We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and Picturesque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at Heidi's on Sunday night (29th June) for my boyfriend's birthday, we stayed in room 1. I had seen the photos on here and Heidi's website and knew it was the place for us, I love shabby chic and Heidi has decorated the place beautifully! We were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our room, first impressions were fantastic. We decided to go to Windermere on the open top bus but for me Grasmere is the place to stay, lots more to see and do! We had a lovely breakfast on Monday morning which was just enough to keep us going till the afternoon.

I can't fault Heidi's Lodge, clean, pretty, beautiful surroundings, comfy...the list goes on! Can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: We booked room 1, although a little bit more expensive you get a huge room, with a huge bed and a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ErinandDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I knew there would be nowhere better to celebrate my 40th Birthday and I was right. We booked out all 6 rooms for Friday and Saturday night. Heidi and her team couldn't do enough to accommodate us. We used Room 1 balcony on the Friday night as people arrived for drinks 'with a view'. For breakfast they had arranged all the tables in one long table so even breakfast on both days was special. The team left me a card and a beautiful hand made fabric heart as a gift. The only guests that had been before was ourselves and everyone who joined us said they would return again and again. My family couldn't believe how tasteful the decor was and the attention to detail. We will always return to Heidi's. It is a dream.

Room Tip: Room 1 and Room 6 are the best. They are also the most expensive. If you don't mind having to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B_rammahnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great location. I was given a warm welcome. The room was beautiful. Lots of attention to detail, a bottle of wine, an expresso coffee machine- even a TV in the bathroom! It was good to be in the centre of the village. I had room 5 which was lovely. My only niggle was that I was not given the Wifi password and once I realised this omission there was no one to ask until the morning. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I have just had the pleasure our staying at Heidi's for the second time for two nights, in room 1 . Room 1 is perhaps the largest room offering plenty of space, amble seating area with lovely views and large private balcony. The photos on the web site don't do this room justice, it's beautiful with the biggest most comfortable bed I have ever slept in . The room is spotless and very modern with a touch of shabby chic very tastefully decorated. There is private parking at the rear of the property which has the room numbers on to allow guests to use their own space , with one exception room has a private residents parking near by. We were checked in without fuss with Andrea whom we had the pleasure of meeting last time. The following morning Lisa whom has recently joined Heidi's team looked after us at breakfast and was able to answer any questions we had to ask .Heidi 's newer member whom assists in the cafe and assists at waiting on the tables is called Carlton, whom is industrious and keen to please and is a pleasure to meet. On our last day we got to meet Heidi in person whom took the time to chat with the guests. Heidi is so lovely and caring person was so easy to talk and listen to,and to finish our stay on a high. Many thanks to all your wonderful staff whom made our holiday a time to remember, we look forward to our next visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank arch0496a5lk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent a night at Heidi's while on the Coast to Coast and overall found it to be a pretty pleasant place to stay. The location is great, right in the heart of Grasmere, with plenty of shops and restaurants right outside the door. Despite that, the town quiets down quickly at dinner time and the room was quiet through the night. The inn and rooms are cozy, but comfortable and pleasantly decorated. The bathroom was fantastic: spacious, with a separate tub and shower. There is even a TV built into the wall above the tub if that's your thing. The staff were pleasant and the breakfast was good. The only reason I can't give it 5/5 is because the bed was a little funny. I'm not sure if it was the mattress or the bed frame itself, but something gave the bed an odd curvature that made it feel like you might just roll off of it while you slept.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Check was easy- we just called the number and came to us straight away. Parking isn't signposted, but we were directed down a small lane and got parked up easily enough.

We stayed in room 6 which has a nice spiral staircase up to the bedroom and a separate lounge area to relax in. The room was clean and well presented with plenty of tea, coffee, toiletries etc.

Breakfast was enjoyable and you place your room order the night before on the breakfast board downstairs.

We had a great stay and it was peaceful. One tip- be prepared to take off your shoes at the door and leave them downstairs.



  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollyjo1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

we stayed here just one night over easter it was a last minute thing and the only room left was room 5 which has no parking we were a little nervous about this as every car park you use in the lake district has signs warning you of car crime but when we arrived a guest had cancelled so we could luckily use their space. Room 5 is a ery quaint and beautifully decorated room, its in the eves of the roof so the cielings are a little low, not a problem for us but if you are above avarage height this is not the room for you, the whole of the lodge is excepionally clean and tidy which is a considerable plus but it simetimes feels like your back at school been told to remove your shoes all the time and lots of little signs every where reminding you that you will be charged for cleaning if you make a mess or spill anything. there are lots of special little touches like a bottle of water next to the bed, a coffee maker and complimentary small bottle of wine (watch those spills) and the best of all the tv in the bathroom sitting in the bath watching pointless was bizarre! we did have to mess about with the tuning of the tv though as at first all you got was a verey weak digital signal that kept blocking out but my husband soon had it re tuned. Breakfast was totally delicious and is all you need to keep you going for hours, go for the full monty full breakfast its worth the long wait as it is cooked fresh but if you think you can squeeze in some thing else before it get there early as there was no fruit or yoghurt left when we got there and it was not refilled. The one thing i would just like to warn people about in room 5 are the blinds, my husband has difficulty sleeping in a light room and as the room is in the eves the windows are an odd shape they have done the best they can with the blinds but it does not keep the room dark at all, so in the summer the room will be very bright very very early, we carry a portable black out blind with us and with that and the clever placing of the bathtowels it was fine but be prepared if you need a dark room to sleep in. All in all this is a very pretty and comfortable lodge in a fantastic postion and we would definatly return to try another of its rooms

Room Tip: book well in adance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#2 of 14 in Grasmere
730 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,220 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
108 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: £87 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Heidi's Grasmere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing