We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant little place”
Review of Queen's Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen's Head Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant little place”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the larger rooms, everything you need is catered for. Rooms are fabulous, and great that you've got shower gel etc already there.
Breakfast was delicious, my only gripe is that I had to keep asking for more coffee, maybe a cafetier on each table would be better.
Hawkshead is a beautiful little village, and well equipped, thank you for a lovely break, we will certainly be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ollie1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    138
    31
    21
    13
See reviews for
87
277
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Our room was in the adjacent cottage and we found it cosy,warm, well equipped with modern furnishings. Staff were friendly and the meals were good; little bit pricy but on a par with the rest of the eateries in the area. We stayed two nights and would definitely go back and would ask for the cottage rooms again! We'll worth a stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellersShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

There is no parking outside the pub but a big main pay & display car park but when you check in they give you a big car park pass so you can leave your car there for free. We was taken to a quirky little room which was lovely. Up the stairs from the bar along some little passages then at the end a little door which was ours, down a step into a little hall with a wardrobe in the wall a little low window and a coffee table with brewing up stuff and kettle on it. Along the corridor on the left was a beautiful shower room then round the corner another door on the right we was told was a fire escape then another door which was our bedroom that looked out over the side street of the pub. The room was lovely and the bed comfy. Not a lot of channels on the telly, but we wasn't there to watch telly. The shower was fantastic and we didn't want to get out. We went for a drink but this was a Sunday night and apart from us two there was another couple with a dog and that was it. The beer was not good so we moved on. We went to the Sun Inn and had a lovely meal and a couple of good beers but it was all laminate flooring and open plan with smokers stood in the door way which was a shame. We ended up in the kings Arms which was very welcoming and sat near the open fire near the Totem Pole. At about 10pm the locals arrived and started a game of dominoes and it was lovely and cosy When we got back to the Queens Head it was shut so we went up the ladders in the fire escape and found our way back to our room. Once we was in our room I decided to find out where the fire escape led to that went from our room. Unbelievably it went down some stairs into another bedroom, it's a good job there was no one staying in there as you walked straight into their bedroom on the ground floor and they could have walked up the stairs into our bedroom, they were interconnected. Very strange but would be good if you were staying with friends or with kids etc. Next day we went down and had a great breakfast that included everything you could think of then did a lovely walk from Hawkshead in the sunshine with snow on the peaks of the fells. Beautiful. This was a Christmas present from our son who paid £95 for us to stay in one room for one night with breakfast. A lot of money, we wouldn't have paid it and we certainly don't think it was worth all that. Not the place to go if you are after a pub crawl.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We recently had a family gathering in Scotland and on the way home decided to take it easy and visit one of the places we used to come many moons ago when we first met! The Queens is a great place to stay in this lovely village. I always said to DH that id like to retire to Hawkshead - its just so pretty but not too small and with plenty to do, even in February. It was raining when we arrived but the fire was roaring and we enjoyed a complimentary glass of wine next to it - they knew the way to my heart!.Rooms have been done up to a good standard. We ate in the bar at night and I must say that the dinner and our breakfast were excellent. I'm on a diet now Im back home after that break! Recommend this hotel for a short break in the lakes.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patty4911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Had two night here in Feb 2014 the rooms are small but comfortable, bathroom is clean and has a great shower! The food is good and you can pay £8-£24 for a main meal. A great wine list and some good real ales on hand pull. Breakfast was fine, The staff are mostly friendly and helpful. Parking is free and 100m walk from the hotel/pub. Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laskolane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We didn't stay but a group of 8 of us went for a meal. Fish and chips for 3 of us at £12.50 each was tired, tasteless and fat-soggy fish, Hand cut chips brown and soggy. Caesar salad sides were a few lettuce leaves with a little anchovy in the bottom. Burgers were strangely and unpleasantly spiced. At the high prices we'd expected better. I'm surprised since the food reputation is supposed to be good. On the plus side the mutton and pizza were enjoyed. Maybe it was the regular chef's day off. We agreed we wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We only booked for one night, but ended up staying for two.

Hawkshead is probably my favourite place in the lakes - unspoilt by commercialism, it's a lovely village. Previously we'd always stayed in self catering, but wishing to meet up with friends at relatively short notice we booked into the Queens for a night. So good was the service, the food and of course the drink that we ended up staying for 2 nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,211 reviews
2.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Head Hotel

Property: Queen's Head Hotel
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 17th Century The Queen's Head Inn has been welcoming weary travellers and visitors to the village of Hawkshead. Some things don't change, whether you want to drink, dine or unwind, you will find The Queen's Head the perfect base to explore the beautiful South Lakes of Cumbria and beyond. We have thirteen newly refurbished comfortable guest rooms all with private bathrooms and all individually styled and furnished. Free Wi-Fi is available for all our guests. Our celebrated restaurant, awarded an AA Four Star for culinary excellence, has a menu to suit all tastes. Each dish is devised and perfected by our head chef and is designed to utilise local ingredients from local suppliers. Whether it's a light lunch or an evening meal, The Queen's Head offers a warm welcome and good food to those in search of a relaxed and traditionally English environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queen's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Windermere
Hotel Queens Head
Queen's Head Hotel Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing