We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Grasmere yet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best stay in Grasmere yet.”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed at the Rothay Garden twice in the past before their big refurb and now it's too expensive. This amazing find represents outstanding value and we wish we had found it sooner. We stayed two nights in Room 6. Fantastic. We arrived in sunshine and went up to our room which is in fact three rooms. A lounge, a bedroom and a bathroom. We stepped out on to our roof top terrace and sipped our complimentary wine. We soaked in our bath and watched the tv built into the wall. We slept in a very comfortable bed which is perfectly big enough despite some strange comments in other reviews. We woke up, made coffee and watched tv in bed then went down for one of the freshest cooked breakfasts I have ever had the pleasure to eat. Fatless meaty smoked bacon, gristle free meaty tasty sausage, runny eggs, fruits , toast, juices. All presented to ensure that you will not be requiring a lunch even on a walk. Guests even get a complimentary coffee in the cafe downstairs that can be taken anytime during your stay. The views from this room are great - I have included some pictures. I note that an earlier reviewer said that the website doesn't do the place justice. I agree. I have posted more shots to show it off that bit more. We ate at the Jumble room about 2 mins walk away after drinking real ales in Tweedies bar. I can recommend both especially as the Tweedies bar will serve you a bat of ales - thats 3 x 1/3 of a pint for the price of a pint allowing you to taste the full range without having a thick head and the best bit is that it's next door! Go for a walk around Grasmere, drink ales and enjoy this establishment - we will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Top floor is room 6, if you want views, book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    70
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
360
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We have just returned from an excellent short break at Heidi's Grasmere Lodge in the Lakes. After spending some time researching various places to stay, we decided go with Heidi's and it did not disappoint. The b and b itself is beautiful, the decor is adorable and is very in keeping with the quaint village setting. The cafe is also worth a visit, we were treated to welcome drinks and we also enjoyed two lunches there during our stay.

Grasmere itself is a charming little village. Unfortunately the infamous 'Jumble Room' was shut during our stay (a reason to return :) ), however we enjoyed meals in 'Potted Out' and 'Tweedies', We would also recommend a visit to the village Gingerbread shop and hiring a boat from Faeryland boat hire - great fun.

We are already planning our next trip and would not hesitate in recommending this b and b to others

Room Tip: Room 3 - Amazing monsoon shower and jacuzzi bath with built in tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mya_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

I booked to stay here for a birthday break with me and my a husband. We originally booked from Friday to Sunday but then decided to extend from the Thursday to Sunday. Upon speaking to Heidi to ask if we could extend this, it was clear from the offset she was very helpful. Upon arriving we were certainly not disappointed. We have travelled half way around the world and I have to say this is one of the best b&b's we have stayed in. The staff are genuinely helful and friendly. I didn't not mention it was my birthday but on returning from our day out, the cleaner saw my card from my husband and left me a birthday card from the staff on my pillow. Such a warmfelt gesture. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them and heidi was fantastic. We will certainly be returning here. Our only regret......not booking for longer! Thank you to all. Ps food was fantastic and breakfast lasted us all day.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank spot23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

It's the little touches that make a B&B special. Even before we arrived Heidi was very helpful and arranged a table at a local bar for a Saturday evening meal. The room was very clean and the bath huge; breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly. Wine and water were provided on arrival and Heidi and her team signed a card for my wife and I for our anniversary. To top it all, Heidi even arranged for two days of sunshine and no rain...what else could you ask for in the Lakes?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLC_2008_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Visited Heidi's today, and what a find! Didn't stay in the accommodation, but did visit one of the cutest and customer friendly venues in the Lake's. The service by staff and attention to detail was exemplary and without question the benchmark for other similar business to aspire to!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chutn3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Booked for 1 night but stayed for 2 last November and despite the weather being dreadful we had a great time, we stayed in room 5, small yes but beautiful and romantic. Heidi herself was always there and helpful, breakfast fantastic and we didnt need any lunch! Only 1 comment which i did mention on our departure, the fact that no one is around after early evening, it would be an idea to give all guests some contact details to carry around with them, just in case you lose your keys.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaymaker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed for one night only but really could I have stayed much longer. The room was beautiful very clean, staff lovely, breakfast nice. The lodge is ideally situated opposite nice hotel with pub which does lovely bar meals. It is also very central in this small village. Fully recommended for a romantic weekend

Room Tip: All rooms are different look at lodges web site to help you chose
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Property: Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing