We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting!!”

The Wordsworth Signature Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wordsworth Signature Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa in Grasmere is a luxurious and historic Lakes District Hotel that has hosted royalty, American presidents and world famous artists and poets. With its spectacular views out across the village of Grasmere and its access to the beautiful walks within the Lake District National Park ��� this is a fantastic weekend escape, and the hotel���s Signature Restaurant provides a two AA rosette worthy British menu. This restaurant has a cosy neutral d��cor with lashings of taupe and burgundy, and the family-run nature of this establishment ensures friendly service. Highlights from the menu include the breast of Scottish guinea fowl pot-roasted with broad beans and pancetta served with saffron potatoes, broccoli and red cabbage.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Interesting!!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner experience - the food was excellent with service to match.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Warringtonian1673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    45
    16
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whaley Bridge
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great meals and service”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were staying at The Wordsworth hotel for our anniversary and got a Amazon Local deal for this hotel. The first night included a meal in their signature restaurant.
Cannot fault the food, the service or the staff.!!! all brilliant and all 100%.
Alex - a member of staff excelled himself during all our our stay.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ChickyWicky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Customer service at its best!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We were seated in the conservatory and served canapés and sparking wine. We had booked the table for quarter to 9 but were still waiting at 9 for someone to take our order and show us to the dining room. The head waiter apologised and offered us another glass of sparking wine and promptly took our order.
We were shown to a lovely table window and were offered a choice of bread rolls.
We were brought a sweet potato with a touch of garlic velouté which was out of this world. This was quickly followed by our starters of ham hock terrine. The taste fusions were amazing and worth far more than the two rosettes this restaurant has.
The mains of fillet steak were brought out. We both eat our steaks medium rare but the second I cut into it I knew they were wrong - practically cremated. We sent them back to the kitchen. The restaurant manager apologised profusely and deducted the cost of the supplement from our bill. When the replacement steaks arrived they were faultless - totally amazing! My dessert was complementary of the meal and totally taste fantastic!
The staff were so lovely and made every effort to do everything they could for us. The way the restaurant manager handled the steak situation was exactly right and although it was a mistake everyone is human which is why I have graded this as 5 stars. It was dealt with professionally.
Thank you very much for a totally amazing meal.

Helpful?
Thank KTandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The staff in the bar and restaurant were friendly, attentive and the service overall was excellent. The 4 course dinner was delicious, well presented and served in good time, not rushed and not left waiting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeninuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but worth every penny”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We dined here on our last night of a romantic break for my girlfriends birthday.

The manager kindly let us dine despite running a little late, this couldn't of been a more perfect last night of our stay in the lakes.

It was by no means cheap at over £100, but well worth every penny !!!

I like the best and are more than happy to pay for it.

That is just what we received. The very best.

We had a lovely romantic meal and have very fond memories of her birthday away, it was truly special, just as she is to me x

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Whitehead_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wordsworth Signature Restaurant also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to The Wordsworth Signature Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing