We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in room 6 an amazing little suite, This was a fantastic place to stay to relax after getting married!!! It served a delicious breakfast!! Had lots of quirky lovely features!! Central location with parking made it really handy.Friendly staff!!

Room Tip: Room 6 was a lovely suite with a nice balcony overlooking Grasmere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyGirvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    70
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
360
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We first stayed at Heidis Lodge two years ago after a friend told us about it. We stayed in room 6 and loved it so much we booked the same room again for two nights in August for my birthday. We decided to book an extra night at the last minute and stayed in room 1 the first night , the room was gorgeous and the outside terrace was lovely ...... we sat and had a glass of the complimentary wine. The next day we moved to room 6 the lounge area now has a lovely sofa which was cozier.and it was even nicer than we remembered so it was great to have two nights there. Breakfast each morning was fabulous and must be the best in Grasmere and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Tweedies bar is the bast place to eat so good we went there twice.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a terrace and lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HELEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed one night at Heidi's in between two long days of walking and it was a brilliant place to recuperate. The room was decorated beautifully with excellent amenities such as a television, hairdryer, shampoos, a coffee machine and complimentary wine. There was a television also in the bathroom which you could watch whilst having a wonderful bath. Heidi was extremely welcoming and provided an excellent stay and great breakfast the next morning! Very excited to return soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5. Each double room is apparently different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmalade_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by Heidi with the warmest of welcomes.
We had booked room 4 but I liked the look of room 3 and the Jacuzzi spa bath which was still available and asked if we could change.....no problems at all. Heidi showed us the room and even said that if at any point we were unhappy we could still move into room 4!
The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. There was a proper coffee machine and a small bottle of red wine for us. The bathroom was lovely and had lovely fluffy towels.
The breakfast was huge.....cereals, granola, fruit, yoghurts etc followed by a full Lake District breakfast and toast. The cooked breakfast could have been a little hotter but that would be my own well picky quibble about this place.

All the staff we helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. If you need anything or think something is missing you just simply need to pop down stairs and ask! If you want a relaxing quiet get away I don't think you'll find anywhere better. I will definitely be returning and recommending this B&B.

Info bits:
The car park is around the back of the B&B and very safe. I've seen some negative comments about it being small......our car isn't small and we didn't have any problems and other cars in the car park were 4x4's. Yes its not huge, but your in the Lakes in a B&B, there really aren't any issues.
You leave your shoes down stairs so take slippers. This has allowed Heidi to keep lovely cream carpets and make it feel more homely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvelotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queen_of_the_skys
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Extremely well maintained and clean B&B , I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and wish it could have been longer as the rooms and lodge were so beautifully decorated. I can not fault the lodge and would highly recommend , intact it was very inspirational to decorate my own home !
It is very clear a lot of time money and commitment has been put into the lodge and it made our stay enjoyable. It is in the heart of grasmere with parking for each room . I was able to take a look at each of the rooms and feel you could not go wrong with any that you choose as there all decorated tastefully and modern, each room has its own uniqueness. I noticed many people comment on room 5 on here as it has low ceiling in parts ... I found this room unique and beautiful .

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated and are of a same standard , they all hold there own uniqueness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queen_of_the_skys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

As we only ate here it's hard to give a full review .
We found the cafe clean to a very high standard however the price of the food was extortionate , you have been warned its a basic baguette with 5 veg crisps YES ONLY 5

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Upon arriving at Heidi's we parked in our designated parking spot and were welcomed by Steven. He kindly carried our bags up to Room 6 and explained a few things about breakfast etc.
We unpacked and looked around our lovely lounge with beautiful views form the bedroom and private terrace.
After a comfortable night's sleep in our double bed we returned downstairs for breakfast and found our table which had a very thoughtful card for the Mr and Mrs!
Other considerate things were helping us book a table at the local restaurant Sara's (which was devine!) and also washing and pressing my husband's shirt (even though we were only there for a short time). They were very attentive to the cleanliness of our room and changed the sheets/hoovered etc. daily.
We cannot thank them enough for the amazing experience we had on our honeymoon and we would definitely stay again - anniversary?? :)

Room Tip: Room 6 was right at the back of the lodge and has a lovely private terrace with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Property: Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing