We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hostel”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Good hostel - old building with a nice feel, nice and clean, showers and bedrooms of good hostel quality - enough space in the dorms, good breakfast, helpful staff, will serve teas and coffees during the day while we were there. Drying room good. Good location in middle of Grasmere. Parking - not enough spaces for all guests - so 50:50 you will have to drop off and park elsewhere eg park in pay car park in village (5 mins away) or on the road outside the village (about 10mins).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    81
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
56
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had a 3 night break here before Easter, with our two children, age 3 and 5. The room was smaller than we'd anticipated but it was clean, warm and quiet. We ate in on two evenings and the food was excellent and the catering staff really friendly. The dining-room in the main hostel is really lovely with great views over the grounds and to Grasmere beyond. The self-catering kitchen was slightly cramped and it was particularly busy at breakfast time although the self-catering dining-room was very pleasant. One slight gripe was that the activities room which seemed well-stocked with jigsaws and board games seemed unavailable due to a group booking so our two couldn't take advantage of this. However, overall we were really impressed and will definitely consider coming to this Youth Hostel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CFA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Beautiful YHA, well set up for cycling. Bike shed has wall mounted bike stand to do bike repairs. There is a hosepipe to wash the mud off your bike. The drying room was very warm and very roomy. The YH is only a short walk from Grasmere centre, the staff were very friendly and the surroundings were stunning- even a deer was spotted on the drive!
Road and mountain bike routes are straight from the door. We cycled to Ambleside one day and up Kirkston pass via "the Struggle" and cycled Wrynose pass the second day. Weather was fantastic for early March!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tübingen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed here for three nights on our trip to the lake district, and couldn't have imagined being anywhere else. The service was outstanding--everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, and it was always easy to find someone to ask a question or get a piece of information about the area. The prices were also extremely reasonable, and my friend and I shared an entire dorm room to ourselves on the weeknights, when most other guests (families, at this time of year) had gone home for work and school. There is also the option to eat breakfast and dinner here (they offer pack lunches, too), and the food was absolutely delicious! Breakfast is a buffet-style traditional English meal, and they also offer cereals, fruit, toast, etc. Dinner has the option of 1-3 courses, and they prepare it for you at a time of your choice during their dinner hours. I don't know who designed the menu, but if we weren't students traveling on an extremely tight budget, we would have eat all of our dinners there instead of just two.The hostel is neat, clean, and has lots of great space to sit on couches in front of the fire or enjoy the view (and some grazing deer) through a big bay window. I would absolutely recommend YHA Grasmere to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This was the first time I have staying in a hostel since I was a child and I am wondering why I left it so long! Travelled for 3 nights with my husband and two children (aged 1 and 3) on the family feast deal and we all had a fantastic time at an amazing price. The room was clean with comfy beds, the showers and toilets plentiful and located close to the rooms, the staff extremely friendly and helpful and the lounges and games/family rooms a great bonus. As well as the evening family feast meal which was absolutely delicious on all 3 evenings, we also sampled the breakfasts and the packed lunch. The breakfast was far superior to many we have had before at hotels and B&B's and there was a great selection including a full cooked breakfast, croissants and pain au chocolat along with the usual cereals, fresh fruit, toast and yogurts. The packed lunch I will admit was a little disappointing as my egg mayo sandwich was squashed beyond recognition, my apple was all wrinkled and rubbery and the cake (expecting something homemade as with the rest of the excellent quality food) was a very tiny pre-packed, long life madeira slice. But I would imagine these are normally taken up by walkers and would be a very welcome lunch high up on a mountain as the price is very reasonable £5.50 for a standard size which includes sandwich, crisps, cereal bar, cake, fruit and a bottle of water.
The only other slight gripe is that there were no facilities for making up/warming bottles in the early hours as the self-catering kitchen closes at 11 pm at night and doesn’t open till 7 in the morning which for those of you with very young children will realise is not early enough. A kettle and microwave located somewhere in the main building, maybe in a safe place in the family room would be very much welcomed but this would certainly not put me off returning in the future. In fact I am already planning a trip back with friends and can't wait!!

Room Tip: Take a baby monitor if you are travelling with young ones then once they are in bed you can leave th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Great rest and recovery after a long day on the hills, setting us for the next one - comfortable bed, hot powerful shower, great evening meal and beer, a roaring fire and cheerfull hlpeful staff, perfect

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Recently went to Grasmere with some friends for a bit of winter walking. It's some years since I have been there. Its a beautiful place in wonderful surroundings. First reaction is that the staff are both friendly and efficient, but perhaps the biggest plus since I last went there is the quality of the food with a really good selection of bottled beers.
Quality at a budget price

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
1.6 mi away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
6.4 mi away
YHA Coniston Holly How
YHA Coniston Holly How
#4 of 9 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.9 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 23 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe

Property: YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Address: Butharlyp How Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the beautiful Lakeland village of Grasmere, this Victorian mansion features fabulous views of the surrounding fells and valleys. Guests can enjoy the restaurant and relaxing TV lounge. Dove Cottage, the home of William Wordsworth, is just 15 minutes’ walk away from YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe. The shores of Grasmere Lake are just 15 minutes away on foot and the surrounding fells contain numerous scenic walking trails. Grasmere village is just a 10-minute walk away. Home-cooked meals are available in YHA Grasmere’s restaurant, while guests can also cook within the self-catering kitchen and make use of the dining room. There is also a cafe on-site and a small shop for guests. The majority of rooms at YHA Grasmere’s contain bunk beds. Guests are able to relax in spacious, lovely grounds, whilst there is also a games room and Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing