We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky West Australians” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake View Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake View Country House
Ranked #1 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lucky West Australians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

It was extremely important to us to rave on about the fantastic time we had at Lake View Country House. Michelle who managers her own establishment is a total delight and made our stay very special. We finally meet Steve and he was a positive guy who was a bundle of information. The whole experience will be treasured by my wife and I, we felt so at home in the warm, inviting accommodation, superb breakfasts, a lot of laughs and The Lakes District is like visiting Alice in Wonderland. The view from our window was similar to an oil painting.......what a wonderful memory for both of us.....

Room Tip: We stayed in the self catering accommodation on second floor overlooking the lake..wow
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michk, Owner at Lake View Country House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I don't know about Lucky Australians,more like I am lucky us to meet you,what lovely people you are.
It's a real pleasure to be able to make your holiday a little more enjoyable and it's lovely to be remembered by you when you're so far away.
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments,especially when you must have such alot to do on your return
As I said,I doubt that I'll get to Australia again,given our last disastrous trip so we'll have to hope that you come back to England to meet you again.

Michelle and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    34
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
206
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We just had a long weekend at Lake View escaping the bright lights of London. We had an absolutely fabulous time. Steve showed us some great walks as we are novices, and Michelle and Esta make a breakfast to die for. Our rooms were spotless and warm, the power shower was very welcome after getting drenched! We ate at hotel which our hosts recommended, and which was delicious and they even whipped up something special for a veggie option.

All round brilliant time, can't wait to go again.... And yes, we saw the badgers too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBridgman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michk, Owner at Lake View Country House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks for the kind words about your stay with us. So glad that enjoyed your walks around Grasmere,its so beautifu that it's hard not to like it even if you're not harden walkers.
I hope that you leave the bright lights of London again soon and return to see us .
Michelle and Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We wanted to book an autumnal weekend away in the Lakes to grab some fresh air and enjoy some blustery walks. Some good friends recommended Lake View and we certainly weren't disappointed!

Arriving late at night on the Friday the comfy bed provided in our room was exactly what we needed after a long journey from London. Waking before midday on the weekend is not something i usually go in for, but Michelle's lovely cooked breakfast certainly made it worth it! We feasted on sausages, bacon etc and were looked after splendidly by Esther. It certainly prepared us for the long walk around the Lakes that Steve kindly recommended.

Having completed our walk we returned to the house for an afternoon snooze, and the bedroom and bathroom were left immaculately clean for us to mess-up again!

A lovely dinner out in the village, again thanks to Steve's recommendation, saw us return to the B&B for around 11ish. As we got back, we were lucky enough to see some of the badgers from the set in the front garden grabbing a late night feast very close to the house.

The Sunday was a carbon copy of the Saturday, except the weather came-in a we got to experience true Lakes rain - sideways and lots of it!!

All in all we had a fantastic weekend and can't wait to book again in the new year.

Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michk, Owner at Lake View Country House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your 1st visit to Lake View,and we were able to
impress you with the wonderful scenery around grasmere,even with the rain which I'm glad hasn't put you off wanting to come back.
Loook forward to seeing you again
Michelle and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just completed a four night break at Lake View and as on many previous occasions thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We feel like it is 'home from home'.
The room was extremely comfortable and there were lots of little extras. Large choice at breakfast all cooked beautifully.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michk, Owner at Lake View Country House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you Paul for your review. It's so lovely to see you and Christine year after year,it's also like welcoming friends back.

We hope to that you keep enjoying your stays in the future.
Michelle and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights on the way back from Scotland and we could not have chosen a more relaxing and welcoming Guest House. From the very start Michelle welcomed us warmly and even offered us weary travellers a much needed cup of tea whilst we unloaded the cases.
The breakfast selection was varied with fruit and cereal and a cooked breakfast which was of a high standard. We needed to print off some important paper work whist visiting and again all stops were pulled out to help us out. The cosy suite we had was nicely decorated with a modern en suite bathroom and a lounge area. After leaving we felt like we had just visited friends..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfoodwinefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michk, Owner at Lake View Country House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we too felt like it was having friends to stay,it's a real bonus that we get paid as well !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here last month for 4 nights to celebrate a milestone wedding anniversary in a village that we have loved for years. Michelle's warm welcome on arrival with tea and biscuits was just the start of a delightful stay. Our room, which overlooked the garden and beyond to the lake, was very comfortable with every need anticipated - even to the point of Steradent tablets in the bathroom! We had our own small fridge (thoughtfully of wine bottle capacity) for which Michelle supplied fresh milk each evening for our pre-breakfast cuppa. Only downside of this was the constant sound of the fridge motor during the night which disturbed our sleep on night one, so led us to switch it off for those hours thereafter.

Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful with Michelle and Esther in attendance - not to forget Brock (gorgeous black spaniel) who looked longingly at our feasts with irresistible eyes, but never took advantage. On the day of our anniversary, Michelle even adorned our breakfast toast rack with a celebratory candle! What a lovely gesture.

We didn't get to see the badgers whose sett is in the garden, but we did see plenty of the white rabbit (really). All in all a lovely place to stay; we'll have no hesitation in returning to Lake View in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieAgnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michk, Owner at Lake View Country House, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for the generous comments you have written. We're sorry about the noise of the fridge,but its difficult to find a small one that caters for bottles and these days everything you buy has to be online which means you can't try them out. Do hope it wasn't too noisy.
Unfortunately,I haven't seen the white rabbit recenlty but plenty of badgers still.

Brock sends his love and looks forward to seeing you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel in June of this year for 2 nights whilst attending a nearby wedding. Immediately I was delighted by the warm welcome from the hosts and loved the room I stayed in, which was the Ivory Room. Sumptious decor with a definite Indian feel to it, it was just perfect for me and would have been equally as roomy for a couple. The lovely host even suggested I could use storage space outside my room if needed for all my wedding attire! The bed was comfy and I slept soundly. The breakfast :- what can I say? One of the nicest full English I have ever had. Plentiful, fresh and piping hot. I sat in a sunny window and watched the ducks on the little garden pond outside. I could have sat there all day! I will definitely be returning to this little gem and next time I will return with my other half. Thank you both for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoulovesZante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michk, Owner at Lake View Country House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your time here and thanks for putting your review,sometimes there's always so much to do when you get back from your holiday,its the last thing you feel like doing ,so thanks for doing it now.
I am glad you liked the Ivory Room decor ,its my homage to elephants.We try our utmost to give you one of the best breakfasts you can have and I'm glad it worked.
The views have changed a bit from the table that you sat in,now you can start to see the amazing Autumn colours,that's the thing about the lakes,you can come at any time and and see ever changing views.

See you next visit,hopefully.

Michelle and Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Country House

Property: Lake View Country House
Address: Lake View Drive, Grasmere LA22 9TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake View Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our boutique hotel in Grasmere, at the heart of the Lake District National Park. Enjoy the best that Cumbria has to offer. We have seven spacious bedrooms and family apartments, an acre of dog-friendly gardens, and a private access to Grasmere lake. Choose from bed & breakfast or self-catering: whatever suits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake View Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Country House Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing