We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break bliss”
Review of Queen's Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen's Head Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Short break bliss”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Brilliant location, great beer and atmosphere in the bar, room clean and bright. Room (7) was above kitchens so a little bit noisy, especially when they emptied bottle bins at 07.30. Had drink in all 4 pubs in village but this was the best.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    136
    30
    21
    13
See reviews for
85
274
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Last minute decision to meet up with some friends who were staying nearby , we booked into the queens head . Hawkshead is one of my favourite places to visit and have eaten / drank and slept at a couple of the pubs in the village . We booked room 11 which was pretty perfect again a slightly quirky layout but if you want a square box to sleep in look elsewhere , spotlessly clean and very well appointed . The bathroom whilst small again was spotless and perfect for a few nights away . It was a little bit of a maze to get to room but this is entirely understandable giving the buildings age .
We ate in the bar and all enjoyed the fish and chips , not sure I get the idea of them being presented on a wooden board , but that's a minor niggle , the food was delicious and perfectly cooked . Our room over looked the cobbled passage way , and I assume the cellar , as we were awoken by a beer delivery at 7.45am , but again , perfectly understandable being a busy pub ; and presumably this doesn't happen every morning , and gave us the opportunity to get out early and enjoy the dry morning weather . . And small amount of sunshine .
All in all a great short stay the staff deserve a mention , great service even on a busy bank holiday afternoon and evening .
We would have no hesitation in returning , however I might ask for a plate for my fish and chips next time .

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Priceysixtysixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here from Monday 14th of April to Friday 18th. We had a lovely stay here. The staff were very welcoming and the décor was lovely having recently been refurbished.
Our room (2) was delightful and had a 4 poster bed and lovely bathroom very newly refurbished and top quality. All the bathroom products were provided so no need to take shampoo etc and were in nice holders. We could not have been more comfortable and congratulate them on an excellent interior design job. The breakfasts were very nice a choice of salmon, haddock, kippers or full English. We hate 3 evening meals which were beautifully prepared and very tasty. The location being in Hawkshead was perfect and such a picturesque village. All in all a lovely stay, Thank you Queen's Head

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great pub with a buzzy atmosphere and friendly service.
Lovely food in the restaurant and really fabulous rooms.
I do think it's the nicest place to stay in Hawkshead
1 criticism - their was food,chips,bottle tops etc all over the floor in the restaurant where we took breakfast which was a bit unpleasant to sit amongst - surely it would be easy to sweep the wooden floor after service in the evening so it was clean for breakfast ?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvercrag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in Room 101 in the cottage annexe. The room was nicely decorated & very comfortable. The shower was great.
We had a delicious meal in the restaurant on our first night. The service was excellent. Our waitress, Carolina, was very attentive but not intrusive.
My only complaint is that, on our 2nd night after we had eaten in another restaurant, we could not get a seat in the Queens Head. We were asked to leave the table where we had been having drinks &, as there were no other seats available, we had to leave the restaurant. Whilst I appreciate that the hotel's main profit comes from food, I think it is poor service that, as a resident we could not be seated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Great inn lovely rooms and very accommodating for kids, tge staff were great. Only downside the bar downstairs was fully booked and the room had a but no remote :-) and since we are vegetarians they were very accommodating on that front too. Overall a great stay, would definitely recommend !!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mrshsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had lunch here and the staff were very helpful to make sure I got a gluten free meal - infact they even provided gluten free bread so I could have a sandwich. The staff were very helpful and friendly and my two dogs were made very welcome. We enjoyed lunch so much we are going back for dinner tonight!
Beautiful old English pub. Would recommend highly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Liv P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Head Hotel

Property: Queen's Head Hotel
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 17th Century The Queen's Head Inn has been welcoming weary travellers and visitors to the village of Hawkshead. Some things don't change, whether you want to drink, dine or unwind, you will find The Queen's Head the perfect base to explore the beautiful South Lakes of Cumbria and beyond. We have thirteen newly refurbished comfortable guest rooms all with private bathrooms and all individually styled and furnished. Free Wi-Fi is available for all our guests. Our celebrated restaurant, awarded an AA Four Star for culinary excellence, has a menu to suit all tastes. Each dish is devised and perfected by our head chef and is designed to utilise local ingredients from local suppliers. Whether it's a light lunch or an evening meal, The Queen's Head offers a warm welcome and good food to those in search of a relaxed and traditionally English environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queen's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Windermere
Hotel Queens Head
Queen's Head Hotel Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing