We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jumble Room

Jumble Room
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$74
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Jumble Room in Grasmere is now in its 20th year and from very humble beginnings their ethos has remained the same...Take the very best local and where possible organic ingredients and cook them with love and care.. Our small colourful little restaurant in Grasmere has become internationally renowned, not for pomp and circumstance but for a place to relax and forget our mad and hectic lifestyles...to escape....switch off... if only for a little while.... and leave with the light glowing a little brighter! It is said of the jumble room that it has soul, a small bohemian style restaurant, casual, honest, restorative and uncompromising in the pursuit of quality Prepared with love and served with pride!
liverpool
Level Contributor
150 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A lovely night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

A birthday treat for me. Really enjoyed the prawns and arancini to start. Lovely bread and house rioja. Seabass and the Morrocan chicken were very tasty followed by a delicious key lime cheesecake. Not the cheapest but a fantastic birthday splurge!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nittynora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    140
    59
    33
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hanmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quirky, bohemian and eclectic - what a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This small yet wondrous restaurant welcomes you in with a big bear hug and delivers on every level. The service is lovely, the menu is eclectic and mouth-watering, the portions are more than generous and the decor is intriguing and beguiling. I loved it! There are some deft touches such as the starched linen napkins which hold your cutlery in little pockets and the beautiful wine glasses.
I had the tempura king prawns with squid ink aioli - bliss on a stick and the Dithoise Chicken which was moist, full of flavour and stuffed with pumpkin and sunflower seeds and ground almonds and honey. Suffice to say I would like the recipe. If you are fed up with the same old looking menu everywhere you go then go to The Jumble Room for a breath of foodie fresh air.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BelindaDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“GREAT LITTLE RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We visited the restaurant on an Sunday and it was busy, the service was excellent and the soup and indian bahjis starter followed by fish dishes superb we couldn't eat an sweet , the mens toliet was different with rock albums through the ages on the walls and the general decor was quirky but an good atmosphere we would go back, prices what you would expect for this type of establishment nice to have Coniston bluebird in bottles

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thornabyfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Simply a crown jewel in Grasmere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

A genuinely warm welcome from the owner was the start of a magnificent meal, in an intimate, comfortable, informal and memorable setting. A definite find and can't be recommended too highly!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“So almost there BUT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have always loved this place and been many times, why did the maitre de have to spoil it tonight. It's not cheap to aether but the food is of an excellent standard. You do have to wait and we don't that, but tonight I was cross - after 20 minutes waiting to order a pudding we lost it and didn't bother. When I said we would have had a pud but it was now a big late the maître de had a strop - just not acceptable.
So sad as I do love the place but you spoilt it for us tonight

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jandmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jumble Room also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Jumble Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing