We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake View Country House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
US$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
US$196
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$174
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Side(Grasmere)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa(Grasmere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
276
39
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
276
39
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfellside suiteb bthe penthousequiet cul de sacprivate accessvisited grasmerefriendly hostsself cateringhome from homebreakfast was deliciousfew minutes walkfull english breakfastfresh milkvillage centrea lovely staylovely locationguest house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A perfect B&B cosy, comfortably, clean, belly busting breakfast, down a quiet cul de sac with amazing views, matter of seconds from village center, bonus was the badger watch right outside our window & to top it all we had sun, sun, sun.

Eating out we only tried a couple in the village these where the Potted Out, Italian very yummy popular so book, Tweedies bar also very popular especially with the locals, loud & yummy again book. A tip the hotel that adjoins the bar serves the same food from the same kitchen at the same price but much quieter & less busy. I did try 3 of their special ales & like marmite you either luv it or loath it as for me.. yuk how can you drink that stuff.

Did go to try out the Lamb Inn but this too was very busy but they suggested that we pop into the adjoining hotel the Red Lion which had a restaurant at the back. When we enquired we were looked up and down given the menu & were told if we liked what we saw they would find us a table. On that note we walked, establishments like that don’t deserve the custom & after speaking to several people you realise why the restaurant was empty. We did slum it one night, a bottle of wine, fish & chips from the Seafarers @ Windermere, parked up at the viewing point just as your heading back towards Ambleside. This beats any restaurant any day, with a view to die for….

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeitpackitgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A friend and I were looking for a base from which to do some walking - Lake View proved to be perfect. We had the Garden Suite, which has the benefit of a lovely lounge area overlooking the garden, and found it very comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent, with a good range of choice and Michelle was both friendly and informative. The location is ideal for getting out on to the hills or for more general sightseeing. All in all, a great place to stay - and fantastic value!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CJS1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just had a two night stay in 'The Daffodil'. Very comfortable, immaculately clean, Fantastic breakfasts and perfect hosts! We have stayed in Azalea and Fellside suite previously and had a wonderful stay. The grounds are stunning and perfectly placed for walks or a saunter around the beautiful village of Grasmere. Michelle and Stephen - are very friendly and attentive owners who know the area really well. Thanks also to Marta who was charming! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Fellside has the best views, but all of the rooms have a lovely view!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We (my husband and I ) have just returned from a three night break at Lake View. I must say we were impressed with the overall cleanliness of the house & friendliness of the owner Michelle. We stayed in the Fellside Suite which has its own lounge area with great views over the gardens to the lake. Walks from the doorstep and plenty of eating establishments in the village on an evening without having to drive. The breakfast was spot on (as someone who may I say is pretty good in the kitchen myself ) it was one of the best I have had in a very long time. We hope to return again soon. Thank you Michelle :-)

Room Tip: Fellside Suite and Garden Room both have lounge areas
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We visited for Valentines weekend, checking in on Friday afternoon and staying for 2 nights.
Very warm welcome, secluded spot with access to everything you need on a walking weekend.
We stayed in the Fellside Suite, rooms were stunning and decorated to a very high standard and absolutely immaculate. Being a Dog Friendly place you would not have thought it at all, the Jacuzzi bath was amazing, especially at the end of walking in wintry conditions.
The hosts were superb, extremely friendly and the breakfasts were amazing. They have clearly put a lot of thought and effort in to what they provide.
We will be back for sure

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank extinctables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michk, Owner at Lake View Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you Linda, it is so nice that the effort that we go to ,to keep the house as clean as can be doesn't go un noticed. It's one of the most important aspects of our business and having a good breakfast goes without saying, after all what's a b and b if you can't give your guests these things.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Michelle and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews