We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but more choice on menu please...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rowan Tree - CLOSED

The Rowan Tree
Cuisines: British, Cafe
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good but more choice on menu please...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Been coming to this place for a couple of years and it is a shame they no longer do a full English or even scrambled eggs on toast, and am surprised they have limited their choice. However, went there recently and the sandwich was nice and the staff were very polite and cheery. Would go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“first visit stopped for a break seem a nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

we stopped for a break during the day so we had beautiful scones with fresh cream and jam along with coffee latte which was lovely. what a place to sit outside on the patio watching the river flow bye and the varies types of ducks that are waiting for your crumbs., while we were sat outside a small robin landed on the back of the spare seat then jumped onto the table to pinch the crumbs, he must have done this before lol.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arch0496a5lk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good setting but poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We decided to eat here because of its lovely location on the side of the river. Unfortunately the food was a let down. I had a baked potato which tasted old and re-heated and my husband had a sausage sandwich which he described as 'below average'. My sister enjoyed the flavour her goats cheese panini but said it was not hot inside. The cakes looked good but after the disappointment of main course we decided not to stay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J04NN3_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“relaxed and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

yummy cafe.
shame it's not open later at night - would go for pud!
Good choice of lunches/ snacks/ cakes.
cosy atmosphere.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank atypicalpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Used to be very good, but now I wouldnt visit again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Like others we have been visiting the Rowan Tree for years, and the food was excellent and great value. But now it looks like there has been a change in ownership and the standard of the food has plummeted. Bland flavours, little or no imagination, poor presentation, altogether I cannot describe fully how this place has changed which is a great shame because it used to be a lovely destination after a long walk. The current owners need to shape up....

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rowan Tree also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing