We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Nearby Hotels
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Travellers Rest Inn(Grasmere)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$131
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
145
91
28
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
91
28
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchenyouth hostelmain buildinggames roombunk bedsseparate buildingperson roomfemale dormexcellent drying roomlake districtco opfamily roomwalking weekendpacked lunchfantastic locationshort walkbeautiful setting
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our first backpacker experience and far exceeded our expectations. This place is great value, the room was fantastic, the bed was comfortable and the linen freshly laundered. The staff were more than helpful and you could purchase lots of extras from them if you needed such as soaps and washing powder. They also offered breakfast and dinner for great prices. The town has to be seen to be believed as it was so beautiful. Great walks and unforgettable scenery. Would recommend this hostel very highly!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Having spent two nights in a 'country house' bed and breakfast and a disproportionate amount of money it was a complete delight to stay at Butharlyp Howe. Unpretentious, we expected cheap clean bedding and fairly comfortable beds, hot showers - and that's what we got. What we didn't expect was a fabulous dinner and a breakfast that knocked spots off what our previous accommodation had offered. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and the sitting room light and comfortable. A small library was well stocked and there were interesting magazines available to read. There is a separate television room which also houses a computer for those wishing to use the internet. As I took a photograph of the amazing breakfast menu a lady approached me to say that she was really impressed with the staff at this hostel and also had a poor experience of Guest Houses in the Lake District. The comparison is quite startling. Well done you guys.

Room Tip: Couples rooms are very comfortable. The family rooms in the cottage are en-suite and self-catered or you can order breakfast at the main house.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilyandfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed here for four nights and was very comfortable. About £80 including breakfasts. My room slept 8 and was clean and spacious with enough cupboard space for all my stuff; toilets a bit smelly but showers were clean and modern; staff friendly and helpful; breakfast cheap and cheerful and suitable for a veggie; self-catering facilities good; didn't sample evening meals but they sell bottled beers, spirits and teas and coffee at reception. Large play area outside with tables and chairs. Car park holds about 10-15 although not certain of this. 5 minute walk into the centre of Grasmere. Restaurants a bit pricy but there is a small Coop within walking distance of the hostel for reasonably priced groceries. Nice lounge with a couple of sofas and several comfy chairs with a small library if you've got nothing to read. Didn't check out TV and reading room. Games room has a pool table and a couple of chairs. Next to this is the laundry and drying room which is quite big and dried my boots and clothes overnight very well. A great place to stay for one or a couple of nights. Grasmere and the surrounding area is absolutely great, especially the lake which you can swim in and hire rowing boats. It's about an hours walk into Ambleside which is lovely town with a few more shops and services.

Room Tip: Room 4 was where I slept. It slept 8 and was clean and spacious with two sinks and a large cupboard which can be locked if you have a padlock. Padlocks can be bought from reception as can soap, shampoo etc.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Despite an incredibly loud snorer our first night, the staff was so helpful in letting us switch rooms, giving us walking directions, providing us room in their freezer, and giving me an ice pack for an injury. Good breakfast, beds, facilities, property, although a little cramped in the 8 person female dorm storage wise. Shout out to staff member who gave us directions up silver how and reminded us of Anna from Downton Abbey!

Room Tip: Go for four person room as a female. Closer to bathrooms and less of a chance of horrible scorers.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed as a group
Staff very helpful rooms clean
Exellent location and everything you need for a great walking holiday
Easy to get around even if you dont have a car
Great stay thank you to the staff your all so helpful

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews