We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing square about these dishes from the four corners...”
Review of Jumble Room

Jumble Room
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$76
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Jumble Room in Grasmere is now in its 20th year and from very humble beginnings their ethos has remained the same...Take the very best local and where possible organic ingredients and cook them with love and care.. Our small colourful little restaurant in Grasmere has become internationally renowned, not for pomp and circumstance but for a place to relax and forget our mad and hectic lifestyles...to escape....switch off... if only for a little while.... and leave with the light glowing a little brighter! It is said of the jumble room that it has soul, a small bohemian style restaurant, casual, honest, restorative and uncompromising in the pursuit of quality Prepared with love and served with pride!
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing square about these dishes from the four corners...”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A quirky restaurant in the middle of Grasmere. The menu offers something genuinely different to anywhere else we’ve eaten, not to say that the food is off-puttingly weird, just imaginative. The Dithoise chicken alone is worth making a special trip to Grasmere. Definitely need to book ahead.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    150
    60
    33
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having read very good reviews in the Times , The Telegraph & Guardian we thought we should give it a try. We loved this restaurant. Arrived for an early supper to friendly and warm welcome. A short menu selection but something to suite all tastes but we had trouble deciding - we could have eaten a few of them! . Recommend Tiger Prawns for starter - delish! Husband had the Thia fish curry special and I wasn't disappointed with my choice either.
Decor is quirky & eclectic mix - a bit different but comfortable and relaxing.
Do try this restaurant - it's a little gem!.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Remotelyworking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

we visited on the last night of our stay for a special occasion - the food was fabulous. it worth the slightly higher price tag....and the atmosphere is lovely. owners are happy to spend time explaining the food and drinks and giving recommendations. highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria_case
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food in most pleasing surroundings”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent food in unusual but very pleasing surroundings. Efficient and friendly service. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Still very good”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is my eighth and ninth visit to the Jumble Room. Had not been for four years so interested to see if it is still the same great experience and wonderful food. The first night all three of my courses were good but not outstanding (crab, lamb special, elderflower pannacotta), I was with my brother and he had the same opinion about the Moroccan chicken main. His ham hock terrine was brilliant. The second night we did much better arancini nibble was stunning (not at all heavy), my onion Bhaji starter was fantastic - highly recommended, our two fish mains were good (sea bass and a very good salmon special). The duck spring roll starter didn't really work though it was well done. The rushbearing gingerbread was very good with its accompaniments but a bit heavy on its own. Outstanding on both nights was the bread - really top class.
Overall the wonderful ambience and relaxed but attentive service were as good as ever.
The JR is still a very good dining experience at around £50 per head including a good wine. Presentation of the food is excellent but it has lost some of the refinement in tastes and textures that were formerly present in every item. We did notice that the owners were not in evidence on either evening and maybe this is a contributory factor. It is definitely worth a visit and I would recommend going for the more unusual things on the menu because this is where the JR shines. Book a table upstairs if you can!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MattSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jumble Room also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Jumble Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing