We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howe Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
München
Level Contributor
171 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had a very warm welcome from Lisa and immediately loved the farm, the suroundings and our room. We stayed in the Letterbarrow room, which was cosy and tastfully furnished. I especially enjoyed the windowseat with views to the lake and the cows beneath. I even could watch the sunrise from bed in the morning. It is also to mention that there was free wi-fi in the house.
It was great that Hawhshead was only a short stroll away. We went there to eat at the Qeens Head and liked it very much.
Breakfast was fantastic. The sausage and bacon were the best we had. We also got fresh raspberrys and blueberrys which complemented the breakfast perfectly.
We only stayed for one night, but would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miaw2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We loved our loved our short stay at Howe Farm. Lisa was the perfect hostess who was friendly and a great cook. Breakfast were superb and we had dinner there twice and the meals were lovely and very generous serves. We were fortunate to share the company of a mother and daughter from New Zealand which made our stay even more enjoyable. It is a working farm, making the stay even more interesting. Loved watching the lambs. There is a pleasant and easy country walk through the meadows into the village that avoids the roads. We were so pleased that we did not choose to stay in the bigger centres which seemed so busy at the time, yet locals said it was quiet.
We just wish we had stayed longer at Howe Farm. Thank you Lisa.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The setting is a beautiful, rural farm in the picturesque Lake Country. Wonderful location for visitors to Beatrix Potter sites-Hilltop and the Beatrix Potter Gallery,or hikers. Lisa is a talented cook and host. We had the English breakfast which could keep us fed for a few days! It was delicious and beautifully served on lovely dishes. We arrived cold and enjoyed the cozy downstairs lounge and fireplace, with games, and lots to read.
We had car trouble and she very kindly helped us out with finding a garage to repair the car.
It is a perfect spot for visiting Hawkshead, Lake Windermere and other Lake District spots

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeatrixPotterFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Have been to Howe Farm several times, and thought it deserved praise on Tripadvisor.
It is very close to the village of Hawkshead which you can walk to easily.
Lisa and the family are very welcoming, they make you feel like a family friend by the end of your stay.
The rooms, breakfast, and location are second to none.
Ideally, if you go as a small group and book both of the bedrooms then you will have the lounge to yourself of an evening, so no worries about making polite chit chat to other guests.
Like others on here, I can not rate Howe Farm highly enough, and am looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Me and my partner along with our 3 year old enjoyed our first (but not last) visit to Howe farm. Enjoying the Esthwaite room, Mmmm breakfasts and beautiful views. Lisa the owner talks passionately about the farming life which is only right as she and her family run a working farm, and perhaps the welcome that guests receive stems from this rural heritage. She is the perfect host, showing the same passion for the B&B with lots of home made bread, jam and cake. We will hopefully see her and husband Mike again for lambing in April 2013 when Elliott can get up close to the action.
It's within easy reach of Hawkshead and Grizedale and the quieter side of the lakes. If only the weather would have cooperated more!
We have tried many B&B's in the lakes and Howe farm is perfect for our current requirement of a family room (with tolerance of an excited youngster and cows that walk past the window during breakfast).
Can't praise the place highly enough.

Room Tip: Only stayed in the Esthwaite room which overlooks valley and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emergencybanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

If you're not driving it may be confusing to find the cottage as the roads are narrow and it's a little unnerving walking along as there are no sidewalks. But, once you find the path behind the road, it's simply beautiful.

The farm is so lovely, the rooms peaceful and clean. The 3 of us stayed in the Ethswaite room, which had a magnificent view of lambs on a field and Esthwaite lake. The room was very affordable for us. The farm is a close (5-10 minutes) walk to Hawkshead village whee you MUST eat at the Queen's head.

Lisa Woodhouse is a warm and friendly host, who made us feel welcome and at home. Each night we got into our jammies and sat in the family room, drank some wine and toasted our feet by the fire.

In the mornings we received a large helping of our choosing (full english breakfast, porridge or fresh croissants etc.) along with plenty of yogurt, cereal and juice.

We've recommended this to all our friends and hope that one day we'll be able to come back and stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FidgeFodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We arranged a weekend away with some friends and we found this fantastic farm while seaching the internet and what a 'Fantastic Find'!!! We stayed B & B and had a evening meal on our first night and how we wished we had booked for the second night too as the food is absolutely out of this world and Lisa is a fantastic cook aswell as a fab host, along with her lovely husband Mike! Our bedrooms were spotless as were the bathrooms - you run across the landing in a dressing gown supplied to your own bathroom - lovely!!! We walked to Hawkshead across the fields and it only took us around 10 mins, We took our own booze and placed the beer in the cooler in the Dining Room. We had dinner served and then relaxed in our own lounge. We are looking forward to our next stay at Howe Farm - can't wait!!!!

Room Tip: Both rooms have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suecamYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
High Wray Farm
High Wray Farm
#39 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buckle Yeat Guest House
Buckle Yeat Guest House
#3 of 5 in Near Sawrey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howe Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Howe Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hawkshead, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 OQB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howe Farm is a traditional working farm in the heart of the Lake District near to the pretty village of Hawkshead.We offer comfortable rooms with amazing views and excellent food,a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howe Farm Bed & Breakfast Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing