We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply loved the place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Little Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Just returned from a 5 days' stay at Ash Cottage. When I was shown my room, it was love at first sight for me! Furnished with taste, comfortable, clean; everything one can wish for. Modern and well equippped bathroom. Very good quality for money. As a solo traveller it is not always easy to find pleasant accommodation, and I am very, very, very particular about rooms..... ! Barry and his staff are the nicest hosts you can imagine and will do everything to make you feel at home. Freshly prepared full English breakfast (no greasy stuff!), proper toast - all one can wish for! I do not know about the restaurant, but while staying there, I had 4 bar meals, and they were all very tasty indeed. It is especially rewarding to sit on the terrace with a glass of wine in front of you, with the last rays of sunshine in your face, while the terrace opposite is already dark and cold! Ash Cottage and Grasmere are my personal "Rivendell" and I greatly miss it! Carla

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cdeut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for The Little Inn at Grasmere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2010

We did not stay at this hotel,We stayed at Beck & Allens Guest house. but we had a drink in the afternoon Thursday 28/10/2010. We met Barry the owner and had a drink with him, he was fantastic company ,We went back for a evening meal on the Friday after it was recomended by Ian & Christene the owners of the guest house.
We went and both had a lovely meals.

Benjy Liverpool

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benjyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Ignore any bad reviews Ashcottage in our opinion is by far the best hotel in Grasmere, (we have stayed in several over the years) top quality furnishings, spotless rooms with sparkling white bed linen, mouth watering food and helpful friendly staff. This hotel has everything for a relaxing getaway we have stayed here 4 times now and will definatly keep going back. The restaurant has a great vibe on an evening with live music on at the weekend. We always book 5 star hotels so are used to a high standard of service and Ashcottage hotel exceeds our expectations everytime we stay, if you like top quality hotels, great hosting, lively yet relaxing atmospheres you wont be dissapionted. By far our top UK getaway yet!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissHiltonDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Have Read the other reviews on here and would disagree with them on the food and the atmosphere. The food we had was brought out quickly was hot and fresh and we thoroughly enjoyed it the waiter was friendly, and we especially enjoyed the entertainment we will return soon, although we didnt stay in the hotel we wished we had, as our hotel did not live up to expectations. next visit to grasmere we will book this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D5vch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I must be honest that we didn't stay here, but rather just had an evening meal. I normally wouldn't write a review for a place just after eating ,but I feel I must to avoid anyone else wasting their money.

As a few other reviewers have said, the food seemed either like re-heated frozen or just microwaved. The service was almost Fawlty Towers-like with us not seeing the waiter once we had been served: no offer of further food, drinks or desert.

Nearly all the other restaurants in the area were full and had long waits, except this one which was empty. Should have guessed why!

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank world_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Lovely surroundings, perfect hotel, room immaculate, food fresh, Barry is the most trusting and genuine person you could meet.. Barry just told us to help ourselves and leave a note if we woke during the night and felt peckish!! ; and as I am a diabetic this was actually necessary. Cannot wait to go again for a perfect break and wind down. Thanks Barry. from Terry and Karen (Liverpool)

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvialiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Three of us stayed in ash cottage for 3 nights at the start of july, We enjoyed the comfort of our rooms - really nice beds and comfy pillows. The rooms had everything we needed with plenty of towels left in every day. Breakfast was of a good standard and very generous portions. The staff were helpful and Barry was a great host. The B&B was clean which is eveything and we hope to return to grasmere and stay in ash cottage again as its rates are very competitive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotlyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Inn at Grasmere

Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly Ash Cottage Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £89 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Little Inn at Grasmere, sister of the Grasmere Red Lion Hotel. Set in the Heart of Grasmere, The Little Inn at Grasmere Hotel enjoys the most outstanding & breath-taking views of the ever changing surrounding landscapes. We offer superior accommodation & full use of all of our sister Hotel, the Grasmere Red Lion Hotel's, facilities directly opposite. The Little Inn is the perfect local to be able to explore nature's outstanding beauty & central to the rest of the Lake District. Grasmere is Cumbria's most popular Village and the The Little Inn at Grasmere Hotel is set in the centre, bringing you into a haven of peace & tranquillity. Dine as the fancy takes you... our Courtyard Restaurant serves the pick of the Lake District Larder. For local ales and tasty bar meals nip next door to the snug Lamb Inn, our traditional village pub, the only one in the village. The Glass House conservatory bar, café & restaurant provides great food with beautiful views, or enjoy our traditional bar meals from The Little Inn itself. You will be spoilt for choice. At our luxury Lakeland hotel we provide you with all you could wish for, richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, two large outdoor seating areas to relax after a wonderful day's walk and friendly service to bring you refreshment while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. Boasting a gorgeous indoor heated pool, enjoy a morning dip before breakfast or a gentle early evening swim, between hiking the great outdoors and sitting down to dinner. If on the other hand your visit is of a business nature, we offer you the space and time to think in a completely fresh setting. Here at the Ash Cottage Hotel & Grasmere Red Lion Hotel you can get away from the everyday routine and enjoy a different view of conferencing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Little Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Cottage Grasmere
The Little Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing