We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst places I have stayed(Hotel or Hostel ? )”
Review of Moss Grove Organic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moss Grove Organic
Ranked #6 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

First the good: The room was very well decorated,fitted out,comfortable and clean.But what's the point of paying lots of money if you have to go to bed wearing fleeces etc. The heating goes off in the middle of the night.There is very limited parking.You either end up blocking or being blocked in(very restfull). Breakfast:Whilst the food was excellent you have to share a table just like a youth hostel and carry your tray back to the kitchen.Overall what should have been a brilliant couple of days we got little sleep,and poor service(the place shuts down at 9pm)There are a lot better places to stay for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peearnoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night
With my boyfriend
When we arrived the electric had gone off
We were advised that it would return
When we got to our room
We were very pleased as lights were on .but what was more impressive was the bed. It was huge and very high from the floor.
The bathroom had under floor heating..large shower and separate bath.
Breakfast there was loads to chose from. Friendly polite staff very welcoming. Can't wait to go again ..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great location in the centre of the village,helpfully staff. The room exceeded our expectations being very large and superbly finished, great bathroom with underfloor heating, large shower an jacuzzi bath

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room and negotiate room 10 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Moss Grove Organic, and once again we had a wonderful stay.
One of the things we like best is the delicious buffet breakfast. The 'help yourself breakfast' consists of a lovely variety of 'tapas style' organic dishes, as well as sliced ham, eggs, cheese, yummy Cumberland sausage, and many more things, there really is plenty to choose from !
Each time we've stayed we've had a different room, and they have all been charming with beautifully appointed bathrooms.
The staff are always friendly and helpful, and we can't wait to return again in the summer !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights on Valentines weekend. The initial welcome was very inviting and hospitable as we were shown around the hotel and more specifically to our room. The room was clean and we had a great bathroom with whirlpool bath. The attraction for me to book this hotel was the fact they accepted dogs which for us was a necessity. The reality is that this is not a hotel, it's a guest house. One can't order room service, can't have a coffee in the lounge area, there is no bar area. The breakfast was unbelievable I truly couldn't believe that it was so poor for the price we paid. I requested some bacon and poached eggs but was told it was ' buffet as laid out'. Day 2 we skipped the Buffett and paid £22.00 around the corner at Greens Cafe and had a wonderful cooked breakfast to set us up for the day. The hotel staff did recommend a brilliant restaurant to us named JUMBLES in Grasmere, this was a superb recommendation which resulted in one of the best meals in idyllic surroundings we have ever experienced. Sadly although we will return to Grasmere it won't be to the 'organic' Moss Grove.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had a really lovely time at Moss Grove. Initially we booked then read trip advisor and was really put off by the reviews. So when we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised. The welcome was friendly, the room was spotless, the hot tub was just lovely except it is very overlooked. The pure lakes products in the room was nice, we really liked the organic status of literally everything. Breakfast was my biggest anticipation I must say its one of the BEST I've had. A great vegetarian variety for me all tasty, organic and fresh. We paid £180 for a night in the hot tub suite I would say it was over priced but I know if you phone a deal can be negotiated.

You can hear the front door and people above if there running around or having a good "giggle" but it didn't keep us awake. Maybe not suitable for the light sleeper. We would love to go back again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the loaction perfect and the rooms well appointed and clean. On one of the nights we were woken a few times by a dog in a neighbouring room, not a massive problem as we have dogs ourselves and are used to it. However that may have bothered some people.

Staff were very friendly and seemed to always be on hand to advise on resturants and the local area.

We found the breakfast area (just a lounge area) and the breakfasts poor. This is probably a personal preference rather than there being something wrong. Hams, cheeses and fresh fruit, hence the organic title, but just not to our liking, and not a great selection of an alternative. The eating area was just a lounge with sofas and apart from one table its a case of eating from your laps.

Whilst we found the hotel comfortable and clean, and the staff very friendly, we would try an alternative hotel in the future for more of a hotel experience rather than a bed and breakfast feel. Expensive at nearly £300-00 for two nights and as a result we would expect more value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moss Grove Organic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Grove Organic

Address: 591 Off a, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: £95 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moss Grove Organic 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Good 39 guest reviews "Great hotel. Stayed in number 7 which had a super King bed and Jacuzzi bath. Couldn't fault it! One of the best hotels I've stayed in! Organ..." A Reid "Could be signposted or have better website directions as missed it first time but great place to stay- room excellent , owner lovely, would..." David R "Very good. We booked room 2. Jacuzzi was nice but there were strawberry tops on floor outside and marks in bath...." M Salt "A lovely clean modern hotel. Lovely room but didn't enjoy the buffet style breakfast. I would have rather had a full English...." Graeme P "Beautifully presented, well looked after, delicious breakfast. 5*..." kally a "Great hotel. Stayed in number 7 which had a super King bed and Jacuzzi bath. Couldn't fault it! One of the best hotels I've stayed in! Organ..." A Reid "Could be signposted or have better website directions as missed it first time but great place to stay- room excellent , owner lovely, would..." David R Previous Next About the property The Moss Grove Organic offers 5-star guest accommodation. Each of the individually designed bedrooms are unique in character, shape, design and ambience. All sharing a relaxed and totally natural style with a range of sustainable features. Each bedroom has a flat-screen TV and Bose Entertainment system with a DVD library available and free WI-FI throughout the property. The modern and sleek bathrooms have a Jacuzzi spa bath, under floor heating and organic toiletries. The Award winning Mediterranean style buffet breakfast is served in the country kitchen including an extensive selection of organic, local and fair-trade produce. With a range of cereals, local Cumberland sausage, home made breads, cheeses, crostinis, ham and tapas dishes so you can be sure of a most delicious and nutritious start to your day. Ideally situated in the heart of the Lake District in Grasmere village centre. Just over 500 metres from Grasmere Lake. The popular Lake District town Ambleside is just 4 miles to the South and 12 miles to the North is Keswick. Free on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Moss Grove Organic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moss Grove Organic Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing