We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'OUR FIRST CHOICE'”
Review of Waterside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterside House
Ranked #11 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SATFFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“'OUR FIRST CHOICE'”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed in the Barn for 5 nights (with our 2 month old baby) and I can say that nothing was too much trouble for Sharon who is a perfect host.The breakfast is second to none,the Barn is clean and comfortable and you can just walk outside for some lovely views across the hills and to the right a walk across a field and there is Estwaite water.
We stay in Hawkshead 3 to 4 times a year and Waterside is always our first choice........having stayed in several places in the village we always try and book with Sharon first as it is simply the best we have experienced.
Five minute walk to the village which is nice as you are close enough to enjoy the pubs etc but also can have some solitude if required back at Waterside.
For eating try the Sun Cafe (next to the Sun Inn).......serve food all afternoon and well worth a visit although after the huge but lovely breakfast you probably will not want to eat again until the evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTSTOKIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We have stayed in the Barn with our 2 dogs and this is our 4th visit. Excellent accommodation, very comfortable, plenty of room, and a great place to start many local walks.
The breakfast is fantastic and huge! Sharon is a perfect host and nothing is too much trouble. We have booked again for next year.
Pete & Carole Macclesfield

Room Tip: The barn is ideal if you need a bit extra space as you have your own lounge. Great for children and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I stayed in the barn for two nights with my partner. This was our second stay in the barn at Waterside House.

The service we received was very good and friendly, the room was clean and tidy, plenty of space. Breakfast was delicious and plenty!

Hawkshead is very peaceful, not much to do in the village. Buses dont run very often and stop at about tea-time.

I would recommend for a quiet and relaxing break.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Perfect B&B. Location is ideal for Hawkshead, a gentle 5 minute stroll. situated nicely out of the village so no noisy roads at night, a perfect nights sleep.
Breakfast is great, Sharon is a perfect host. Our ideal B&B, own door to access your room without disturbing anyone.
My 3rd visit to this B&B, highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captainslow_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cerney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We stayed at Waterside House, a short walk from Hawkshead village, over Easter. We were in 'the Barn'. which was perfect for us as we put the baby's cot downstairs and had a separate bedroom upstairs. It was lovely and clean, with everything we needed; a bath and a good shower, plenty of space for all our stuff, and our own front door; we could come and go without disturbing anyone.

Breakfast was served in the main house, and was probably the best B&B breakfast I've eaten. with a big pot of fresh coffee too. We were very well looked after by Sharon, and will book again when we go back to Hawkshead.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldsRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawkshead hotels
0.3 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
High Grassings Country House
0.2 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#10 of 23 in Hawkshead
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside House

Property: Waterside House
Address: Waterside House Hannakin, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Waterside House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing