We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay at Heidi's and it was just perfect from start to finish. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was fabulous with its own balcony and the location was spot on, in fact we loved it that much we are looking at when we can go back:-)
Many Thanks,
Lisa & Matt

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    73
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
364
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Heidi's lodge is delightful, we had a wonderful welcome from staff on our arrival who were happy to book us in early.The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated, we had room 6, which had a spiral staircase to our bedroom with a balcony. It's the first time we've been on holiday and didn't want to leave the room. The bathroom was spacious and once again immaculate, boasting a tv which you could watch while having a wonderful soak so I got in the bath just to do it. Breakfast included local produce, and was served, again, by lovely staff. All in all a fantastic night in Grasmere. Would definitely recommend Heidi's. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All good rooms but room 6 was a real treat with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of the Coast to Coast walk so I could enjoy my birthday in a little luxury.

Arrived late in the afternoon on a very rainy day - was a little concerned that they might not be too happy about us turning up wet and muddy but it wasn't a problem. We were shown where to leave our boots in a warm spot to dry and allowed to take the rest of our wet kit upstairs to dry out.

We were in Room 3 with the amazing 'spa enclosure' which took some time to work out how to use it! Could really have done with better instructions... but it was a great way to recover from all the walking of the past few days. The whole bedroom was beautifully presented and very comfortable.

The breakfasts were big and very tasty.

Overall we were very happy with our stay. The only thing I would say as a very slight negative is that the welcome could have been warmer and staff more friendly and helpful with information on the room and local area.



  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 412melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Heidi's doing the C2C. It is probably not as geared up for walkers as other places we stayed and the staff did not know Packhorse. However the rooms are nice if a bit OTT for my taste. Hearts and comforting words everywhere. We stayed in room4 at the top which had 4 beams not good for 2 people over 5ft 10 they did move us the second night which was very helpful. It was clean breakfast excellent and they did a lovely packed lunch.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in room 6 at Heidi's and although we don't normally post reviews, this time we have felt compelled to do so.

We have been coming to Grasmere for years and have a deep rooted fondness for the place and the people. We have always looked for new places to stay but have only just chanced upon Heidi's (I'm not quite sure why!)

So Heidi's...we have given it a 5/5 for the following reasons: 1. Impeccably clean 2. Beautifully furnished and decorated 3. Special little extras (which we know to be a rarity in Grasmere at this price point) like splash TVs and in some of the rooms large terraces with wondeful panoramic views 4. Delicious Lakeland breakfasts (thank you Stephen!) 5. Friendly, interested and helpful staff. All this and more tied up in a little independent bundle made us grin from ear to ear (despite the rainy weather, if you love Grasmere, you have to love the rain too!)

Heidi's is not quite a hotel but it is more than a b&b. Bottom line for us is that we felt we had stumbled across a little jewell hidden away in the heart of Grasmere.

We look forward to returning, with friends next time, if we can bear to share our discovery of this wonderful little place!

Thank you to all who worked so hard to make our stay such a pleasurable one.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clubertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawtenstall, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, over the weekend. I think I should split this review into two sections...
Pro's: It was quite clean (if you ignore the cobweb in the bathroom), however the coffee stain on the dressing table was left for us;
The breakfast was good, plenty of choice;
The TV in the bathroom was an unexpected touch;
Decent shower;
It is well decorated (if you like 'Twee', you'll love it)
Good car parking;
Good location.
Cons: The greeting was cool, to say the least and the first thing we were told was to remove our shoes before going up the stairs (I could understand this if we'd been out walking, but we'd just arrived!!)
Our room was an attic room with low beams. We continually cracked our heads when getting out of bed and whenever we used the toilet. I am quite tall, 5'9 but my husband isn't, and this was really annoying.
The bed was really hard and had a feather quilt, which I am allergic to..we were told when we checked out that this could have been changed, but we were not made aware of this beforehand;
Whilst the breakfast was good, there is a VERY limited time slot to get down for it - 8.30-9.00. Not good if you wanted to relax during your stay. On our first morning, we gave our order at 8.30 but we didn't get our food until 9.00;
Our drinks sachets were not replenished, so when we arrived back at the room (we had been to an all day wedding), we couldn't have a coffee before we went to bed...I would have requested some but it was quite late and we had no means of contacting anyone.
All in all, I have to say we were quite disappointed with this B & B and we won't be returning, but as I said if you like 'twee Laura Ashley' type accommodation, you'll like it here.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not in the attic, I think there are three, or else suffer from headaches duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2013

2nd stay there as we knew we just had to come back and was not disappointed. Heidi and Andrea could not do enogh for us. We stayed in the same room as last time as I loved it so much (room 4) and it was just as I remembered.....perfect, cute, clean and beautifully decorated. Full marks to all the staff. Heidi you have a wonderful team in a wonderful lodge. We will be back again shortly!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,205 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Property: Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Heidi's Grasmere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing