We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Grassings Country House
Ranked #8 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Me and my girlfriend returned from Lake District on Monday after staying at high grassings for the weekend and we really enjoyed our stay. We arrived really five hours before checkin but wanted to see where we were staying first , Stephen came out to greet us as soon as we pulled up and said it was all ready and we could checkin even though we was super early!. As soon as we walked in Valerie came to greet us as well and we found them to be very warming and polite throughout our stay and very attentive. The B and B in itself was absolutely spotless and the view of our room overlooking the countryside was gorgeous!. It was a very spacey room and the bed was extra comfy for a good nights sleep. The breakfast was lovely and the service was excellent , such a variety from English fry up to cereals, fruit, yoghurts and much more. If we were to go back to Lake District we would definitely be booking at high grassings with Stephen and Valerie again and I would recommend this to anyone!!. Billy and Bianca

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend staying at High Grassings and we have had the most wonderful time. Our weekend started with a friendly warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Lots of local knowledge was shared with us. A pleasant 2 mile walk to hawkshead to delightful pubs with amazing food (however booking is recommended). A five star B&B with five star plus hosts. Thank you for your hospitality.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MissBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have just returned from a four nights stay at High Grassings where we were made very welcome by Valerie and Stephen. We stayed in Helvellyn, an upstairs room with the most beautiful views from double aspect windows from the garden to a field beyond where we watched the lambs and their mothers, and beyond that the mountains. I can't imagine a lovelier place to be, and the sun shone!! We had an excellent breakfast to set us on our way each day, and in the evening there were two restaurants within a mile of High Grassings, Our last meal before leaving was at the Drunken Duck highly recommended on this website and rightly so. Others have covered so many of the good things. So much is due to the host and hostess, their friendliness and helpfulness which made for a very happy holiday. Thank you Val and Stephen.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suehod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a lovely B&B very well maintained and lovely decoration. The room was spacious with a gorgeous view. The breakfast was delicious and the service excellent!! With such lovely garden and flowers, it was a bit disappointing to see plastic flowers in the room and dinning room. Despite the excellent service and room, we felt the price was a bit too high at £95 though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

From the moment we arrived, Val and Stephen could not do enough for us. From helping carry the bags in, to making us both a welcome cup of tea to drink in the cosy sitting room, next to the log-burning fire, looking out over spectacular views, we were treated to the highest standard of welcomes.
Our room was terrific. Really comfortable bed, plenty towels, TV, en-suite shower room, tea and coffee, complimentary toiletries, hairdryer. All the trappings of a really great hotel, and way more than we would have expected at a B&B.
The first morning we woke to the sunrise over the hills from our bedroom window, and it was spectacular. Quite a sight.
Breakfasts were excellent, with an extensive menu to choose from, and I dare say that if it wasn't on the menu, Stephen and Valerie would make sure they sourced it for you. I asked for a pot of mint tea, and was treated to fresh mint they had picked from the garden.
Nothing was a bother for them both. We borrowed a map to go walking from them, and a torch to find our way back from the pub! They both really knew the area well too so could advise us on great places to walk, eat and visit. All of which were exactly as they described, and the eateries were of the same high standard they adhered to in their own B&B (try The Drunken Duck or The Sun Inn for food, if you're in the area. Excellent).
Located about 1.5 miles from Hawkshead (which was very easy to walk to) in one direction, and the same again from The Drunken Duck in the other, this is a great location to base your time in The Lakes.
The only disappointing part is hearing that Stephen and Valerie will be taking early retirement this year so High Grassings will also be going into early retirement too. This is an absolute gem of a B&B, with such high standards of hospitality we think you'll be hard pressed to find anywhere else that even comes close.
Thanks go to them both for a great couple of days. We wish Stephen and Valerie the very best for a long and happy retirement, and hope they find many great places to visit just that are just as fabulous as their own.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house give you a spectacular view of the sunrise every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank den1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed April 14 and we were lucky to have experienced Val and Steve's hospitality. Val has to be one of the kindest hoteliers we have met. The room (barn) was gorgeous, huge super king bed super comfy bed, great shower (always piping hot!) and wonderful views. The room itself was perfect but would have proved better value if more than two occupying as there was a second bedroom with equally as comfy double bed. Breakfast was plentiful and offered a specific vegetarian option (a rarity!). Nothing was too much trouble for Val and we would like to thank you Val for making our stay truly memorable........Andy & Wendy

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendywitwoo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just spent 2 wonderful nights here. Val and Stephen can't do enough for you. They are one of the most friendliest B&B owners we have ever come across. Accommodation is fabulous. Food plentiful. Spectacular views. Gorgeous location. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
2.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,731 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
345 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Grassings Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Grassings Country House

Address: Sunny Brow | Outgate, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range: £68 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Grassings Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your High Grassings Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Grassings Hotel Hawkshead
High Grassings Country House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing