We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Outgate Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Outgate Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We spent a delightful two nights at the Outgate Inn which has three comfortable and clean bedrooms above the pub, which is situated one mile from Hawkshead. The welcome we received was second to none from hosts Sue and Keith. We had already looked on Trip Advisor and were informed by lots of people that the food at this establishment was fantastic. They were not wrong!!! It was better than fantastic with plenty of choice from the menu or specials board, nicely presented and value for money and the breakfasts were very filling. NOTE: Prebook your table as the restaurant is very popular with passing trade and locals.There was excellent car parking faciliies.We would have no hesitation in going back and can't recommend it highly enough. Thank you Sue, Keith, bar staff and the chef for a smashing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evelyne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and wished it could have been longer. The food was superb, imaginative menu, beautifully presented, combined with excellent service and very friendly staff. Breakfast was as good as dinner, with a good choice of food. All the staff were friendly and professional, we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 6 has 2 singles which can be made up to a king size, otherwise double bed only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We arrived for a 3 day break along with friends and our dog and were given a warm welcome. We had evening meal at the pub the first night and were so impressed, we ate ether the following 2 nights. Great place to stay, friendly staff and owners, topped off by great quality food at a good price for the location. Recommended strongly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianman35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Hubby and I and our doggie called in here one lunchtime, we had been for a walk and the sign outside saying muddy boots and dogs welcome decided it for us. The menu was varied, I had chicken,mozzarella and pesto ciabatta, it was presented with a salad and pickle and potato rosti,very tasty and reasonable too. The portion was huge and it kept me going all day. Staff were friendly and attentive and we would definitely return. Would love to have an evening meal there one day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kazal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Very welcoming.Arrived to a pub bustling and atmospheric,with a roaring fire and our table reserved right next to it.
On first glance at the menu it looks like standard pub grub,nothing wrong with that except this food is not standard.Everything is cooked and presented beautifully.Friendly attentive service and genuine interest in your plans for your stay.
The owners have 2 dogs and so dogs are made just as welcome as human guests,but the owner is very considerate in always checking with guests before allowing his own dogs downstairs into the pub.
There is a real sense of history too and the pub makes an excellent base for walkers.
Will hopefully be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazaElswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

If you are looking for a warm welcome, fabulous food and an extremely comfortable bed in the Lake District then look no further. This place is fantastic, the staff take great care of you from start to finish and the landlord and landlady are perfect hosts. As for the chef... can that man cook !!! and the portions are amazing.

Perfectly situated for visiting all the local places of interest with great walks on your doorstep.

An added bonus is that your dog is also made very welcome.

We will go back ( if we can find a time when they are not fully booked)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4sheepdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We visited the Outgate 3 times during a weeks stay , and the food was superb !! , have got to say the lunchtime special at the moment is fantastic value £5 for a meal , which is proper home cooked and beautiful , even the evening menu is brilliantly priced and excellent value for money , well worth a ride to visit this Inn , will return on our next visit to the lakes

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
3.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,417 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,084 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
344 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outgate Inn

Address: Outgate, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Outgate Hotel Hawkshead
Outgate Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing