We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Hawkshead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Busy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel was next door to one we stayed in, & was the busiest in the village, with plenty of live music.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolAnn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    150
    27
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Looked like abut of a dump from the outside with a few chavs enjoying too many pints in the sunshine, but step through the doors and what a nice place, with lively food

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneStorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed in beautiful Hawkshead and enjoyed two fantastic evening meals at the Sun Inn, which in our opinion provides the best food by far in this lovely village.

The service and atmosphere is great, the staff very friendly without being pushy,but the food quality was just outstanding, would love to pick fault, but just couldn't, highly recommended.

Only downside of all restaurants in this area is they stop cooking at 9.00 p.m. So you need to factor this into your plans, other than that go and enjoy

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I'm sat in the Sun Inn right now we arrived last night and we are staying until tomorrow. Only one thing to say. The Sun Inn is absolutely bloody marvelous we think it's a brilliant place. Great food great beer great staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cargo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A pub recommended by our hosts at The Ivy Guest Hotel was a great choice. On a quiet Monday night, the staff were fantastic and the food was absolutely superb. A great atmosphere and the perfect place to relax with great food and drink.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThePollardFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sun Inn also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing