We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 'boutique' hotel fabulous food atmosphere and staff better than 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Little Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing 'boutique' hotel fabulous food atmosphere and staff better than 5 star”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Ignore any bad reviews Ashcottage in our opinion is by far the best hotel in Grasmere, (we have stayed in several over the years) top quality furnishings, spotless rooms with sparkling white bed linen, mouth watering food and helpful friendly staff. This hotel has everything for a relaxing getaway we have stayed here 4 times now and will definatly keep going back. The restaurant has a great vibe on an evening with live music on at the weekend. We always book 5 star hotels so are used to a high standard of service and Ashcottage hotel exceeds our expectations everytime we stay, if you like top quality hotels, great hosting, lively yet relaxing atmospheres you wont be dissapionted. By far our top UK getaway yet!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissHiltonDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    28
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Have Read the other reviews on here and would disagree with them on the food and the atmosphere. The food we had was brought out quickly was hot and fresh and we thoroughly enjoyed it the waiter was friendly, and we especially enjoyed the entertainment we will return soon, although we didnt stay in the hotel we wished we had, as our hotel did not live up to expectations. next visit to grasmere we will book this hotel

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D5vch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I must be honest that we didn't stay here, but rather just had an evening meal. I normally wouldn't write a review for a place just after eating ,but I feel I must to avoid anyone else wasting their money.

As a few other reviewers have said, the food seemed either like re-heated frozen or just microwaved. The service was almost Fawlty Towers-like with us not seeing the waiter once we had been served: no offer of further food, drinks or desert.

Nearly all the other restaurants in the area were full and had long waits, except this one which was empty. Should have guessed why!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank world_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Lovely surroundings, perfect hotel, room immaculate, food fresh, Barry is the most trusting and genuine person you could meet.. Barry just told us to help ourselves and leave a note if we woke during the night and felt peckish!! ; and as I am a diabetic this was actually necessary. Cannot wait to go again for a perfect break and wind down. Thanks Barry. from Terry and Karen (Liverpool)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvialiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Three of us stayed in ash cottage for 3 nights at the start of july, We enjoyed the comfort of our rooms - really nice beds and comfy pillows. The rooms had everything we needed with plenty of towels left in every day. Breakfast was of a good standard and very generous portions. The staff were helpful and Barry was a great host. The B&B was clean which is eveything and we hope to return to grasmere and stay in ash cottage again as its rates are very competitive.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotlyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

A group of us were staying overnight in Grasmere while doing the Coast to Coast walk. After looking at a few places we chose Ash Cottage for our evening meal. Food and service were excellent, staff were friendly and we had a great evening. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotslass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

I dont think this place knows what it wants to be - a hotel, a bar, a restaurant, a coffee shop and that atmosphere speaks volumes over the entire place. We had the misfortune of staying here for 2 nights and I couldnt wait to go home. The original room we were allocated to had no windows so we moved rooms. The room was ok however you had lovely Moulton Brown soaps sat alongside cheap and nasty shampoo and showergel. It just didnt match? Our room had a DVD player and flat screen and the bed was large and comfortable but the floor could have done with a really good hoover. its never nice to see other peoples hair on the bathroom floor. The bathroom was adequate but very cold with a tiled floor and no radiator.

I completely agree with the other comments that the food is like from Iceland. We ate in the restaurant and were the only ones on a Friday night. We ordered Paella and was served savoury rice and it was definately not home cooked. We also ordered Cheese & Biscuits are we were given a plate of process cheese which we didnt eat all of it and told the waiter that we were not impressed. Can I suggest that the owner takes a fiver out of the till and pop across to the Lamb to see what cheese & biscuits really mean!

Breakfast is a very strange affair. In your room guide you are told what time breakfast is served and what you will eat. Its at 8.30 and its a full cooked breakfast. I have never like discipline on my holidays so we didnt bother and chose to have breakfast down the road where we had a choice on what we wanted to eat and at what time!

Grasmere is a honey pot where most bars, pubs, cafes, restaurants and hotels are full for most months of the year but this place is dead. On a saturday night there was not a sole in the bar yet across the road the place was burtsting at the rafters and it was standing room only. The bar area/ lounge area/coffee shop looks like a nightclub with black leather sofas despite them being quite comfortable.

I dont think this place has a clue on what it wants to be. I saw lots of coffee shop signs but I didnt see a coffee shop. I am not even sure if there was one. I would never stay here again even if someone paid me and it pains me to hand over my hard earned cash to a poorly management property like this. I could be so much more.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Littlemurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
719 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Little Inn at Grasmere
Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly Ash Cottage Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Little Inn at Grasmere, sister of the Grasmere Red Lion Hotel. Set in the Heart of Grasmere, The Little Inn at Grasmere Hotel enjoys the most outstanding & breath-taking views of the ever changing surrounding landscapes. We offer superior accommodation & full use of all of our sister Hotel, the Grasmere Red Lion Hotel's, facilities directly opposite. The Little Inn is the perfect local to be able to explore nature's outstanding beauty & central to the rest of the Lake District. Grasmere is Cumbria's most popular Village and the The Little Inn at Grasmere Hotel is set in the centre, bringing you into a haven of peace & tranquillity. Dine as the fancy takes you... our Courtyard Restaurant serves the pick of the Lake District Larder. For local ales and tasty bar meals nip next door to the snug Lamb Inn, our traditional village pub, the only one in the village. The Glass House conservatory bar, café & restaurant provides great food with beautiful views, or enjoy our traditional bar meals from The Little Inn itself. You will be spoilt for choice. At our luxury Lakeland hotel we provide you with all you could wish for, richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, two large outdoor seating areas to relax after a wonderful day's walk and friendly service to bring you refreshment while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. Boasting a gorgeous indoor heated pool, enjoy a morning dip before breakfast or a gentle early evening swim, between hiking the great outdoors and sitting down to dinner. If on the other hand your visit is of a business nature, we offer you the space and time to think in a completely fresh setting. Here at the Ash Cottage Hotel & Grasmere Red Lion Hotel you can get away from the everyday routine and enjoy a different view of conferencing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Little Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Cottage Grasmere
The Little Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing