We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Grassings Country House
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ann Tysons House(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Inn Hotel(Hawkshead)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Hawkshead(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ivy Guest House(Hawkshead)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
US$141
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterhead Hotel(Coniston)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Red Lion Inn(Hawkshead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
113
21
9
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
21
9
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrunken duckthe barnamerican style pancakeslake districtlonger stayouter roomprivate terraceunderfloor heatingfantastic viewsdouble bedfriendly and helpful ownersdouble aspectideal for familieswonderful stayspent one night hereon arrivalfull english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed for one night last month for a weekend away and loved it. Fantastic spot and lovely owners. Were very late getting into gear to clear off in the morning but this was no trouble for the friendly owners. Will return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TravellingTandV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My husband and I, together with two friends from Austria, visited High Grassings at the end of October 2012, as a treat for my husbands 75th birthday. It really lived up to its AA four star rating. David and his family could not have treated us better. Very clean and warm bedroom plus excellent breakfast. David provided us with local information on the beautiful walks in the area, which we used. Our three nights stay there will certainly not be our last!! Chris & Joe Garnett, Rugby

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Thank you again once more for your hospitality during our recent stay with you.We will continue to return to your beautiful home in the most outstanding of British countryside.I am sorry to have waited so long,despite staying with you numerous times,until I have posted a comment on this site.It was so nice to see you at your local inn where we could appreciate a few of the wonderful local ales.We would very much like to come back & stay for the New Year but maybe a little too far to travel for a 1/2 night stay.Thank you so much again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stewart h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband and I along with two French friends spent one night at High Grassings in October 2012. The rooms and breakfast were alright and the house had lovely views. However we had a very unfortunate experience with the owners. The woman came to my room and insisted that I come with her to see the mess on the stair carpet. When I reached the top of the stairs her husband was at the bottom and began shouting at me in a most aggressive way saying that I had trodden sheep dung onto his carpet. (He used a much more basic word for dung.) I tried to explain that he was accusing the wrong person but he carried on shouting. I fetched my French friend and we established that her husband had inadvertantly trodden in the dung. There was a sign on the outside door very high up asking people to remove their muddy boots but this was difficult to see for a small person and also my friends do not understand English. Although my friend and I offered to clean the carpet, and subsequently did so, both owners continued to shout at us in a most agressive way. Had I not paid in advance I would have left immediately. Whilst the owners had a right to complain, their way of doing so was completely out of order.The steps leading from the car park to the main door were very steep and uneven and so very difficult to negociate especially for my disabled husband. Moreover,when we went out for our evening meal there was no outside lighting although some had been switched on when we came back.
I could not wait to leave. How did this place receive an AA four star rating?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norma_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DD8L, Manager at High Grassings Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Clear sign with picture to remove dirty footwear which is understandable in all languages. Unbelievable people will walk into accommodation premises with not only muddy footwear but also farm yard muck . Cost £ 75 to have carpets professionally cleaned also loss of 1 night room let . In total it cost us £165.
Not even an apology was given .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night. It was hard to find and one of the proprietors did not speak much English and could not offer directions to their home. However, once we found the B&B things got better. We were shown to a beautiful room with a really nice view. It was a little tight but after going back into town for dinner, all we needed was some sleep. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast the next morning was very nice as well. We have stayed in many B&B's and would recommend to the owners to add a bell or something outside their private residence. There were a couple of times that we needed to ask questions and with nobody around (parents have small children) we felt awkward to keep knocking on their door and then waiting for a while for someone to respond. I would also recommend that some good directions be made available as this place is out in the middle of the country with no signage whatsoever. A few tweaks and this place could be a winner. All in, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midntmtncatfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews