We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, highly recommended!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We have just returned from Grasmere and had a lovely few days in The Harwood Hotel.
We stayed in room 6 which is beautifully furnished.
Breakfast was very appetising and plenty to choose from.
It was my partners birthday whilst we were there and Heidi, kindly organised a birthday cake and bottle of wine which was well appreciated.
Television in the bathroom is great.
Will definately return at least another 5 times so i can try out all the rooms.
Thanks for a great few days.
If you read any of the negative reviews, ignore them. This place is great !!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durham036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2009

The Harwood has received many praises, may of which are fully justified. Its location is fantastic, staff are very friendly and the breakfast is second to none. However, we had a couple of minor points. We were allocated room 4 on arrival which, as indicated on the hotel's website, has very low ceiling beams. Unless you are 5ft tall the beams loose their charm after a few accidents. The room was perfectly clean but smelt of damp. The communal room was not particularly attractive and littered with storage boxes. If considering booking I would recommend avoiding room 4.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roosie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harwoodhotel, owner at Heidi's Grasmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2009

Rooms are never allocated on arrival, ever. Guests choose the room they wish to stay in and the website and booking confirmation confirms if there is low headroom so guests are fully aware of what they have booked. A smell of damp in the room is not something we are aware of. We have indeed recently received a furniture delivery and apologies have been made to guests who vey rarely utilise this beautiful lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We had a fantstic trip to grasmere, the welcome was so warming which was really personal as we had never been here before. The room was just right, we wanted quaint and romantic and that is exactly what we got. the location was perfect for a quiet break (we stayed mid week), we would highly recommend the Harwood and Heidi was lovley, Also If you see this Heidi we did visit Grinch in Manchester for lunch it was Fab!!! Thanks for your great hospitality, PS the room WILL be perfected with the new superking bed (especially with me being 6ft4") Gemma had no problem as she is only 5ft2"

Once again thanks
Ben and Gem.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBSAUTOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harwoodhotel, owner at Heidi's Grasmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2009

Glad you both enjoyed your stay with us and knew you would love Grinch!!!!! Come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We visited the Harwood for my Birthday, staying 4 nights and had booked room 3 with the Jacuzzi bath. It was clear that the reviews had been listened too and there is now a King size bed in the room which was very comfortable. The room was charming and pretty, the bathroom large and functional, the underfloor heating was a bonus......

It was a perfect base for walking and lots of good restaurants in Grasmere, we can highly recommend The Jumble Room and the restaurant in Tweedies bar.

The breakfast was very hearty one very freshly cooked, sadly too large for me, but my bacon and grilled tomatoes each day just hit the spot. The food in the cafe was also great. I took my Aloe Juice and each morning it was put out for me and they even wrapped my own glass up for me to take home.

The service was good especially the girl in the morning who we never caught her name, Heidi was also helpful and offered to move us as the rain was quite noisy for two of the nights we were there. We also had a sneak peak at Room 1 which was lush, and next time I think we would book that one.

We definitely would come back but out of season as its just soo much better

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaisonBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harwoodhotel, owner at Heidi's Grasmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2009

thanks for your comments. your feedback is appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed at The Harwood for 7 nights in mid September in room 2 and have to say it was delightful. Everything you want from a B&B Hotel. The room was clean, nicely decorated and exactly as described on the website. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and we were made to feel very welcome and to complete the package a good hearty breakfast! We would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

I am not going to say to much as it has been said in all of then other reviews. The hotel is in the centre of Grasmere, it is a fantastic location and made all the better by the staff. Heidi runs a great place! I stayed in room 5 which although small (as advertised) it was very comfortable; however, be warned if you are tall you are going to bang your head! If I had a negative it would be having breakfast at a set time but the breakfast itself is good fare and plenty of it!
Great hotel, great staff, great place and central to some great walks!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJP100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Service was friendly and helpful at all times and from all staff members especially Heidi. Room 6 - was excellent including when we sat on the roof terrace with a bottle of wine in the sun.

Breakfast was very good and a good selection of local restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baggie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,512 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,210 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: £87 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing