We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GLASGOW
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Notch!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Excellent stay in early August, we were in room 4 which was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated with a huge bathroom. All the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Grasmere is a great place for walkers to base themselves and Heidis is the perfect place to relax in after a day in the fells. The best small hotel we have stayed in and one we will be returning to!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    71
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
362
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
stoke
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Lovely comfy bed, spotless clean room, parking space and excellent breakfast (thank you Steven)
Loads of walks from the accommodation so you can leave your car and plenty of restaurants in the village which are quiet at night when all the visitors go.

Room Tip: Room 5 was quiet small as we were warned, but it had lovely slanted roof and massive bath with tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothy1Stoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemsworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A lovely quirky and quite unique B&B. Rooms were spotless and very nice. Breakfast excellent. I recommend this place to anyone. Most places in Grasmere will not accept bookings for one night only, but Heidi's did! Single night bookings are essential on the Coast to Coast!

Room Tip: Rooms 5 & 6 have low beams, avoid these if you are tall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red80uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just arrived back from a two night stay in room 6 what can we say it was a fabulous stay ,from the moment we arrived late on the Friday to checking out Andrea and Lyn were so helpful and attentive nothing was too much trouble.The room was perfect so clean and had so many lovely extras,the views where breathtaking.Breakfast was fab just what you want or a day on the fells.Thanks again to all the staff at Heidi's

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed in Room 5 at Heidi's, which was the smallest room in the B&B. However, it was an excellent room but be warned, I'm 5 foot nothing and I had to stoop to reach the tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom is a great size but again remember to duck. This wasn't a problem for us and was part of the charm of the place. Yes there are lots of hearts but they are nice touches that make you feel at home. The welcome on arrival by Lynne was great and she made us feel at home straight away. The place was immaculate (maybe because they ask you to remove your shoes?? As Lynne showed us to our room, she too removed her shoes, so you can see the policy extends to all).
The car parking for room 5 is in the main car park by the garden centre in Grasmere but you can leave your car there safely overnight. The other rooms have a space behind Heidi's, but if you are conscious of door dinks, the spaces are pretty tight.
I would have given Heidi's 5 stars except for the breakfast. It was OK. There were plenty of juice and cereal and fruit but the cooked breakfast lacked something (apart from the tomato that was missing from everyone's plate). It was, as I said, OK. But if you are a cereal, fruit and yoghurt type of person, you won't be disappointed. I certainly wouldn't hesitate in staying here again and Lynne is doing an excellent front of house job.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsdoit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vossevangen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I couldn't have been welcomed in a better way, with a big glass of ice cold water on the warmest day in England for seven years. This welcome set the standard of a very pleasant stay. The staff is warm and caring, the style of decoration make you feel like you're come home to a good friend, the rooms are wonderful. Mine was on the top floor, with beams and a low ceiling, which makes the athmosphere even more warm and homely. I didn't mind watch my head! The bathroom was a real gem: imagine to sink into the bathtub after a long warm day on the coast to coast, to watch TV and have a glass of wine. It's all there in the room, waiting for you! The room even has its own espresso machine and of course possibilities for a nice cuppa. What more could you wish for after a long day's walk? A comfy bed, of course. Don't worry, the bed is wonderful, too. A good breakfast, and you could also buy treats from the café and/or a packed lunch. A little pricy, but so is most accommodation in Grasmere. The most important about a place is the people working there. They can really make a difference between an ok and an excellent stay. The staff at Heidi's made this an excellent stay for me, I'd love to come back! Location in the very centre of Grasmere is another advantage, unless you want a very quiet place to sleep. On the top floor you still have some distance to the sounds from the street anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Whilst walking the C2C walk we arrived in Grasmere later than expected and decided to find somewhere to stay rather than carry on to Patterdale and arrive very late. Whilst strolling around looking for somewhere that didn't look too expensive we found Heidi's. It turned out that they had a room available and it wasn't too expensive by Grasmere standards, the room was very luxurious and had a fantastic bathroom. The staff were very helpful, but yes they did ask us to leave our shoes downstairs this wasn't a problem as we had been up on the fells all day and our shoes were less than clean.The only downside to our stay was the amount of time it took to get breakfast, this also had to be taken at a set time. I believe the young girl taking our orders was new to the job so can only hope that the service will improve over time. This was one of our most luxurious stays on the C2C route and was very much appreciated by my wife. I made sure that we had to camp the next night to even things out a bit.

Room Tip: We looked at two rooms and they both looked lovely. If you take the top room it has two floors and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldric313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Property: Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing