We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word-excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One word-excellent!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

After reading some of the reviews I must admit we did have some mixed feelings about our stay,
however after spending 2 nights I can gladly say we were very impressed and very happy and would recommend Heidi's Grasmere Lodge to anybody.
It did seem a little odd to be asked to take take off your shoes before you go upstairs (not as soon as you step foot in the place as some have suggested) but then when you see the rooms you understand why. We were in room 2 and it was spotless and of a high standard-in fact it's going to cost me a fortune stopping here as my wife has took pictures of the bathroom and tells me that's how we're having ours. Doh!!!! and on the point of taking off your shoes, it is something I do at home and in other peoples houses so why is it a problem?

Let me just clarify a few points I have read in other reviews:-
The staff were all brilliant and friendly.
The coffee machine in the room was replenished when used although to be fair we only used it twice and there was instant coffee as well.
The breakfast was lovely and it was no trouble whatsoever to ask for something different-I had a vegge breakfast on both days without a problem all you have to do is ask by writing it on the breakfast list left outside the dining room.
We had a separate knife for the butter and the toast was not burnt at all.
We were asked if we wanted more coffee or toast.
There is ample parking at the back of the guest house-although I can see it would be tight if people don't park with thought to other guests.
The owner came and had a chat with us over breakfast one morning and she was really nice.
If we are in Grasmere again the first place we would look for a room would be Heidi's Grasmere Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdaisace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    73
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
364
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great B&B right in the centre of Grasmere. We were in room 3, A few thoughts below:

Very clean room and great bathroom with TV

Parking for rooms 1-5 is behind the village hall next door - v convenient. I think room 6 parking is a bit further away

Great breakfast

It is a bit more expensive than some B&B's but its a really nice place

I simply don't understand some of the negative reviews on here - I suspect they never stayed here and have some grudge to settle or are trip advisor trolls

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aardvark1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked a last minute stay at Heidi's for 1 night after reading the reviews on trip advisor. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and shown to room 4. The room itself was average size but spotlessly clean as was the large bathroom. Probably one of the cleanest rooms we have stayed in. However, we should have taken heed from other reviews regarding the ceiling height of the beams! After bumping my head once (quite severely) I certainly didn't do it again but this stopped us moving around the room freely and comfortably. And so to bed.... although we both like a firm mattress the bed in Room 4 was extremely hard. This is obviously an individual preference so I'm sure others would find this comfortable. As we were only staying 1 night we didn't feel the need to ask to change rooms. Breakfast was lovely.

Whilst we were there we managed to get a quick look at rooms 1, 5 and 6. We would stay at Heidi's again but would go for Room 1 as there is ample room to move around without restriction (no beams) and also has the lovely balcony to use weather permitting.

Room Tip: Room 1 is biggest by far with good views and no ceiling beams!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I don't know if I want to review this B&B as I would like to keep it a secret! The room (room 6) was amazing, a lovely lounge and a spiral staircase up to a bedroom with amazing views. The bathroom is better than you can find in a 5 star hotel, new and modern with even a built in TV and now has robes. Heidi was so welcoming and made you feel really well looked after. Breakfast was excellent and I really couldn't fault the place. Heidi does have a policy to take your shoes off which isn't a problem; it has to be better than seeing dirty carpets. This is a place we will definitely stay again and again, a fantastic place with everything you could ask for!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 97Anonymous1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Up North
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a gem of a B&B. We have been wanting to stay here for ages but we were waiting until the Loft Suite (Room 6) became available. It was worth the wait. It's a great room with a proper lounge area, not a token gesture space. It also has a decent sized tv for the lounge area which I know isn't the be all and end all in a B&B room but it's something I like. Everything in the room is lovely, it's well decorated, has a spacious bathroom, free wi-fi, nice toiletries, a fantastic balcony with amazing views and so on. If there was one negative it would be that there were no robes. I think a suite like this needs a good dressing gown you can chill out in. Other than that it was perfect.
Aside from the room; breakfast was great, the setting was fab, parking was a bonus and all of the staff were lovely.
You MUST try this place, it's fantastic.

Room Tip: I believe all of the rooms are fab with Room 1 being really spacious but Room 6 having the great lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheesecake0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We looked at Heidi's website and the reviews on trip advisor and decided to stay two nights. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. We'll try to give a fair and considered review. First the good things. You will get a warm welcome from the staff (especially Lynn) the B&B is in the centre of this lovely village and the place is very clean. BUT... from the website and trip advisor reviews we were expecting something a little special. The tariffs are comparable with winter prices in some of the Lake hotels at the moment. The breakfast has got to be included in this tariff and Heidi's was very resticted. In addition to the full english we expected some other alternatives such as scrambled egg with smoked salmon, eggs benedict, or something special for vegetarians. A feb was the only offering of hot food. There was a note on the menu saying they would cook you something different if possible. From the response we got for quite a simple request, this is a bit awkward to do. It would be much better to give guests a wider choice on the menu. With only six rooms and asking you to order a cooked breakfast the night before, they could offer something more. It's either full english or cereals and toast (which arrived burnt). The help-yourself-table is poor. It's just cereals, defrosted berries, tinned grapefruit, and plain yoghurt - no fresh fruit or croissants, breads or pastries. The table wasn't laid properly and they don't even give you a separate knife to spread your butter! In addition to all this you have to take breakfast every day between 8.30 - 9.00am and that includes Sundays.
When we arrived we were immediately asked for payment before even seeing the room and on arrival everyone has to take their shoes off and leave them downstairs as the place has a biege carpet throughout. Rooms 1 and Room 6 are really wonderful but the others, although pretty, are quite small. In the room was a illy expresso machine, wonderful!.....but they only give you two coffee cartridges a day!
If you can get Rooms 1 or 6 for £110 and are not fussy about breakfasts, go for it.....but there are good deals to be had at hotels in the Lakes in Winter without all the rules.

Room Tip: 1 and 6 are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bec011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Heidi's Grasmere Lodge in January 2014 for three nights. We had room 6, which is on two levels, with a spiral staircase and a small sun lounge. I can't praise the hotel, or the staff enough. The room(s) we're beautifully & tastefully decorated, and your every possible need has been considered. A large bathroom with a separate bath & very spacious powerful shower which has a detachable head. There is a splash proof TV & remote in the bathroom, as well as a TV in the lounge area and the bedroom. The bedroom is compact but cosy, with a wardrobe, and two bedside cabinets as well as a dressing table.

The weather wasn't good enough for us to enjoy the sun terrace, but it was perfectly placed to catch any sun that did shine... There are breathtaking views from the picture window in the lounge area and the 360 degree view from the sun terrace has to be seen to be believed.

Breakfast is lovely, and freshly cooked using local produce.

The staff can't do enough to help or advise.

I would not hesitate to recommend Heidi's Grasmere Lodge to anyone I knew who was in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorAmpleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,205 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Property: Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Heidi's Grasmere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing