We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent & relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #3 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent & relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by Heidi with the warmest of welcomes.
We had booked room 4 but I liked the look of room 3 and the Jacuzzi spa bath which was still available and asked if we could change.....no problems at all. Heidi showed us the room and even said that if at any point we were unhappy we could still move into room 4!
The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. There was a proper coffee machine and a small bottle of red wine for us. The bathroom was lovely and had lovely fluffy towels.
The breakfast was huge.....cereals, granola, fruit, yoghurts etc followed by a full Lake District breakfast and toast. The cooked breakfast could have been a little hotter but that would be my own well picky quibble about this place.

All the staff we helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. If you need anything or think something is missing you just simply need to pop down stairs and ask! If you want a relaxing quiet get away I don't think you'll find anywhere better. I will definitely be returning and recommending this B&B.

Info bits:
The car park is around the back of the B&B and very safe. I've seen some negative comments about it being small......our car isn't small and we didn't have any problems and other cars in the car park were 4x4's. Yes its not huge, but your in the Lakes in a B&B, there really aren't any issues.
You leave your shoes down stairs so take slippers. This has allowed Heidi to keep lovely cream carpets and make it feel more homely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvelotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    70
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
359
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
queen_of_the_skys
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Extremely well maintained and clean B&B , I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and wish it could have been longer as the rooms and lodge were so beautifully decorated. I can not fault the lodge and would highly recommend , intact it was very inspirational to decorate my own home !
It is very clear a lot of time money and commitment has been put into the lodge and it made our stay enjoyable. It is in the heart of grasmere with parking for each room . I was able to take a look at each of the rooms and feel you could not go wrong with any that you choose as there all decorated tastefully and modern, each room has its own uniqueness. I noticed many people comment on room 5 on here as it has low ceiling in parts ... I found this room unique and beautiful .

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated and are of a same standard , they all hold there own uniqueness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queen_of_the_skys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

As we only ate here it's hard to give a full review .
We found the cafe clean to a very high standard however the price of the food was extortionate , you have been warned its a basic baguette with 5 veg crisps YES ONLY 5

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Upon arriving at Heidi's we parked in our designated parking spot and were welcomed by Steven. He kindly carried our bags up to Room 6 and explained a few things about breakfast etc.
We unpacked and looked around our lovely lounge with beautiful views form the bedroom and private terrace.
After a comfortable night's sleep in our double bed we returned downstairs for breakfast and found our table which had a very thoughtful card for the Mr and Mrs!
Other considerate things were helping us book a table at the local restaurant Sara's (which was devine!) and also washing and pressing my husband's shirt (even though we were only there for a short time). They were very attentive to the cleanliness of our room and changed the sheets/hoovered etc. daily.
We cannot thank them enough for the amazing experience we had on our honeymoon and we would definitely stay again - anniversary?? :)

Room Tip: Room 6 was right at the back of the lodge and has a lovely private terrace with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Excellent stay in early August, we were in room 4 which was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated with a huge bathroom. All the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Grasmere is a great place for walkers to base themselves and Heidis is the perfect place to relax in after a day in the fells. The best small hotel we have stayed in and one we will be returning to!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Lovely comfy bed, spotless clean room, parking space and excellent breakfast (thank you Steven)
Loads of walks from the accommodation so you can leave your car and plenty of restaurants in the village which are quiet at night when all the visitors go.

Room Tip: Room 5 was quiet small as we were warned, but it had lovely slanted roof and massive bath with tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothy1Stoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

A lovely quirky and quite unique B&B. Rooms were spotless and very nice. Breakfast excellent. I recommend this place to anyone. Most places in Grasmere will not accept bookings for one night only, but Heidi's did! Single night bookings are essential on the Coast to Coast!

Room Tip: Rooms 5 & 6 have low beams, avoid these if you are tall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank red80uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Property: Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing