you had everything you needed, tummies filled we returned to our room to prepare to leave.
I really enjoyed my stay here the place is lovely with a mixed clientele I would stay here again hopefully for longer.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julieann1kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony O, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear juileann1kitten
thank you fro your review following your recent stay with us here at the Swan.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us (although too short) and we all hope to see you again soon
I have passed your comments onto the whole team who wish you both well
regards
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Lovely old coaching inn, very quirky and quaint. Lovely bedding and beautiful towels. Staff very helpful, bar snacks were good, although staff in kitchen didn't read orders correctly, bit of a fiasco.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

I visited this hotel for a relaxing break!! That is exactly what I got, all of the staff where friendly and approachable and nothing was too much trouble. My room was spotless and the breakfast was very extensive with all fresh locally sourced produce, it was very good value for money. I would recommend a stay in this charming hotel to anyone and will definitely return in the near future, thank you for an enjoyable stay. This hotel has no spa or swimming pool but you can use the facilities at their sister hotel in Windermere ( The Old England Hotel ) which is a short bus journey away, if you do not have access to a car.

Room Tip: Best views at side and front of property.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank loz673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony O, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear loz673
thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at the Swan.
I have passed on your comments to the whole team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
regards
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Excellent Hotel fabulous bedrooms greatly staff and wonderful meal experience in the hotel restaurant . Great variety of food and drink. Ample free parking too. Staff very professional and helpful to the hotel guests.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Albert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony O, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear Albert N
thank you for your review following your stay with us at the Swan.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon
regards
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews