We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We looked at Heidi's website and the reviews on trip advisor and decided to stay two nights. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. We'll try to give a fair and considered review. First the good things. You will get a warm welcome from the staff (especially Lynn) the B&B is in the centre of this lovely village and the place is very clean. BUT... from the website and trip advisor reviews we were expecting something a little special. The tariffs are comparable with winter prices in some of the Lake hotels at the moment. The breakfast has got to be included in this tariff and Heidi's was very resticted. In addition to the full english we expected some other alternatives such as scrambled egg with smoked salmon, eggs benedict, or something special for vegetarians. A feb was the only offering of hot food. There was a note on the menu saying they would cook you something different if possible. From the response we got for quite a simple request, this is a bit awkward to do. It would be much better to give guests a wider choice on the menu. With only six rooms and asking you to order a cooked breakfast the night before, they could offer something more. It's either full english or cereals and toast (which arrived burnt). The help-yourself-table is poor. It's just cereals, defrosted berries, tinned grapefruit, and plain yoghurt - no fresh fruit or croissants, breads or pastries. The table wasn't laid properly and they don't even give you a separate knife to spread your butter! In addition to all this you have to take breakfast every day between 8.30 - 9.00am and that includes Sundays.
When we arrived we were immediately asked for payment before even seeing the room and on arrival everyone has to take their shoes off and leave them downstairs as the place has a biege carpet throughout. Rooms 1 and Room 6 are really wonderful but the others, although pretty, are quite small. In the room was a illy expresso machine, wonderful!.....but they only give you two coffee cartridges a day!
If you can get Rooms 1 or 6 for £110 and are not fussy about breakfasts, go for it.....but there are good deals to be had at hotels in the Lakes in Winter without all the rules.

Room Tip: 1 and 6 are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bec011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    70
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
360
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Heidi's Grasmere Lodge in January 2014 for three nights. We had room 6, which is on two levels, with a spiral staircase and a small sun lounge. I can't praise the hotel, or the staff enough. The room(s) we're beautifully & tastefully decorated, and your every possible need has been considered. A large bathroom with a separate bath & very spacious powerful shower which has a detachable head. There is a splash proof TV & remote in the bathroom, as well as a TV in the lounge area and the bedroom. The bedroom is compact but cosy, with a wardrobe, and two bedside cabinets as well as a dressing table.

The weather wasn't good enough for us to enjoy the sun terrace, but it was perfectly placed to catch any sun that did shine... There are breathtaking views from the picture window in the lounge area and the 360 degree view from the sun terrace has to be seen to be believed.

Breakfast is lovely, and freshly cooked using local produce.

The staff can't do enough to help or advise.

I would not hesitate to recommend Heidi's Grasmere Lodge to anyone I knew who was in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorAmpleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Grasmere is a lovely quaint place to stay and this little gem of a place has just made it even better. The owner Heidi is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and quaintly decorated. Breakfast was very very nice. We usually go to Grasmere every year so will use this lovely place as our base from now on. Just as a little footnote, our room had a bathroom with ambient lighting to help you relax in the bath (and if that wasnt enough... there was a built in tv in the bath too).

Room Tip: Quiet... Peaceful... Friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAndJane169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Heidi's guest house offers the perfect location for a short break in the Lake District. The rooms are of a very high standard with excellent facilities and a hearty breakfast in the morning. Whilst the staff are very welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. First Class in every detail I would recommend Heidi's to anyone looking for a short break in the Lake District

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have nothing bad to say of Heidi's and urge anyone considering a visit to go ahead and book - you won't regret it!

I booked the suite, Room 6 back in Summer as a pre-wedding surprise for my husband but unfortunately had to cancel due to work commitments - Heidi was an absolute star and agreed to move our deposit to another date. We later chose a one night break between Christmas a New Year.

We arrived at Heidi's to a lovely warm welcome from everyone - we were given our keys and shown up to the room which was absolutely gorgeous.

Room 6 is right on the top floor and is split across two levels - the first has a comfy two seater sofa, tv and stand with teas, coffee, wine, water and biscuits. The bathroom is also on this level and is a great size with a big shower, separate bath and splash tv. A beautiful spiral staircase leads you to up the small but beautifully decorated bedroom, leading out onto a roof top terrace which fantastic views of the village. The decor was right up my street and was one of the reasons I wanted to stay in the first place - the room was clean and the little touches were great!!

After we'd checked in, we had drinks in the tea room which was lovely - all the staff were aware we were staying and were extra friendly and helpful. Every member of staff we met here were lovely - the two woman and the two guys working in both the cafe and the b&b itself.

Our stopover was great with the bed really comfy for me, but unfortunately my husband is 6"2 so the iron bedstead wasn't the best for him! The underfloor heating in the bathroom was a lovely addition too!

One of the only niggles I have is that breakfast was served in a half hour window from 8.30 which is quite restrictive - I would have liked a little more of a lie in! Despite this, breakfast was great - the food was delicious (those sausages are AMAZING!). You order your cooked breakfast before bed which was absolutely fine, and there's plenty of cereals, fruit, good quality thick yoghurt etc to help yourself to.

Before checking out we looked around the shop which offered 20% off for guests and bought ourselves some little treats - if you love shabby chic you'll love the gifts they have for sale!

Finally, we came to check out - again the staff were great and we had a little chat (both women were surprised I was 27, telling me I was bonny and that my husband was lucky - absolutely made my day!) before handing back the key and leaving a wet Grasmere.

Thank you to all of you for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable - we will be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyla_manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

can't count how many times we have been back here, but every stay is as good as the rest! Our second home! Beautiful B&B! Stayed in room 1 again. The bed is soooo comfy! The room clean & tidy. The bathroom, gorgeous. Complimentary bottle of wine. Breakfast, wholesome, tasty & lots of it!
Heidi & her staff are always very welcoming & can't do enough for you (thanks Andrea for the toast on Sat morning when i was feeling a little under the weather!)
It was lovely to see you all & can't wait to come back! Fab!

Room Tip: Very comfy bed in room 1, but all rooms excellent & finished to a very high satandard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed in room 6 a last min booking, was lovely very quaint, staff were very friendly, lovely breakfast, in a perfect location. Had been before but only to the tearoom didn't realise they did bnb, I recommend the hot choc xx

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Property: Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing