We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawkshead Hall Campsite
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hawkshead
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Monk Coniston(Coniston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterhead Hotel(Coniston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
47
21
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
21
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoilet blockfree showersfreezer for ice packstouring caravanlovely siteoff roadshort walkco oplaundry roomcharging phonesironing boardtoilets showerselectric hook upsfantastic facilitiestumble dryerbusier timeswashing facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights beginning of July and again at the end of August.
You can pitch anywhere and choose what area you like. Toliet and shower area is very clean and just been updated. Also has a washing up area and clean water avaible. Nice a quite area only a five minute walk to the local village where there is a pub and shop. Dogs are welcome too although need to be kept on the lead. Good price per night too and very friendly owners.
Only fault is its on an old quarry site and therefore hard to get you tent pegs into the ground. We had a metal tent hammer and still struggled plus bent a few pegs.
We would defo stay again and recommend to anyone. It's not too far from Ambleside dock either where you can get ferry to Bowness across lake Windermere.

Room Tip: Only tip is take a decent hammer for tent pegs and have a few spares incase they bend in the hard ground
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbettyboo314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights, you could pitch where you wanted which was nice and weren't placed in a unsuitable place for you. It was quite quiet when we visited which was nice as well apart from one party was fairly noisey after 11pm. We are greeted by a mouse one night but you can't really moan at that. The shower and toilet block was nice and clean, the showers are free to use however take a while to get luke warm but still not warm enough for some people and there is no way to change the temperature. Overall, it was a nice site for a couple of nights.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

we camped here in august for five nights,over the 5 days it rained, the sun shone, and got very windy! typical lakes! luckily due to the wonderful shower block (cleaned 3times a day!) we soon cleaned/warmed up.There are plug sockets in here too. we have camped here many times and will continue too.The family who run the site are lovely, friendly and helpful. You can choose where you want to pitch your tent (a few areas just for electric hook up) i like to camp at a side of the field or along the bottom, where we camped this time, and despite torrential rain we wer;nt flooded! due to good drainage i guess! there is a covered pot wash area with constant hot water, and also a stand full of leaflets with places to explore.In here there is also a large freezer to store ice packs.We camped as a family of 6 with a dog in 2 tents, it is a shame when other families are loud and disrespectful as it can spoil your whole stay, generally the people that stay here are considerate to others. We all love this site and the area and would recomend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mianju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Having previously stayed at the the croft campsite, in Hawkshead, we decided to use Hawkshead again as our base, as the croft was fully booked, but managed by the same people, we came here instead. The shower facilities were excellent and not out of place in a hotel, free hot water, plug points for hair dryers etc, good clean washing up room, with freezer for ice packs. The ground was slopey and in some places boggy, but there was plenty of room to pitch on level ground etc. You are a five min walk from village centre and is ideally located for Windermere, Ambleside, Grizedale etc. The path to the village has been laid with stones so is mud free. The staff were helpful when asking for directions etc.
The site is a mix of families and couples, and we camped with two dogs, there are plenty of walks straight from the campsite, and what we love about the lakes is there dog friendly policy, in the majority of places.
Be aware if you are using camping gaz, most petrol stations, only carry calor, we ended up with a 70 mile round trip to Penrith go outdoors to refill our bottle. Bring a spare!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is only our second camping trip but we decided from our first visit to a site near Helmsley we wanted somewhere quieter and found that here. You pitch where you want and it wasn't too busy when we arrived so chose a pitch with a great view. The toilets/showers were always fairly clean with constant hot water. There were lots of electrical points for charging phones/using hair dryers etc. The walk into Hawkshead takes about 10mins across a field, if you have a dog there is nowhere close by to let them off lead due to livestock but that wasn't an issue as we were out and about walking anyway. It was quiet on an evening and very dark! There are plenty of places to eat in hawkshead - we went to the queens head but further afield we ate at the cuckoo barn at far sawrey which was good. The only negative for us was a large family group pitched behind us and the mother spent 48hrs constantly screeching at the children, shouting at her husband and generally being loud and unpleasant. At one point the children hit my car with a cricket ball so I spoke to them. Would go back to this site.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank eatsleepepeatblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews