We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place and Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham, Lincs
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Great Place and Great Staff”
Reviewed 24 September 2009

I am not going to say to much as it has been said in all of then other reviews. The hotel is in the centre of Grasmere, it is a fantastic location and made all the better by the staff. Heidi runs a great place! I stayed in room 5 which although small (as advertised) it was very comfortable; however, be warned if you are tall you are going to bang your head! If I had a negative it would be having breakfast at a set time but the breakfast itself is good fare and plenty of it!
Great hotel, great staff, great place and central to some great walks!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJP100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    71
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
362
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Service was friendly and helpful at all times and from all staff members especially Heidi. Room 6 - was excellent including when we sat on the roof terrace with a bottle of wine in the sun.

Breakfast was very good and a good selection of local restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Having stumbled across the Harwood on a previous trip to Grasmere, we set out to stay here on our next trip and we were not disappointed. After a slightly confusing check-in (via the cafe staff because the Hotel's main door was locked), we were warmly welcomed by one of the members of staff who took us to our lovely room (Room 4). It was just as we had hoped, and had the added bonus of lovely views across the sleepy village of Grasmere and to the mountains beyond. It had a very large bathroom and a flat-screen TV mounted in the wall in there so you could soak in the bath whilst watching TV! I asked for an iron and one was delivered in a couple of minutes with no fuss at all and any requests were met with a smile and dealt with promptly.

The most impressive aspect of our stay was when Heidi (the owner) popped to our room shortly after we checked in to introduce herself. She took the effort to remember my name and explained she was not going to be around during our stay but wanted to say hi in person and wish us a welcoming stay before she disappeared. She left her card at the main door with her mobile number on it so we could contact her if needed in her absence and ensured we had sorted out our reservation for dinner that night in the village.

This sort of personal service is sadly lacking more and more nowadays, and although it only took two minutes of her time, we immediately felt special and welcome. We had a fantastic meal at the Jumble Room just round the corner (on Heidi's recommendation) and were only sorry we could only stay the one night. We will definitely return here when we next visit the Lakes and highly recommend the Harwood Hotel for somewhere 'extra special' in this beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex81London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harwoodhotel, owner at Heidi's Grasmere Lodge, responded to this review, 28 October 2009
Thanks for your comments. Do come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We chose the Harwood based on their website and were not disappointed. Its been recently fully refurbished to a very high standard and with a lot of care and thought into the decor to make it as warm and welcoming as possible. There are only 6 rooms, we were in room 3 and although the room itself was not huge it was lovely. The bathroom was fantastic with double jacuzzi bath, rainforest shower, steam, tv in bath etc etc - a revelation! Everything was clean and perfectly arranged and Heidi organised flowers and strawberries in the room for us as it was our anniversary. The Cumbrian breakfast served at Heidi's cafe was delicious and again a lovely setting. We only stayed 1 night but can't wait to go back. We had such a relaxing time it feels like we've had a weeks break.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harwoodhotel, owner at Heidi's Grasmere Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2009
i am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We stayed at the Harwood Hotel in Grasmere just for one night for our anniversary. We stayed in room 3 - the shower is amazing. My husband was able to watch top gear in the sauna whilst having a beer, then had a shower followed by a jacuzzi- doesn't get much better he said! The room iteslf is adequate in size with lovely quaint decoration, tea and coffee facilities also. The rooms are above the cafe Heidi's and this is where breakfast is served in the morning. Breakfast is cereal and cooked breakfast and it was lovely.
For dinner we walked to Columbina restaurant and can recommend it for a great Italian meal, although Grasmere is full of restaurants within walking distance. The Harwood also has it's own car park which can be a rareity in the lakes.
All in all we had a great stay even if it was just for one night. The breakfast was great and the staff really nice and helpful. I know some people have issues with being asked to take shoes off, however the day we arrived it was torrential rain and we were soaked through. The carpets are cream and plush and it is understandable to be asked to remove muddy walking boots and trainers. The only criticism is that the bed could have been a king not a double as the room could easily take it and it is a bit pricey but ok for a one off.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchdp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harwoodhotel, owner at Heidi's Grasmere Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2009
many thanks for your comments. we have now ordered a king size bed for this room and it should be in-situ shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My husband and I returned to Grasmere as part of our walking holiday, and our schedule only allowed us one additional night in Grasmere. We booked The Harwood Hotel on-line and had a wonderful experience.
Heidi, the owner also owns and runs the attached shop and cafe. She made us feel welcome, and was a great hostess. We stayed in Room 1 which is beautiful. It has an amazing balcony with views of the surrounding countryside; and as the hotel is in the heart of the village you can indulge in a spot of people watching too!
The room was beautifully furnished, with a huge shower which was great for the husband and I, as we are both very tall. The bath came with an amazing built in TV . So useful to catch a programme whilst having a soak.
Breakfast was a hearty affair served in part of the Cafe. It was also useful to know that guests were entitled to a 10% discount on items bought from the shop and cafe, so we stocked up on home-made preserves and locally produced ales.
The only slight crticism I would make of room 1 is that the husband and I would've liked a 'king-size' bed. The room can definitely take it, and when we discussed this with Heidi she said that it was something she was giving serious thought to.
We're hoping to return to the hotel later this year if the room has a larger bed.
Excellent room, welcoming staff and good food - definitely try it out!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wibby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harwoodhotel, owner at Heidi's Grasmere Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2009
great news - we have ordered a 'super king size bed' for this room. it is a special order and will take between 12 and 16 weeks. thank you for your comments. we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

I enjoyed my stay at the Harwood Hotel because the bed was great (excellent mattress and wonderful cotton sheets) and the shower was perfect. I was rather apprehensive after I got an email (after paying 50% of the considerable total sum as a non refundable deposit!) which stipulated that check in was strictly before 6 or an extra 10 GBP would have to paid. I replied that I was paying 115/night (why does the Tripadvisor page have GBP40?) for five nights, and that I expected someone to be there, at no extra cost. At that price I would have expected staff to be on duty. So there was someone there who was friendly and courteous, which was nice, and I made it in just before 6 anyway. I stayed in room 5 which is really a single room, with a bed which could accommodate either two children or 1 adult comfortably, and banged my head a couple of times on the low ceilings. The bathroom was great: clean, modern, brilliant shower, well equipped. Everything was spotless. I never saw the owner but managed to organize something with one of the staff to have a continental breakfast at 8:30 (so I could make my 9 am conference sessions), foregoing the full breakfast which was, rather rigidly I think, served at 8:45. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. I would recommend this hotel for its comfort and cleanliness, but, in my experience, not for its atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harwoodhotel, owner at Heidi's Grasmere Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2009
many thanks for your comments. this room is as described - a small, cosy room with double bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Property: Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Heidi's Grasmere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing