We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Haven!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Grassings Country House
Ranked #8 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed April 14 and we were lucky to have experienced Val and Steve's hospitality. Val has to be one of the kindest hoteliers we have met. The room (barn) was gorgeous, huge super king bed super comfy bed, great shower (always piping hot!) and wonderful views. The room itself was perfect but would have proved better value if more than two occupying as there was a second bedroom with equally as comfy double bed. Breakfast was plentiful and offered a specific vegetarian option (a rarity!). Nothing was too much trouble for Val and we would like to thank you Val for making our stay truly memorable........Andy & Wendy

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendywitwoo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just spent 2 wonderful nights here. Val and Stephen can't do enough for you. They are one of the most friendliest B&B owners we have ever come across. Accommodation is fabulous. Food plentiful. Spectacular views. Gorgeous location. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Have just left High Grassings today after spending 2 nights in the Barn Suite. The room was fabulous,spacious and clean. The bed was enormous! & the heated floor in the bathroom is a welcome treat for tired feet :)
Valerie & Stephen couldn't be more kind and helpful!
Views are stunning and breakfast is plentiful & tasty :)
I can honestly say,one of the best b&b's I have stayed in and we will defiantly be back :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank haleyb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at High Grassings for one night--what a mistake! Wished we'd stayed longer as it was not that far from Ambleside or Keswick.

We had really good weather whilst visiting the Lakes District, avg 16C each day and had just visited Beatrix Potter's Gallery and Hill Top Farm. So when we arrived at High Grassings, we can fully appreciated why she loved the area so much! We had a corner room that had views from 2 large windows, crisp white linen, soft towels, immaculate room and a nice array of teas, with a thoughtful touch of biscuits.

Host Valerie and Steven were very warm and friendly and on hand to provide a wonderful cooked breakfast in the morning. As we reflected on our trip to the Lakes and walking around the area, High Grassings would have been a beautiful place to base ourselves instead of the smaller B&Bs lying cheek to jowl next to each other in town.

Here you have space, tranquility and elegance. Really, it's not that difficult to locate either. Excellent in every way.Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: The corner room--(Illewyn?) is a great one to go for!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glorique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

High Grassings is a hidden gem in a stunning picturesque part of the Lake District, but not very far from the major site seeing areas. We booked last minute for one night on 'late rooms' but next time we will be ringing the owners direct (no need to bother with late rooms!!!).
The owners Val and Stephen are really friendly, and welcoming they have plenty of knowledge for dinning, exploring and shopping. Val even made us afternoon tea on the day we arrived. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable and we had beautiful mountain views from two windows, what a 'wow' factor to wake up in the morning!!!
The breakfast is freshly cooked to order with plenty of choices on the menu. The dining room is overlooking the mountain views.... better than any hotel I have stayed at in the Lake District. We felt like we were staying with a member of our family.. it was such an 'easy come easy go' atmosphere. You can take your own wine which, the owners will store for you.. and enjoy a drink at your leisure in the comfortable lounge with its georgeous stove fire.
We will definitely be booking again but for a longer stay. Thanks Steve and Val!
Peter and Geraldine x

Room Tip: The Barn Suite is stunning............
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Myself and my partner spent a weekend here, and the who,e weekend was highly enjoyable. We were greeted with a warm welcome and shown around. The room was lovely and clean, breakfast was delicious. The owners were brilliant, just giving you enough attention without being over the top. In a great peaceful location. If you do stay here be sure to visit The Drunken Duck for food and drinks, only a 20 minute walk but well worth is as the food is amazing.

A great location to visit all of the lakes. We shall be definitely staying again.

Room Tip: Take a bottle of wine with you and the owners were more than happy to place in the fridge for us and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P_Codd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked two rooms for a family break. High Grassings was referred by a local B&B that I'd stayed in previously but was fully booked on this occassion.
The house is nicely furnished/decorated and everything is of a good quality standard.
Rooms were spacious and the views are absolutely superb !
The road carries very little traffic so it's really quiet. Stephen and Valerie were welcoming and helpful and made great hosts and helped with one or two extras. We had dogs with us that slept in the vehicle but were welcome to run around in the grounds which extend to several acres.
All in all, a brilliant place to stay and I would certainly re visit.

Room Tip: Helvellyn has windows on both sides, improving the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
2.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,736 reviews
3.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
0.5 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
346 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Grassings Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Grassings Country House

Address: Sunny Brow | Outgate, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range: £53 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Grassings Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your High Grassings Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Grassings Hotel Hawkshead
High Grassings Country House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing