We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to leave”
Review of Waterside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterside House
Ranked #10 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sorry to leave”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

What a wonderful place. we stayed for a long weekend with our dog Radley, The property has 3 letting rooms and our party took all 3. Spotlessly clean lovely and warm very comfy and cosy. Each room has a different color scheme and all are tastefully decorated. vanessa our wonderful host sends you off every day with an amazing breakfast. we will be back

Room Tip: Nicest Bed and Breakfast in the lakes, and definitely a higher standard than many hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evertonsupporters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SATFFORDSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Spent 3 days over the New Year in the Barn and as normal our stay was delightful. We have stayed at Waterside at least a dozen times and it is always our first port of call when we book in the area as having tried many B&B's in Hawkshead this is simply the best.Vanessa is a great host and nothing is too much trouble, she simply wants you to have the best hoilday possible and will go out of her way to ensure you do. The breakfast was excellent and there is a lot of choice, the Barn was as good as ever and to be honest we would not contemplate staying anywhere else in Hawkshead unless of course we couldn't book with Vanessa (which might happen soon as her ratings are so good!). We are already back at the end of this year and if possible we will be trying for a couple of long weekends as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTSTOKIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Loved it, can't wait to go back, perfect location for mountain biking and road biking, the room was really nice too and the full English was the nicest I have ever had :) can't wait to return, going to book as soon as possible

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a super and lucky find!!
Stayed at Waterside House for the 1st time (won't be the last) with my wife and almost 4 year old granddaughter, Sarah during October mid-term. It was everything we could hope for.

Vanessa is the perfect hostess. When I booked I told Vanessa, Sarah was going to have a birthday at the end of our visit and there was a birthday gift awaiting her and the breakfast room had birthday banners round the wall. Excellent touch and Sarah was really chuffed.

Our accommodation was "The Barn" - which has a well appointed lounge and upstairs bathroom/toilet and very large double bedroom. For Sarah, there was a zed-bed with a Tinkerbell duvet (again, lovely touch). The layout gave my wife and I freedom to watch TV after Sarah had gone to bed and we could make use of the wine glasses / tea making facilities provided. As the nights were getting colder we appreciated the excellent central heating system which gave us the warmth and ample hot water required.

Breakfast was well cooked and as much as you wanted - you won't go away hungry.

Short walk into Hawkshead saved on high cost of car parking and if you're guests of Waterside you can get 10% discount on meals at King's Arms in village (car park free after 6:00pm).

Vanessa is full of life and makes you more than welcome with details of how to get about the area and other useful tips.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royalcaribbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I have stayed at this B&B many times over the years. Once ran by Sharon but recently taken over by Vanessa and what a grand job she does. She can't do enough for you.

Rooms are spotless and location is beautiful next to Esthwaite water. 10min walk from the village of Hawkshead.

Will contine to return again and again. Check it out!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shh1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This B&B is brilliant. We had the "barn" which is a self contained "one bed house", spacious lounge downstairs with a comfy sofa bed and chairs, bathroom and large bedroom upstairs. A 2min walk from the garden brought us to the edge of the lake which was very tranquil.
Vanessa is a full of life, bubbly lady who is so helpful, friendly and welcoming.
We also booked another room for my Mum, that too was very spacious..
Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Get the "barn" if it is available, short of a kitchen, it is a one bed house, very novel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytholmroyd, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Travelled with nursepenelope and other members of our family - booked all 3 rooms to attend a family wedding nearby. Vanessa has been the most helpful B&B owner I've ever met. In the run up to the wedding I rang her a few times (having to change the booking and ask her about how many people she could accomodate) and she was never phased. We eventually arrived on Friday and had the most wonderful stay. Lovely setting, peaceful, picturesque and stunning accomodation. Nothing was too much trouble. Toys for children (including outdoor play area) and visits from other family members on the day of the wedding. She provided excellent breakfast (the one I managed to eat)! and even ran to orange juice for a 'bucks fizz' before we left for the church. She even knew how to deal with hangovers and extended the use of 2 of the rooms to allow time to recover - for this I was extremely grateful! Thankyou for a lovely stay. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: All three were of equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brettbertshawandkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawkshead hotels
0.3 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old School House
The Old School House
#7 of 23 in Hawkshead
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside House

Property: Waterside House
Address: Waterside House Hannakin, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Waterside House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing