We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Queen's Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen's Head Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I want to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Queen's Head Hotel was just fabulous!!!! So much value plus plus plus!!! Were stayed 3 nights and we had a large room with a lovely queen size 4 poster bed. Everything was fresh and clean. From the room to the great pub/restaurant downstairs we were more than satisfied. Within the Lake District there are many places that we could have eaten at but chose to eat all three dinners in their restaurant, the food was amazing and my husband had the lamb shank 2 of those nights and he said it was the best he'd ever had. Breakfast was included (which was fabulous by the way) and it included hot and cold food with a bottle of prosecco if we were so inclined. A big thumbs up from this lodger!!!!
One thing I am positive on is that we will be back next year when we visit the UK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    131
    30
    21
    13
See reviews for
77
269
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Recently stayed in Hawkhead and loved popping in to the Queen's Head pub for a couple of drinks on an evening, which was just down the lane from our cottage. The real ales were great and the wine selection second to none. It wasn't the cheapest pub in the village but definitely worth frequenting! We ate here twice and the food was fabulous! We had fish and chips the first time whilst sat in the bar area and the portions were huge and really nicely cooked. We then booked in the restaurant for our last night where it was equally as nice, maybe a bit more special as the restaurant is very relaxing and well laid out. We had the black pudding scotch egg and mussels to start and pheasant and a pizza for the mains, all of which we couldn't fault! Also a very dog friendly pub when going in for a drink. We will definitely return when back in the area and would recommend! Best to book the restaurant, as it gets booked in advance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonandDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Beautiful "little" pub and Inn....in a wonderful village. Very nicely decorated and comfortable room. Wonderful meal in the restaurant and the perfect english breakfast. Very nice staff. Warm welcome. We will definitely be back! And we'll bring our friends along!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dede59Cannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Experienced the flavour of the Hawkshead brewery here. I can heartily recommend all the products from this brewery :)Great place to stop for refreshment (for you and your dog) while exploring the fantastic small village of Hawkshead.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgmalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

£10 for a lunchtime sandwich and a portion of chips may seem steep but it was quality food. Huge sarnie stuffed with fresh home-made fish finger, chunky brown bread and crispy outside - soft inside big chips. Proper chips, not those frozen things that swell up in your throat and choke you! Super scran.

More importantly, the ale was spot-on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wainwright007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Slow cooked lamb - rather than being as expected, tender, it had been cooked for to long and was of the consistency I'd expect from baby food, seemed slightly watery. Portion was very small, I'd waited for a few minutes for the rest to arrive. Anyway, nice atmosphere, however would order something else next time. Maybe the fish and chips, that portion looked substantial.

Room Tip: Order something other than the lamb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestJimWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi in London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Although we did not stay at this hotel, we did stop for a meal in the bar after visiting Beatrix Potter's home and before going walking locally. The food ordered was of excellent quality, definitely home-made from an interesting and varied menu. Although the bar was a little dark, it didn't detract from the food served. Our only complaint was that the portions were too large! I would definitely recommend others to try a meal here and, if the sun is shining, there is a pleasant outdoor eating area too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerigenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
5.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Head Hotel

Property: Queen's Head Hotel
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 17th Century The Queen's Head Inn has been welcoming weary travellers and visitors to the village of Hawkshead. Some things don't change, whether you want to drink, dine or unwind, you will find The Queen's Head the perfect base to explore the beautiful South Lakes of Cumbria and beyond. We have thirteen newly refurbished comfortable guest rooms all with private bathrooms and all individually styled and furnished. Free Wi-Fi is available for all our guests. Our celebrated restaurant, awarded an AA Four Star for culinary excellence, has a menu to suit all tastes. Each dish is devised and perfected by our head chef and is designed to utilise local ingredients from local suppliers. Whether it's a light lunch or an evening meal, The Queen's Head offers a warm welcome and good food to those in search of a relaxed and traditionally English environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Windermere
Hotel Queens Head
Queen's Head Hotel Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing