We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch perfection”
Review of Queen's Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen's Head Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch perfection”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Had a wonderful Sunday lunch here in May 2013. The place was full and the staff were well organised and with the lunch arriving well within an acceptable time. Wonderful surroundings made for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patmacnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    134
    30
    21
    13
See reviews for
84
271
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed two nights and we so pleased that we chose the Queens Head for our stay. I was optimistic as I had written to the Queens Head and a very fancy hotel in Windermere to ask about public transport. Kelly from the Queens Head replied promptly and informatively; from the other hotel there was a generic response claiming that they would get back to me - they didn't. The reception certainly came up to my expectations, with assistance with bus time tables, clear information about the room and heating and arrangements for breakfast. The room was comfortable, clean and fairly large. In addition, there was an open area inside the door in which the wardrobe (a good size with plenty of hangers) and table with tea, coffee and cups were located. There was plenty of space for our suitcases to be stored in this area also. We ate at the Queens Head each night, and of course, enjoyed the breakfast. The cooked breakfast was well presented and cooked to order: very good indeed. A small disappointment was that some items from the cold menu were missing - no muesli, nuts or dried fruit. However, when I asked about the fresh fruit it was brought promptly and possibly if I'd wanted the other items they would also have been available. Possibly there could be more attention to detail with this and also with 'topping up' the tea and biscuits in the rooms. On the other hand, to have such abundant heating in the bathroom, entry and bedroom is such a bonus that any small issues are worth only mentioning. I'd certainly recommend this hotel to anyone for a great stay. In conclusion, we enjoyed the evening meals and noticed that the place was packed on the Saturday night with people constantly coming in.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and heard no noise from the bar. However I think that with the heav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindylou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston super Mare
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

As a party of 4 we have been coming to the Queens Head on the first night of our October holiday for over 15 years so have seen some changes to the menu and service over the years.
We weren't able to come to the Lakes last year and were looking forward to resuming our much enjoyed first night.
Sadly this year the two plates of slow cooked shoulder of Lakeland lamb, ordered as a main course, was so unpalatable they were sent back. This was not a recognisable "slow cooked local lamb shoulder" with delicious meat falling off the bone. Instead a square of reformed meat with a crusted, dried top was presented. The consistency in the mouth tasted as though it had been previously chewed and then re-formed and re-assembled.
Of the other two main courses ordered, the single fillet of back Bream was a modest portion and very over-cooked. The tasting of Cumbrian pork three ways was fine.
The starters were a mix of the very ordinary ie. chicken liver pate and the delightful ie.. Scotch egg with black pudding.
The desserts at £6.50 were similarly a mix of OK and pretty good but nothing really blew us away.
With two diners only having had a starter and a dessert after 6 hours travelling this was a disappointing start to our annual Lakes holiday when normally it is a highlight of our trip.

We were not staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petherbridge19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Queen's Head as part of an extended holiday in Scotland and the lakes. Our room was excellent, clearly just refurbished with good quality contemporary furniture and superb bathroom. We ate in the restaurant on both nights. Excellent food with some really great service. We looked around all the other local pubs which all had appeal but this is without doubt the best.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggers999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Queen's Head Hotel was just fabulous!!!! So much value plus plus plus!!! Were stayed 3 nights and we had a large room with a lovely queen size 4 poster bed. Everything was fresh and clean. From the room to the great pub/restaurant downstairs we were more than satisfied. Within the Lake District there are many places that we could have eaten at but chose to eat all three dinners in their restaurant, the food was amazing and my husband had the lamb shank 2 of those nights and he said it was the best he'd ever had. Breakfast was included (which was fabulous by the way) and it included hot and cold food with a bottle of prosecco if we were so inclined. A big thumbs up from this lodger!!!!
One thing I am positive on is that we will be back next year when we visit the UK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Recently stayed in Hawkhead and loved popping in to the Queen's Head pub for a couple of drinks on an evening, which was just down the lane from our cottage. The real ales were great and the wine selection second to none. It wasn't the cheapest pub in the village but definitely worth frequenting! We ate here twice and the food was fabulous! We had fish and chips the first time whilst sat in the bar area and the portions were huge and really nicely cooked. We then booked in the restaurant for our last night where it was equally as nice, maybe a bit more special as the restaurant is very relaxing and well laid out. We had the black pudding scotch egg and mussels to start and pheasant and a pizza for the mains, all of which we couldn't fault! Also a very dog friendly pub when going in for a drink. We will definitely return when back in the area and would recommend! Best to book the restaurant, as it gets booked in advance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonandDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Beautiful "little" pub and Inn....in a wonderful village. Very nicely decorated and comfortable room. Wonderful meal in the restaurant and the perfect english breakfast. Very nice staff. Warm welcome. We will definitely be back! And we'll bring our friends along!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dede59Cannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#10 of 23 in Hawkshead
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Head Hotel

Property: Queen's Head Hotel
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 17th Century The Queen's Head Inn has been welcoming weary travellers and visitors to the village of Hawkshead. Some things don't change, whether you want to drink, dine or unwind, you will find The Queen's Head the perfect base to explore the beautiful South Lakes of Cumbria and beyond. We have thirteen newly refurbished comfortable guest rooms all with private bathrooms and all individually styled and furnished. Free Wi-Fi is available for all our guests. Our celebrated restaurant, awarded an AA Four Star for culinary excellence, has a menu to suit all tastes. Each dish is devised and perfected by our head chef and is designed to utilise local ingredients from local suppliers. Whether it's a light lunch or an evening meal, The Queen's Head offers a warm welcome and good food to those in search of a relaxed and traditionally English environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queen's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Windermere
Hotel Queens Head
Queen's Head Hotel Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing