We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax with a Coffee !”
Review of The Sun Tea Rooms

The Sun Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Hawkshead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Small but quirky cafe home of the giant cakes but also serving full meals from soups to our own cured and smoked meats
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Relax with a Coffee !”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great little cafe for nice break for coffee and big slices of cake all done at a fair price,can get busy at popular times of year !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank standawson52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    72
    15
    6
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Need to brush up on hygiene”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Had a slice of cake, was really enjoying it until the young girl serving was using her bare hands to put the cake on to plates, no hand washing facilities are available, she was touching her hair constantly and handling money inbetween using her bare hands to handle food. On this basis I won't be returning unless hygiene procedures improved.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 2008fbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traceynpaul, Owner at The Sun Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
So sorry about your experience at our cafe.Just wished you had said something instead of posting this via your mobile,because we would have said sorry and explained to you that we had just had a refit (hence the smell of paint) and a lot of things were not in place ,but we have mouths to feed just as my staff do .THe thing we cannot understand (living with two chefs) is the bare hand comment correct me if I am wrong from my two chefs to the famous roux family,Delia smith and the one and only fanny carddock BARE HANDS are always used when handling food Not a rubber glove insight have a nice life
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Swan Cake”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Our yearly visit to this superb little restaurant did not disappoint. Friendly service, superb food, and if you like cake, you will judge every other cake in the country/world by the cakes served here.
Felt like a little kid all over again...and at 52 years young, that's not too bad. Give it a try, see how it makes you feel.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kly
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best choc cake ever :)”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Biggest slab of cake you are ever likely to find!! Lovey scone just wish they'd had a little cream altho enough of that was on cake we shared so can't complain!! Only marked down one as had to remind the youngest assistant of an extra cake we ordered and she never heard we asked for tea, but all staff were smiley and helpful. Will def return when in area xx

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank XnatsX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great cake!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good value for money, lovely moist cake and a proper size slice! Coffee's pretty good too. I'm only marking this one down to 4 star because its pretty cramped inside and service is a touch rustic. None the less we'll be back for more some time soon I hope.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Cafe_Tester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sun Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Hawkshead, Ambleside
Hawkshead, Ambleside
 

Been to The Sun Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing