We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

The Wordsworth Signature Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 44 Restaurants in Grasmere
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa in Grasmere is a luxurious and historic Lakes District Hotel that has hosted royalty, American presidents and world famous artists and poets. With its spectacular views out across the village of Grasmere and its access to the beautiful walks within the Lake District National Park ��� this is a fantastic weekend escape, and the hotel���s Signature Restaurant provides a two AA rosette worthy British menu. This restaurant has a cosy neutral d��cor with lashings of taupe and burgundy, and the family-run nature of this establishment ensures friendly service. Highlights from the menu include the breast of Scottish guinea fowl pot-roasted with broad beans and pancetta served with saffron potatoes, broccoli and red cabbage.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The staff in the bar and restaurant were friendly, attentive and the service overall was excellent. The 4 course dinner was delicious, well presented and served in good time, not rushed and not left waiting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeninuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    43
    15
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We dined here on our last night of a romantic break for my girlfriends birthday.

The manager kindly let us dine despite running a little late, this couldn't of been a more perfect last night of our stay in the lakes.

It was by no means cheap at over £100, but well worth every penny !!!

I like the best and are more than happy to pay for it.

That is just what we received. The very best.

We had a lovely romantic meal and have very fond memories of her birthday away, it was truly special, just as she is to me x

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Whitehead_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“the end of an era”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have had dinner on a number of occasions in the signature restaurant , unfortunately our last dining experience has left a lot to be desired,
on arrival we ordered pre dinner drinks in the bar , we had hardly touched our drinks when we were quickly taken to our table in the restaurant, we both had souffle for starter which was unusually served out of the ramekins the texture was heavy & more like a quiche , for the main course we had steaks one was very thin and under cooked the other was an over seared fillet which made the steak tough on the outside , for the sweet course we ordered the sharing sweet for two this looked impressive but was very bland. One of the staff members told us they were rushed off there feet because some staff had gone sick that day , unfortunately this affected the service . At £38 per head & a Supplement for steak , and no coffee to finish this seems to be very expensive for an ordinary meal .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great food great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great, often local food and well cooked. Served by pleasant non stuffy staff in a wonderful atmosphere. Would recommend and have eaten here 3 or 4 times its always been good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familyD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Excellent quality food, great service
Had an amazing dinner and breakfast and would definitely recommend

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wordsworth Signature Restaurant also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to The Wordsworth Signature Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing